RSS

Getting Healthy…Two Separate Journeys, Same Destination

12 Apr

First of all, I want to say that despite the weather, I have been in a pretty good mood this week.  We have had rain and cold weather this whole week…I literally don’t think it’s stopped raining this whole week.  I miss the sun! 😦  Plus, it’s been 40 and cooler.  Spring, where are you?!  Anyway, despite the weather, I’ve been in a pretty good mood!  I’ve been feeling pretty positive and like I’m getting myself back on track.

My thinking had been pretty negative for a while and I was really struggling between listening to my ED thoughts and listening to my rational thoughts.  I was definitely letting the ED thoughts win.  Granted, that’s not to say I’m magically “better” and all my thoughts are positive.  But I do feel a lot better mentally and more motivated.  Plus, my eating has improved drastically from where I was just a short time ago.  I’m not going to give up either.  I’m going to keep pushing myself forward and keep on this road to recovery. I’ve got it in me.  I know I’ve got a long way to go, but I’ll take each positive step as a victory! 🙂

Also, the hubster mentioned to me yesterday how he wants to work to lose weight.  While we’re on different journeys, we’re still working toward the same end goal…to get healthy and to be happy with ourselves.  We’re using each other as motivation as well and along with that, helping each other break some unhealthy, bad habits.  We both have the tendency to eat way more than is necessary late at night…He does it as a part of his routine for relaxing and unwinding, I do it because I don’t eat enough during the day and then crave food (especially sugar) at night and then don’t give myself time to honor my fullness cues.  I just keep going and going…and then regret it in the morning.  So we are both working on conquering this bad habit we have.

We came up with a few ideas…one, we are going to start making dinner together and eating dinner later in the evening so that we’re not hungry later in the evening and more prone to snack.  This is going to be especially helpful for me since dinner time is usually not a “dinner” at all but rather, a hodge podge of snacking and nibbling on different foods.  To come up with some sort of structure and definitive dinner will be a challenge for me but I know it will be necessary for me in my recovery (and also to cut down on the tendency and need to eat late at night)  In the long run, it will serve me the best.

We talked and decided that each weekend we’d come up with ideas of meals we’d like to try to have/make the following week so that when we go to the grocery store we can have an accurate list of things we need in order to make and prepare the meals.  Meal planning at it’s best!  I am really glad that we are both in agreement to doing this.  I think it will also help us to spend more quality time with each other in the evening…while we make the meals together and enjoy a real dinner together, too.

Another idea the hubster came up with for himself is to have a definitive snack for the evening.  Something that can be in a certain, designated quantity and not something like pretzels or chips where there is a limitless amount to partake of.  That is a wonderful idea for him.

I’m going to kind of do the same thing, but I kind of came up with a fun idea I want to try.  I have foods that I buy but don’t eat.  So I decided I’d write different snack ideas (including these foods that are in the pantry that go untouched) on pieces of paper, fold them up, and throw them all in a bowl or container.  Come time in the evening when I’m hungry (and if I’m hungry) I will select a piece of paper from the bowl and expose myself to a fun, different snack each night.  There will be healthier snacks as well as fun indulgences in the bowl so that I get a wide array of options and also allow myself to have fun and enjoy special sweet treats.  I think this is going to be a good way to make snacking fun and also not overeat like I usually do.  So all in all, I feel really good about our plans and I know the hubster does too.

We’re in it together! 🙂

OH BEFORE I FORGET…

Another exciting thing for the day, I FINALLY found Zevia.  I didn’t find any really super exciting flavors, but I found one that I’m pretty excited to try…Grapefruit Citrus!  Yay!

ImageSo on that note, I will conclude…feeling good, positive and motivated to keep going forward! 🙂

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 12, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

7 responses to “Getting Healthy…Two Separate Journeys, Same Destination

  1. Racing Bananas

    April 12, 2013 at 4:00 pm

    Glad to see your thoughts turned positive and you and your husband came up with an awesome plan to make positive changes! Sometimes I feel that consciously making a plan makes such a difference. Hope you have a great weekend!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      April 12, 2013 at 11:24 pm

      Thanks, girl! We’re both feeling really positive about our plans and super motivated! I totally agree with you…now that we’ve come up with this plan and made the effort to really give it though and follow through with it, there’s a total difference. Hope all is well with you!

       
  2. eatsofagirldiscovering

    April 12, 2013 at 11:04 pm

    Girl….I have the same issue with eating a lot at night for the same reason….its awful. It is an awful cycle. That is so awesome that you and your husband are doing it together!! You go girl!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      April 12, 2013 at 11:25 pm

      It’s such a vicious cycle isn’t it?! You eat soo much at night (way more than you know you should) and then the guilt is there afterward and the next morning I think to myself, ‘oh I ate sooo much last night, I should watch what I eat today…’ and then the cycle begins again. It’s tough to get out of it, but I’m totally motivated and committed to working on this. Thanks so much for the support!! 🙂

       
  3. eyechow

    April 13, 2013 at 12:45 am

    I love Zevia! I don’t usually drink soda but this stuff is pretty good for a “healthy” alternative

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      April 13, 2013 at 12:47 am

      I know…I’ve heard so many good things about it, I just had to try it!!

       
  4. Kim

    April 22, 2013 at 8:49 pm

    This weather has put me in a horrible mood! Today I am finally coming out of my funk…My boyfriend and I are also on the same journey – it’s crazy how much we do together that makes us gain weight (going to get dessert, etc). We are now focusing on losing the weight…it’s so helpful to have that support!

     

Leave a Reply

 
