RSS

Weekend Recap – Day Trip & A 5-K

11 Jun

Well this weekend was absolutely AH-MAZING!  I had such a wonderful time.  I got an early start to my weekend and had a half day at work on Friday.  All week it was cool and cloudy and rainy, but Friday came around and it warmed up into the 70s and the sun came out!  I couldn’t have had a better half-day off!  Plus, my boss was super cool and let me take the afternoon off without having to use any Paid-Time-Off (PTO) since we were working so hard that week (before our two newbies started Monday) so that was even better! 

I met a friend who I hadn’t seen in so long at the mall and we spent the afternoon together.  Then I just had a nice relaxing Friday evening.

Saturday morning I woke up pretty early to get myself all ready to hit the road!  My friend invited me to come up north for the day/night in Mosinee, Wisconsin to hang out and then go to a rodeo that night (I had never been to a real rodeo before!) So I made my way up, which was about a 2.5-3 hour drive from where I live.

Image

I was really looking forward to spending some time outside and was hoping for some really nice weather, so when the majority of the ride was really cloudy and rainy, I was getting pretty bummed out.  I got to Mosinee by about 11ish.  We decided to head down to Stevens Point to get brunch/lunch at this cute little place she recommended, called The Wooden Chair.  She told me they had the best breakfast-y foods.  Which is absolute perfection for me.  Mmmmm.  It was a cute little place, kind of reminded me of Cracker Barrel inside.

Image

It was right in “downtown” Stevens Point.  I got a delicious and VERY LARGE blueberry pancake with some fresh fruit.  Soo tasty!  Sadly, when we finished eating it was stillllll raining 😦  We decided we’d still head up to the next destination we had planned out, even if it was rainy.  We went up to Rib Mountain, just west of Wausau.  It was almost if it was on cue, but the rain stopped and the clouds started to break up.  By the time we got to Rib Mountain, the sun was shining!  It couldn’t have been more perfect!  It was perfect weather to go hiking a bit, so we navigated and went up the observatory tower to get some sweet views of the surrounding area.

ImageImageImage

After that, we made our way north.  We stopped at a few different places along the way, one place being Gordmans, a place I had never heard of before.  It was like a cross between a huge clothing store and a really extensive home decoration store.  Pretty cool!  Apparently we have one coming down near Kenosha, which is still pretty far from where I live, but maybe worth an excursion to go check out sometime.

We got up to Minocqua, which is SUPER FAR north (I didn’t realize it until I looked at a map later) and as crazy as it is, I’ve lived in Wisconsin my whole life and I honestly don’t think I’ve ever traveled much more north than Green Bay before…unless it was when I was really young.  So it was cool to check it out.  It was so peaceful and quiet up in that area.

We decided to go horseback riding at a place called Holiday Acres when we got up there!  I had NEVER been before, so that was a pretty exciting experience!  I was super nervous at first, but then I ended up really loving it.  We took a nice 45-minute trail ride through a really pretty, wooded area.

By then, it was time to head to Merrill for the rodeo!  It was absolutely a gorgeous day and I was so glad we got to spend the evening outside!  This rodeo was pretty legit…they had bareback bronco riding, saddled bronco riding, tie-down roping, team roping, women’s barrel racing and the bull riding ended the show.  It was a really cool show.  It was 3 hours, which I was super surprised about.  But totally fun!

Image

Image

After the rodeo, we headed back to her house, had a bonfire, then camped out in her camper in the backyard 😀  I had to wake up and be on the road by 5 the next morning since I had a 5k I committed to a while ago (UGH!) so we didn’t stay up super late.

So Sunday morning I was out on the road at 5 am.  I was surprisingly awake, which was a miracle.  In hindsight, I am SO happy that I woke up as early as I did.  I saw the most beautiful sunrise!  I even had to pull off the road to take pictures, it was that gorgeous!

Image

ImageImage

It was SO stunning.  I seriously couldn’t believe it!  And I was SO focused on the beautiful sunrise on the left side while I was driving that I didn’t even realize that there was something to see on the right side

Image

Can you see it?!  Yep, it’s a RAINBOW!  I have a gorgeous sunrise and a rainbow?  It couldn’t have been a more gorgeous morning!

Image

For about two hours of the ride home, I was pretty much the only person on the road up there…which was actually really cool.  It was so peaceful and serene, like the morning was just my own.  I had a bit of a lead foot for a while, not even intentionally.  At one point I got to about 90 (in a 65, mind you) and thought ‘hey, I have never driven 100 mph before…this is probably the best time to do it since the roads are deserted and no one is around’ soooo, I kicked it up to 100!  Hah, it was pretty sweet 🙂  And it honestly didn’t even feel that fast at all.

Needless to say, I made good time coming home 😀 (Although I only drove that fast for just a little while, I did speed the majority of the ride home.)  Whoopsies. 

I had a little time to lay low when I got back home before Scott came to get me to go to his niece’s 5k for her running team and for Girls on the Run.  This was going to be my first 5k EVER!!!  But this was a 5k I fully expected and anticipated walking.  First of all, I haven’t run in SO long and second of all, I got about 5 hours of sleep (at best) and was up literally at the crack of dawn.  But the weather was absolutely gorgeous and I was feeling in the mood to move, and the four of us (Scott, his niece, and his sister and I) were doing it together, so I wanted to at least try and run a bit, if I could.  I was actually really impressed that I ran as much as I did!  It was not timed, but Scott was tracking our time and we finished decent enough for running and walking.  It did make me realize how much I do miss running though.  So, that being said, I’d love to start doing so again…at least introducing it back into my life again.

Image

Image

After that I came on home and did laundry and some grocery shopping.  Then, I was SUPER excited to have a video-chat date with my best friend who is out in NYC for the summer!  It was LONG overdue!  I miss her so much and obviously seeing her is not an option right now in real life, so video chatting is the next best thing.  It made me remember just how crazy fun we can be.  We had WAY too much fun with Google+.  HAHAHA.  Gah, I love this girl!  She just gets me!

ImageImage

Couldn’t have been a better weekend.  I loved EVERY bit of it.  After a weekend like that, it’s hard to feel anything but positive on Monday morning 😀  Especially when the weather is finally staying nice and warm!  Love it!  Hope you all had a wonderful weekend too!!  Happy Monday everyone!!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 responses to “Weekend Recap – Day Trip & A 5-K

  1. onemindfulstep.com

    June 11, 2013 at 2:39 am

    Wonderful rainbow pictures!

     
  2. thegoodfoodtheory

    June 11, 2013 at 12:21 pm

    What a jam packed weekend full of so many good things! 🙂

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      June 11, 2013 at 12:25 pm

      Thanks! It sure was a really really fun weekend! Couldn’t have been better! 🙂

       
  3. Racing Bananas

    June 11, 2013 at 7:41 pm

    I’m so jealous of your weekend up north! And I agree – even though I’ve lived in WI my whole life, I still think Green Bay is the most north you can go! Minoqua is gorgeous though – glad you had a great weekend!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      June 11, 2013 at 10:40 pm

      Thanks, girl! I have heard so many amazing things about Door County too…and it’s actually on my list of places to go check out this summer! I need to start visiting some of these places in my home state!! 🙂

       
      • Racing Bananas

        June 12, 2013 at 2:15 am

        Door County is on my bucket list too! I’ve never been but I hear it’s beautiful and the cherries are delicious there!

         
      • Little Miss Fit

        June 12, 2013 at 2:28 am

        And the wine! 😉

         

Leave a Reply

 
