RSS

Monday’s Feeling Pretty Marvelous

30 Jul

Happy Monday e’erbody!  First of all, I must start off by saying that this evening I am feeling in MUCH better spirits.  This past week and weekend was pretty rough.  This morning started off pretty rough, too, but I was able to gain a better mindset by mid-to-late morning and things just kept improving!  So since today is Monday and it’s all about focusing on the marvelous (thanks to Katie!) I still won’t be updating on any of the negative stuff from the prior week…but rather, will be keying in on some awesome things. 🙂

Image

Marvelous is…sunshine on a Monday after three days of dark clouds and COLD weather!  Seriously, this weekend was nothing short of depressing.  We had weather in the 50s and low 60s and dark and cloudy.  Brr.  Yet today, it warmed up into the 70s and the sun came out!  Not too bad to kick off the week!

Marvelous is…the support of my family and friends.  I have been truly blessed to have such an amazing group of people in my life who have stood by me through thick and thin.  I’ve probably tried their patience many times, yet they are always there for me, no matter what.  I have been having a hard time lately and to have their love and support means everything in the world to me.  I don’t know if I’d be where I am today without them.

Marvelous is…a fun dinner out with some really fun people!  Last night the hubster and I went out with some fun people to celebrate my friend’s birthday.  (I’ve known this kid for 12 years now and am so thankful we’ve been able to stay friends this long!)  We went to Ninja Japanese Steakhouse and the food was absolutely ah-mazing!  Sushi was the name of the game for me, but a lot of the others got the hibachi dinner, where they cook it all up right in front of you and literally put on a show for you!

Image

The birthday boy got extra sake shot in his mouth!  It was the wildest thing I’ve ever seen!  I’ve done hibachi dinners before, but NEVER have I seen anything like this!  They squirt the sake into your mouth and you chug, chug, chug it.  Bleck!  Not for me!  But it was totally hilarious to see some of the boys do it!  Mack was soaking by the end of the night!

Image

After dinner, four of the guys did ‘sake bombs’…which again, was the WILDEST THING I have ever seen.  Especially because there was a song that accompanied this drink!  Haha.  So we proceeded to sing the song, then the guys start pounding their fists next to the glass, which makes the sake shot drop from between the chopsticks into the glass!  Crazy!!

Image

That was SUCH a fun time!  Just what I needed!

Marvelous is…the power of positive thinking.  I had been stuck in a negative mentality for quite a while and it was just perpetuating my negative, bad mood.  Today, I decided that I can’t change the past and the mistakes that I have made, nor is there any benefit that will be gained from beating myself up over them.  I have been really hard on myself and the struggles I’ve been having.  But I need to start being kinder to myself.  Yes, mistakes happen, but I can pick myself up and start new again, without letting those mistakes hold me back or keep me stuck in a negative place.  I told a friend today that ‘fall down seven times, stand up eight’ was a little different for me…

Image

She reminded me that as long as I’m standing, it doesn’t matter how often I fall.  🙂  That’s what best friends are for.  She’s right.  I may fall, and fall, and fall again…but if I keep getting myself back up, that’s all that matters.

So with my positive mindset back and focused on setting and following through on some pretty big goals for myself, I have the week starting off on a really good, positive note.

Happy Monday and I hope you all have a wonderful week!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on July 30, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “Monday’s Feeling Pretty Marvelous

  1. di @ life of di.

    July 30, 2013 at 2:21 am

    Looks like a great weekend 🙂 That sushi all looks delicious!!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      July 30, 2013 at 2:30 am

      It was absolutely amazing! I have been on this sushi kick where I just can’t get enough!!

       
  2. My Crazy NY Post-Grad Life

    July 30, 2013 at 2:35 am

    You are awesome!! (And marvelous :))

    <3, Charlotte

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      July 30, 2013 at 2:38 am

      Thanks, girl! You’re pretty awesome yourself 🙂

       
  3. jessiebearwhat

    July 30, 2013 at 5:02 am

    Ahh sushi and hibachi sounds so good!

     
  4. Christine@ Apple of My Eye

    July 30, 2013 at 5:38 am

    The support of your family and friends is definitely one of the most marvelous things in life! Haha that shooter shot looks like so much fun (to watch ;))! I’ve never even heard of that before! Glad you are getting off to a great start 🙂

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      July 30, 2013 at 11:44 am

      Thanks girl! You are so right! Without family and friends life just would not be complete.

      And yes! It was the most interesting thing. One of the guys could not get the chopsticks to move and he was literally slamming the table in order to get the shot to drop! :O

       
  5. Lucy @ Lucy On The Lookout

    July 30, 2013 at 8:25 am

    The sushi/hibachi night looks like so much fun, glad you managed to get in some entertainment and good company especially as you’ve been having a tough time (sorry to hear by the by). Completely agree about positive thinking and not dwelling in the past (I definitely have a habit of this) – was really struggling before I went on holiday (which gave me a lot of mental space) and read a great book called the ‘Power of Now’ which essentially said that dwelling in the past/worrying about the future is really self-destructive whereas everything happens in the now so that’s where we should be present. Which makes sense 🙂 Glad you have a fab supportive network around you!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      July 30, 2013 at 11:46 am

      Ah that book definitely sounds like it was full of positivity and some good information! Sometimes it can help so much to just get yourself thinking more positively…everything just feels so much better then. When you’re stuck in a negative mindset, even the good things don’t seem nearly as good.

       
  6. Heather @ HeatherRunsFast.com

    July 30, 2013 at 12:44 pm

    Hibachi dinners are SO fun! I love when they cut up the shrimp and flip the tails into their hats, haha. I haven’t had sushi in weeks and those pics are making me crave it! Looks like I need to drop some hints to the hubby for what our next date night will be 😉 I would kill for a day in the 50/60s right now. It is so oppressively hot (90 degrees, 90% humidity) a few days of cold would be great. The grass is always greener right? Hope your week is still going Marvelously!!!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      July 30, 2013 at 12:52 pm

      They are SO much fun! Our cook was awesome…he ended up flipping an EGG into his hat! I was pretty impressed! haha.

      Let’s cut a deal…you can have our cool 50s/60s weather and I can have your hot weather?! (Except I’m not a huge fan of it being that humid :/)

      Thanks girl! My week is still going good! Hope you have a wonderful week too!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
