RSS

Itching to Run & Defining my ‘Healthy Living’

11 Jun

Ahh we have finally had some absolutely AMAZING weather here in Wisconsin.  The kind that actually comes and stays longer than a couple days and then disappears and gets cold again.  Maybe it will actually stay….for good?!  One can only hope!

The beautiful weather had me in the mood to get outside and get active!  I love, love, love being outside to enjoy the weather.  Summer is hard for me because I work full-time during the week, which means I’m stuck inside all day, except for a half an hour when I get to sneak out for a bit.  So I try to make the most of my evenings and weekends outside!  Yesterday after work I took a nice walk, just really enjoying the weather.  There’s nothing more enjoyable than getting outside and moving!

Today I was just itching to go for a run.  After Sunday’s 5k, I realized just how much I missed running.  It had literally been at least a month or two since I had gone for a run.  Today, I just knew I had to go.  I didn’t care that it was in the 80s and toasty…I felt like getting a good sweat in today. 

Image

I finally feel like I’m at a point where I’m healthy enough to let myself run.  Before I had to stop because of poor nutrition, i.e. my eating disorder/restricting.  But I feel like I’m in a much better place right now, and have been for a while, at least in a good enough place to let myself run again.  That being said, I do need to use caution to not let myself get back in the old routine of over-exercising and not eating enough.  That has happened to me TOO MANY times.  I’m also not going to be foolish and post that I will definitely, 100% never let myself do that again! Because realistically, I’ve said that before, and it’s happened.  I think each time I tell myself I won’t let it happen, and it ends up happening, I get more and more frustrated with myself, which won’t do me any good.  So this time, let’s just say I’ll take things a day at a time.  I know that I need to have a balance.  Running every day just isn’t going to happen…it can’t.  At least not for where I’m at right now.  But, that works out wonderfully, because I have yoga that I love, so having a nice balance of both will be great.

Another thing on my mind lately is my blog.  I have my ‘Who is Miss Fit?’ page and I realized that I really, really need to change it.  That is not who I am.  It talks all about my beginning unhealthy relationship of food when I was obese and then my quest for a healthy life by dieting and exercising…then my struggles with anorexia.  This is not who I want to be known for…and I am SO MUCH MORE than my issues with food, my body, and my weight. 

Yes, I know this is my ‘healthy living’ blog, but my quest for ‘healthy living’ now is more focused on getting out and living a happy life.  My ‘healthy living’ consists of letting go of food rules, letting go of worrying about fat, calories, worries about my weight, my body, etc.  My ‘healthy living’ means letting go of my eating disorder and finding my real identity.  My ‘healthy living’ consists of letting myself indulge on desserts and pizza.  My ‘healthy living’ is about going out and letting all of these fears and concerns go, once and for all, and really just living my life.  To the full.  There is a lot more to me than my struggles with food and weight and body image.  So, that being said, I am going to be working on re-vamping my ‘Who is Miss Fit?’ page to actually focus on who I am as person, so you can all really get to know ME a lot better.  I’ll still keep my history of my past on my blog, perhaps under something like ‘My Story’…or the like.  But it’s time for me to move on and move past this and not let it define me anymore.  Yes, I still have struggles, that I can admit to.  But I’m ready to finally not let it be who I am anymore.

Image

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Itching to Run & Defining my ‘Healthy Living’

  1. Racing Bananas

    June 12, 2013 at 2:15 am

    Can I just say that I absolutely LOVE reading your blog? Especially for things like this: “Yes, I know this is my ‘healthy living’ blog, but my quest for ‘healthy living’ now is more focused on getting out and living a happy life.”

    I completely agree. Recovery and healthy living is a great journey, but for me, being happy is my ultimate goal and is a big part of being “healthy!”

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      June 12, 2013 at 2:27 am

      Aw thanks so much girl! I appreciate it!

      I think each individual needs to make sure they focus on living a healthy life for themselves and not view everyone else’s choices as what they need to do in order to be healthy. As long as we try to just live our lives and be the happiest we can be, I think that is the best version of ‘healthy’ we can be!

       

Leave a Reply

 
