RSS

What a (Four-Day) Weekend! (Part Two)

08 Jul

Hey all!  Well I recapped the first part of my weekend (Thursday and Friday) and will now recap on the second part of my weekend (Saturday and Sunday)!  Saturday morning started much like Thursday and Friday…waking up early, like usual, and getting my morning workout done before it got too hot!  I ran 2.5 miles, walked a half of a mile, and ran another mile, for a total run of 3.5 miles.  Again, it felt good to get my run in for the day and done!  Love morning work outs!

Saturday morning was a laundry and errands type of day, which was great.  I kind of wanted just a day to play catch-up after having a busy Thursday and Friday.  I did, however, manage to take some time to just read on my balcony, while working on my tan.  And by work on my tan, I mean finally start to get a tan!  I’m a little late this year in getting my tan on 😛

In the afternoon, my parents came over with their cat, Scooter, and we had a ‘play date’ with my cat, Dexter.  😀  This was about their third or fourth time getting together and each time things seem to improve more and more!  They got along really well!

Image

ImageImage

My parents are too cute, by the way.  I think they probably had just as much fun as the kitties did 🙂

After they left, I threw on my swim suit again, and hit the balcony for some reading and tanning again 🙂  I just started ‘Catching Fire’ this week and I am in love!  I can’t wait to see the movie when it comes out!  After my fair share of sun for the day, in an attempt not to burn, I came in and cooled off a bit and then did some yoga.  I love yoga.  It seems like I haven’t done it as much as I had been, so it was nice to take a little time to do so again.  Then in the evening, I went over to my parents house and watched a movie with them and my brother.  It was a really nice, quiet night in.  I loved it.

Sunday morning, you guessed it…I went for my morning run.  I did 2.5 miles this morning, quickly got my toosh home, showered, and got ready for the day.  The hubster and I had plans with my absolute favorite co-worker and his wife for brunch.  Granted, my favorite co-worker is about 50+, but he’s one heck of a guy!  He’s more like a second dad to me, even.  So I got myself all ready to go!

We were heading out to Delafield to meet up with them at The Delafield Hotel.  We ended up getting there a bit early and stumbled upon…

Image

GREAT HARVEST!  The best, and I mean best bread store ever!  We grabbed a loaf of sourdough bread and the hubster found these lemon berry dessert bars which were divine…and we got three of those! 😀  We also snuck in a picture…

Image

Lookin’ pretty sharp! 😉  When we got ourselves back in the car, I got a teley call from my co-worker asking me if we were going to spend our morning at Great Harvest, or come and join them for brunch!  He’s that kind of guy…always a funny one!  We both share a love for Great Harvest, since there’s one nearby where we work in Elm Grove, and often talk about it.  They drove by and happened to see us 🙂  So we made our way down the street to The Delafield Hotel.  It looked so old and charming…and fancy!

Image

Image

Image

Scott was daring and tried something totally different…duck confit crepes.  What on earth is that, you might ask?!  Well, it is ‘savory crepe, roasted forest mushrooms, caramelized onions, arugula, fig and petite greens’.  It was literally heavenly.  I was not too pleased with my ‘safe’ choice, which was a bit disappointing…so the hubster let me take a few bites of his delicious choice!  It looked something like this…

Image

I wish I would have taken a picture of mine.  I got the ‘Fruit, Yogurt, and House Granola Bar’.  For some reason it came not at all as I had expected.  It was a little cup of yogurt with honey, then sliced up fruit, and a huge slab of granola bar, all served on a platter.  But this is essentially what I got…

Image

After brunch, the hubster and I took some pictures and then checked out the Delafield area.  It was a cute little town.

Image

Image

Image

We ended up stumbling across St. John’s Northwestern Military Academy and checked out the place.  The hubster said he remembered hearing about this place on Forest Gump (I think it was) and thought it was pretty cool that we just happened upon it 😀  We made our way back home. 

My last day off had come and gone so quickly 😦  I just decided to make some three ingredient cookies (banana, oats, and raisins), read, blog, and yoga.  Tonight the hubster and I are just going to relax and watch a movie together.  What a nice relaxing end to a wonderful and super quick four-day weekend!  I hope you all had a wonderful, fun-filled weekend!!

 

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 8, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “What a (Four-Day) Weekend! (Part Two)

  1. Christine@ Apple of My Eye

    July 8, 2013 at 1:48 pm

    Sounds like such a wonderful weekend! Morning workouts are the best! If I don’t go in the morning, they usually don’t end up happening. Those cat pics are so cute as well. My kitty doesn’t do well with strangers or other cats since she’s a bit tiny and gets bullied a lot. Seems like those two are getting along just fine! And that’s SO weird that they essentially just gave you a granola bar haha.

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      July 8, 2013 at 10:02 pm

      I love, love, love morning work outs! Haha it was so much fun! My parents cat is literally about half the size of my chubby cat, so it’s really fun to watch them together!

      I know, right?! For some reason when I read fruit, yogurt, and granola bar, I literally thought they had like a make your own parfait bar, but I clearly misunderstood hahah

       
  2. Debbie @ GreatHarvest

    July 9, 2013 at 3:59 pm

    So glad you found Jon’s bakery in Delafield. Thanks for the kind words about our bread and lemon bars!

     
  3. livliveslife

    July 12, 2013 at 5:07 pm

    Looks like a wonderful time! And I LOVE Great Harvest Bread Co. It’s a good thing I don’t live closer to one, or I would be massive and broke! 😉

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      July 12, 2013 at 10:36 pm

      Oh I hear ya…I seriously could eat a whole loaf of almost all of their breads in one sitting! :O

       

Leave a Reply

 
