RSS

Easy, Quick (and Tasty!!) Dinner

28 Feb

Well this afternoon at work, I remembered how I had a package of english muffins left at home that had so far gone untouched.  My stomach can’t seem to handle them (too much fiber) so I thought I could try and pawn them off on my hubby, Scott.  In order to do this I knew I would have to come up with a tasty concoction for him to agree to eat them…he doesn’t really like wheat/whole grain foods at all.  So I proposed that I could make “mini pizzas” for him for dinner.  I would use the english muffins as the “crust” and then add tomato sauce, cheese, and pepperonis on top. He was TOTALLY excited about the idea…so after work I stopped off at the store to get a few things, including some mozzarella cheese and tomato sauce.  When I got home, I started in on the “pizzas”.

ImageFour ingredients?!  Seriously…It doesn’t get easier than that!  I cut the english muffins in half and placed as many as I could fit on a cooking sheet.

Image

Next, I spread a generous amount of sauce on the english muffins (they are sometimes a bit dry).  I picked up some mushroom and green pepper flavored tomato sauce.  My hubby and I are mushroom addicts!!

Image

Looking good already!  Next I sprinkled on lots of tasty mozzarella cheese!! 🙂

Image

Since we had regular, large turkey pepperonis at home, I decided to chop them up a bit to make them smaller so there would be more than like two large pepperonis per pizza.

Image

I spread the cut up pepperoni on top of the pizzas and threw em in the already pre-heated to 350 degree oven!

Image

I left them in until the cheese was melty (roughly about 15-20 minutes) and then voila!

Image

My hubby topped it off with crushed red pepper (because he loves anything spicy!)  And also decided to get the ketchup and dip the pizzas in ketchup! (A crazy idea, I know…but good!  I tried a bite!)

He literally loved them so much that he ate the whole first batch and let me make another batch for him!  He has been sick and hasn’t been really eating much or craving anything lately, so I was so glad I made something that hit the spot for him and that he could really truly enjoy! 

This time for the second batch, I topped with some italian seasonings too!

Can anyone say best-wife-EVER?! 😀

 
4 Comments

Posted by on February 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Easy, Quick (and Tasty!!) Dinner

  1. riversidebaking

    March 1, 2013 at 7:19 am

    Sounds great! I do something similar with naan bread!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      March 1, 2013 at 11:00 am

      It was delicious! I’ve never tried naan bread. Is it good??

       
      • riversidebaking

        March 1, 2013 at 11:09 am

        yeah really nice and you only need one each. I buy the long life ones and hide them in the back of the cupboard for that day when you get in from work and think “THERE IS NO FOOD”! Bit of tomato puree and any veggies/cheese/meats from the fridge, grill for 5 mins and tahh-dahh!

         
      • Little Miss Fit

        March 1, 2013 at 12:39 pm

        Awesome! I’ll have to give it a try. Sound delicious and super easy!

         

Leave a Reply

 
