RSS

A Little Inspiration (c/o My Mom!)

03 May
My mom is one of my biggest fans and supporters in my journey of recovery.  She always sends me some inspiring, optimistic quotes and stories, etc.  Here are some of the good ones she’s shared with me recently.  I think regardless of what obstacle, struggle, or journey you may be on in your life, we all have moments where we need just an extra little boost of optimism.  So, I thought I’d share!
 
“Breathe. You’re going to be okay. Breathe and remember that you’ve been in this place before. You’ve been this uncomfortable and anxious and scared, and you’ve survived. Breathe and know that you can survive this too. These feelings can’t break you. They’re painful and debilitating, but you can sit with them and eventually, they will pass. Maybe not immediately, but sometime soon, they are going to fade and when they do, you’ll look back at this moment and laugh for having doubted your resilience. I know it feels unbearable right now, but keep breathing, again and again. This will pass. I promise it will pass.” – Daniell Koepke

Image

Image

“Being strong doesn’t mean hiding your pain. It doesn’t mean forgoing help when you’re struggling. It doesn’t mean denying yourself things that feel good for the sake of practicing self-control. It doesn’t mean refusing to show sadness and vulnerability. And it doesn’t mean carrying the burdens of life all by yourself. Anything that prevents your healing and stifles your growth does not correspond with strength. Being strong means refusing to tolerate people and things that wound your soul. It means practicing self-care when you’re hurting. It means honoring your feelings by actually allowing yourself to feel and express them. It means treating yourself with compassion and kindness, even when you feel like you don’t deserve any. It means doing what makes you happy and being with people who make you feel good, regardless of outside judgements. It means asking for help when the weight of the world has become too much. It means giving yourself permission to get your needs met by setting boundaries and using your voice. It means forgiving yourself on the days that you’re struggling and can’t be brave. It means challenging the voice telling you that you’re inadequate and worthless and reminding yourself, repeatedly, that you are enough.” – Daniell Koepke

Image

Image

And of course, my mom wouldn’t be my mom without throwing in some super cute cat pictures and stories (ever since we convinced my parents to get a cat they have turned into crazy cat lovers! haha)

Image

I am so thankful to have such a loving, encouraging and supportive mom (and family in general) who I can count on to always be there for me.  I am truly blessed!

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
