RSS

What a Week!

28 Jul

Good morning all.  This week has been a pretty rough one all across the board.  I’ve been having a lot of personal demons resurface and have been stuck battling with those.  It’s been a pretty tough, long week of personal struggle.  It’s been exhausting, to say the least.  But I know I need to try and get myself out of this ‘blah’ place and try and get back on better ground.  A step at a time…

I did have some great moments this weekend, mixed in with some bad.  But I thought that I’d focus in on the positive a bit and let that be what carries forth in my post today.  No need to share the negative right now.  Maybe I’ll open up about that a little more in a later post…but with it so fresh and real right now, I don’t think I’m quite ready for it at this point.

Regardless of the week, I had already made some concrete plans for the weekend and wasn’t going to let my bad week prevent me from following through with these plans.  Friday night I had made plans to go to the Washington County Fair and see Darius Rucker with my mom, dad, and brother.  It was going to be a cool, chilly night, but we decided we’d go and tough it out.

Image

Despite the cold, we ended up having a wonderful time.  Darius Rucker was amazing.  I think I may be biased though, simply because I love him like no other.  I’ve been such a fan of him for years, starting with Hootie and The Blowfish, to currently with his country kick.  There’s something about his voice that just makes me really happy.  I can’t listen to his music without just feeling good!  That’s the best kind of pick-me-up.  I definitely think he is my favorite male singer of all time.  Hands down.  (As just a side note, I have Hootie & The Blowfish on my Pandora Radio right now :P)

Saturday morning I had made plans to go on a coffee date with my mom.  I think she just really needed that time with me after the crappy week I had and after she knew just how much I was struggling lately.  I think she just wanted to reassure me that she (as well as my dad and brother) were always there for me, no matter what, during the worst of it all…and to just try and keep my mind focused on the positive.  We had a really nice visit. (Plus their coffee flavor-of-the-day was snickerdoodle which was amazing!  I added some nutmeg and it tasted just like a fall drink, which was rather appropriate since it was in the 50s!)

Image

After my coffee date with my mom, I had a long overdue video-chat date with my best friend and sister, Rachel.  It’s been rough having her half-way across the country the whole summer, but I can’t wait until she comes back home!  August 16th at 6:05 pm she lands in Milwaukee!!! (Not that I’m really keeping track, or anything ;))  I realized just how much I really miss this girl.  It’s a wonderful, beautiful thing when you have a friendship as strong as I have with her…someone that just makes your life that much better…and that just loves you and accepts you the way you are.  Also someone that makes you want to be a better version of ‘you’.  She’s a pretty inspiring person and I get so much strength and motivation from her.

Image

Yeah, we’re like that.  (And I love it!)

After our chat date, I had to run some errands.  Then met up with the hubster.  We headed up to hear a friend of mine/ours play at some fundraiser with a band he is hopefully going to be a part of soon as the lead guitarist.  So we came and showed our support!  I was really in a crummy mood in the afternoon…partially because of everything that’s been going on in my world lately, and partially because the weather was absolutely HORRIBLE.  And I mean…horrible!  It’s July and the weather is cold and cloudy.  I think we may have been maxed at about 60 degrees yesterday, windy, and super dark clouds…all day!  But, I decided I really didn’t want to let my friend down and was hopeful that going out and doing something social would put me in a better mood. 

Image

He was sooo appreciative that we came to hear him and support him…plus it really did the trick.  My mood was like 100x better!  From there, the hubster and I headed over to the Washington County Fair to see Daughtry.  (Seriously, two concerts two days in a row that I was really excited about!  I’ve always wanted to see Daughtry live!)  The only negative about going was the weather.  It was ridiculous.  I had on a long sleeve shirt, a sweatshirt, a fleece, and a huge winter coat.  Also, an extra sweatshirt wrapped around my legs.  (And I was STILL freezing!)

Image

Image

We ended up enjoying it, even though it was cold!  The tasty food definitely helped. 🙂  The concert was really good, even though by the end of it, it started to rain a bit.  Despite how crappy the weather was, it was a really fun time!

ImageImage

Image

The ingenious hubster crafted a “device” to carry both of our chairs on his back, using my sweatshirt.  Haha.  I thought it was too good not to document! 🙂

Well the weather this Sunday morning was a bit similar to yesterday.  Except we did have a bit of sun peeking out.  I took a nice, relaxing 4 mile walk this morning around my neighborhood…to center myself.  And ended up feeling much better this morning afterward.  I think the rest of the day I am going to take for just ‘me’ time to focus on myself and how to get myself back on track again and in a better place.  Then tonight, the hubster and I are going out for dinner for a friend of mine’s birthday.  I’ve known him since 6th grade (and he was my “first love”)  So glad that we are still friends to this day and really hoping tonight will be a good time.

Have a wonderful rest of your weekend.  ❤

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “What a Week!

  1. Rachel

    July 28, 2013 at 9:03 pm

    Awww girl I love you so much! And I know that no matter how crappy things seem now, they’ll get better and you’ll get through it <3333 Also I love that picture with you and the eight million layers hahaha THAT'S THE GIRL I MISS. But we'll be reunited soon!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      July 29, 2013 at 12:52 am

      <33 thanks girl! Can't wait to finally have you back!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
