RSS

I’m a big kid now…so I guess I have to eat like one, too

18 Sep

Am I the only one who looks back at the things we used to eat as a kid and how badly we miss those foods?  My guess is not, since when I did a search for different ‘grown up’ versions of our kid favorites, I was hit by SO many websites that featured just that.  So for this week’s WIAW, I thought it’d be fun to talk about the ‘kid’ versions, and share some fun ‘adult’ versions of my favorite treats.

I don’t know about you, but I grew up on PB&Js.  They were fast, simple, and nutritious (and super tasty!)  Now there are so many fun ‘dressed up’ PB&J variations out there.  I found this tasty one!  The ‘elvis’ peanut butter sandwich!  Peanut butter, banana, and…bacon?!  Never say never, my friends!  I think this would actually be one of those recipes that would be fabulous.  A little bit of the sweet and salty thing going on…

Image

I can’t think of ONE kid who did not love mac ‘n cheese growing up.  More specifically…Kraft mac ‘n cheese in really COOL shapes!  That was one of the best parts!  Having your food look like your favorite cartoon characters?  Whaaa?  Too good to be true!  Don’t get me wrong, every now and then Kraft Mac ‘n Cheese ain’t such a bad option…but when you can have more ‘adult’ recipes like this?  There is no comparison!!  Beer & Bacon Mac ‘n Cheese?!  Serve me up a bowl of that!

Image

What kid doesn’t love some greasy french fries?!  They were always in high demand…and always, always paired with ketchup!  Now we have a more ‘adult’ and nutritious version of fries.  This recipe looks so interesting (something I’ve never seen before) and really tasty!  Avocado fries!  Totally into this.

Image

Grilled cheese sandwiches were also an easy, tasty staple.  Two pieces of white bread plus a couple slices of american cheese and you’re set.  Now, there are SO many tasty variations of this classic sandwich.  I found two that looked so scrumptious!  This one is a bit more bold and spicy and this one is a bit more elegant and classy :)  Buffalo blue and honey-basil.  Mmmm.

Image

PIZZA.  Yeah, every kid loves a good slice of cheese pizza.  But just your normal run-of-the-mill cheese pizza can be so borrringgg.  Sometimes you need to just switch it up and go a bit…gourmet.  This recipe for pesto pizza definitely caught my eye.

pizza

Hot dogs are always a big hit.  I know my sister-in-laws’ kids always ask for hot dogs.  It’s like the go-to food because it’s quick and easy and a crowd pleaser.  The kids often just have their hot dogs plain…sometimes without even a bun!  But I found three tasty jazzed-up hot dog recipes.  The Boston Terrier, the Chicago Dog, and the Guacamole Dog.  I’ve tried the Chicago Dog before and it is definitely a winner!

hot dogs

Last but not least, every kid has a sweet tooth.  Milkshakes are a HUGE hit as a kid.  There’s nothing wrong with a simple milkshake…but as an adult you can really have a lot of fun with milkshakes!  There are so many milkshake recipes with alcohol.  This one caught my eye, especially because I’m all excited about the fall!  A nice tasty pumpkin pie bourbon milkshake!

Image

What better way to end this post then sharing a pumpkin-y treat!  Hope you all enjoyed looking at these fun and tasty recipes and I hope your tasty treats for the day were absolutely delicious!

Happy Wednesday!

 
16 Comments

Posted by on September 18, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “I’m a big kid now…so I guess I have to eat like one, too

  1. Ksenija @ Health Ninja

    September 18, 2013 at 10:25 am

    What a fun post! I love all the adult versions of those dishes. It’s one of my favorite thing – rediscovering childhood favorites and elevating them to something every adult would love to eat. I think it’s time for my healthy mac’n’cheese today ;)

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      September 18, 2013 at 11:44 am

      Thanks, lady!! And good pick..mac ‘n cheese is such a comfort food! :)

       
  2. IHeartVegetables

    September 18, 2013 at 11:46 am

    I hear ya! I ate Kraft mac & cheese almost everyday!!

     
  3. Davida @The Healthy Maven

    September 18, 2013 at 1:32 pm

    Sometimes I wonder if I will ever grow up!!! I eat a lot of the same things I did when I was younger but with just a whole lot more veggies thrown into the mix. Need to try that elvis sandwich!!!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      September 19, 2013 at 2:20 am

      That’s because they are so delicious! Kids know how to eat :)

       
  4. Kim @ Racing BananasK

    September 19, 2013 at 2:20 am

    I love the idea of this post! And I still love me a bowl of mac’n’cheese flavors every once in awhile!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      September 19, 2013 at 2:21 am

      Aw thanks girl! I know what you mean. I seriously started craving a big bowl of kraft mac ‘n cheese after I wrote that. No shame!

       
  5. shashi @ http://runninsrilankan.com

    September 19, 2013 at 12:45 pm

    Such a fun post! And these “Grown up” versions rock – “bourbon pumpkin pie” shake -oh yeah! And now I really need to try avocado fries!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      September 19, 2013 at 12:48 pm

      I know, right?! That shake sounds fantastic :) Those avocado fries caught my eye, too! I’ve never seen anything like it before…totally worth trying!

       
  6. pickyrunner

    September 19, 2013 at 2:12 pm

    Is it bad that I still eat the little kid versions of the food too? ;)

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      September 19, 2013 at 11:16 pm

      Not at all! While I was looking at all those pictures, I couldn’t help but crave all of those kid versions (sometimes even more than the more ‘dressed up’ versions). Especially the mac ‘n cheese! Kids know how to eat!

       
  7. GiGi Eats Celebrities

    September 20, 2013 at 3:37 am

    PUHHHH LEEEZE!!! We don’t need to grow up, EVER! ;) However, your “grown up” foods – BOMB!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      September 20, 2013 at 3:44 am

      Haha, you are so right! No shame in still being a kid and enjoying those kid-like foods! :)

       
  8. Christine@ Apple of My Eye

    September 20, 2013 at 3:14 pm

    All of this food is seriously making me drool! I can definitely relate to the fun-shaped mac and cheese from Kraft! Those were the days hahah! But in all reality, I’m so glad our taste has gotten more refined ;). Bacon in a PB and J? Sign me up!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      September 20, 2013 at 10:14 pm

      Haha I hear ya. I actually started craving some of the kid versions though when I was looking at the pictures lol. There’s no harm in eating like a kid every now and then, right?! ;)

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 326 other followers

