RSS

Remembering Sundays Past

23 Jun

This morning while I was out on my walk, the rest of the world was pretty quiet.  I was up by around 7, so I decided to go for a walk straightaway before it got really hot.  I absolutely love going for walks in the morning…everything is so quiet and peaceful.  It’s like my time for just me, with the rest of the world still asleep.  That’s one of the best things about the weekend. 

On my walk, I had a lot of random thoughts come and go, different memories, things I wanted to do that day, fleeting thoughts.  One thought that came and lingered a bit longer than the rest, were memories of my Sunday mornings when I was younger, still living at home.  Thinking about it just filled me with such happy, fond memories, and I found myself reminiscing about my Sundays of the past.

Waking up, it was almost a sure thing that the smell of breakfast was in the air, mom cooking busily away in the kitchen, and that the Sunday paper would have been retrieved from the paper box, and my dad was the first to sort through it…pulling out the sections that he wanted to read or browse through.  He always, every week without fail, would pull the Comics section out right away, and toss it to the side, knowing that my brother and I would want to see that one first.  And he was right.  It was the highlight of the paper for me.  Usually about half-way through looking at the paper, mom would call from the kitchen saying that breakfast was ready!

My mom made the best breakfasts for us on Sundays!  Some of my favorites were:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

She seriously went all out!  We’d have biscuits and gravy with sausage, french toast and pancakes (for me, with fruit toppings and syrups), eggs, toast, sausage, bacon, egg scrambles, hash browns, all of the best breakfast foods!  We’d always enjoy that meal together, as a family.

After breakfast, I’d hurry back to the comics and finish them up!  In thinking on my Sunday mornings past, it made me really miss them.  It was a really good time with my family and just something that filled me with happy thoughts.  It made me realize that I no longer get the Sunday paper, and even though I’m an “adult” now, I do still miss the Comics.  So, I thought I’d follow the theme of Sunday Morning and look up my favorite comics that I used to read.  Enjoy!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

(credit to GoComics.com)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Remembering Sundays Past

  1. princessbunnycakes

    June 25, 2013 at 2:26 am

    The Comics are still my favorite section, by far. My favorite is the Lio comic strip.

     
  2. jessiebearwhat

    June 25, 2013 at 3:11 pm

    Those breakfasts are making me drooooool!

     

Leave a Reply

 
