RSS

Thankfulness

14 May

I am thankful for my marriage becoming stronger & stronger with each day that passes.

I am thankful that I am married to someone who is fully accepting of me and makes me laugh.

I am thankful to have a best friend who has become a sister to me.  I am thankful that we have been able to keep our friendship going through hard times and trials.

I am thankful that I am discovering who I am is not defined by my outer shell; my body, but is comprised of all of my beautiful inner qualities, characteristics, and talents.

I am thankful that I realize how stupid diets are and don’t let myself be fooled into thinking the latest fad diet will “do the trick”.

I am thankful that I am beginning to truly and honestly look at my body and accept it for what it is and not feel compelled to change it in order to accept myself.

I am thankful that living and being present is more important to me than choosing to stay stuck in my ED.

I am thankful that I am finally not being so hard on myself, that I am moving past guilt and shame.

I am thankful for the family I have which has remained by my side through the highs and the lows.  I am thankful to have a family who loves and accepts me for me.

I am thankful to the true friends I have who never try to change me, who I can be my quirky, crazy self with.

I am thankful that I have a big heart, that I’m a person who feels the pain of others.

I am thankful that I have a job that challenges me and provides me with a sense of security and a well-being for myself.

I am thankful to have a boss and co-workers who see my potential, who believe in my abilities and talents and who have confidence in my work and intelligence, even when I doubt myself.

I am thankful for a roof over my head, a bed to rest my head on at night.  I am thankful for a comfortable life.

I am thankful for personal growth, for becoming a stronger person through the trails I’ve faced.

I am thankful for developing persistence, patience, and determination.

I am thankful that I’m learning what REALLY matters in life, in myself.

I am thankful that I see myself as more than flesh and bone, more than a number on a scale, more than a size of clothing.

I am thankful for the people in my life who are teaching me to look at all the amazing qualities I have that for so long I couldn’t see.

I am thankful for a chance to really, fully live my life, to be present, to be happy and free of my ED’s negativity and isolation.

I am thankful for each morning I wake up to the sun rising; the birds chirping outside, the announcement that spring is here.

I am thankful for redefining my beauty and starting to actually feel and see the beauty I possess.

I have so much to be thankful for.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 14, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
