RSS

He’s Just Not That Into You

03 Jun

This weekend I watched a chick-flick (which is a rare thing for me, especially to watch on my own!) and I actually really, really loved it.  Again, another rare thing for me. 

It actually felt more ‘real’, with obviously some ‘all works out in the end’ parts as well.  But I loved the closing monologue of the movie.  It stuck with me…and this morning I decided to look it up, word for word.  When I read it, I loved it even more.  So I thought I’d share it here.  🙂

“Girls are taught a lot of stuff growing up: if a boy punches you he likes you, never try to trim your own bangs, and someday you will meet a wonderful guy and get your very own happy ending. Every movie we see, every story we’re told implores us to wait for it: the third act twist, the unexpected declaration of love, the exception to the rule. But sometimes we’re so focused on finding our happy ending we don’t learn how to read the signs. How to tell the ones who want us from the ones who don’t, the ones who will stay and the ones who will leave. And maybe a happy ending doesn’t include a guy, maybe it’s you, on your own, picking up the pieces and starting over, freeing yourself up for something better in the future. Maybe the happy ending is just moving on. Or maybe the happy ending is this: knowing after all the unreturned phone calls and broken-hearts, through the blunders and misread signals, through all the pain and embarrassment… you never gave up hope”

I just thought that was absolutely perfect.  And I find that I personally relate to this, as I’m sure many have at some point in their lives.

Happy Monday and I hope you all have a wonderful week!! 😀

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “He’s Just Not That Into You

  1. Racing Bananas

    June 3, 2013 at 4:11 pm

    I haven’t seen this movie in forever, but the quote you posted was so fitting today! I definitely fall in to the trap of thinking about how my life SHOULD be that I lose track of what is really important. Fairy tales are great, but most times unrealistic, since life isn’t perfect. My favorite part of the quote is this: “Or maybe the happy ending is this: knowing after all the unreturned phone calls and broken-hearts, through the blunders and misread signals, through all the pain and embarrassment… you never gave up hope” Whether it’s in my seriously lacking love life or life in general, this really hit home today for me!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      June 4, 2013 at 12:14 am

      I know exactly what you mean. I actually identified with this even more than you might imagine. I’ve had a lot of personal things going on in my life right now and this quote just seemed to really hit home for me too. I’m learning that sometimes what we expect to be the ‘perfect ending’ isn’t always the case. I’ve recently been able to refocus and learn what really is important and to not be so hard on myself when things don’t go ‘as planned’, even in something as large and serious as a relationship.

       
      • Racing Bananas

        June 4, 2013 at 1:55 am

        Glad to hear that you’ve been able to refocus and not be too hard on yourself! I hope everything is ok with you – just know that you have bloggy friends out here who think you’re awesome!

         
      • Little Miss Fit

        June 4, 2013 at 2:01 am

        Thanks, girl! I really appreciate it 🙂 Things haven’t been easy….and my future seems a little unknown/rocky right now…but I’m just trying to take things a day at a time and surround myself with my friends and family who have been offering so much help/strength/support. It helps so much!

         
      • Racing Bananas

        June 4, 2013 at 2:03 am

        Sometimes the best thing you can do is take things one day at a time, which can be really hard. Glad to hear you have lots of support! Hope everything works out like it needs to 🙂

         
      • Little Miss Fit

        June 4, 2013 at 2:10 am

        Thanks! 🙂

         
  2. My Crazy NY Post-Grad Life

    June 4, 2013 at 1:36 am

    One of my favorite movies of all time. And honestly, I can’t stress enough how true it is – if a boy wants to see you, HE WILL SEE YOU! Love it!

    <3, Charlotte

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      June 4, 2013 at 1:37 am

      It’s SO great, isn’t it?! I loved every bit of it! I can’t believe it took me so long to find it! Amazing. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
