RSS

Beauty in the Everyday

18 Aug

Hello lovelies!  Life has been so wonderful lately!  So many exciting things have happened this past week; it’s been so great.  As some of you know, this past weekend my brother and I went to Los Angeles to meet up with his fiancee, Jessa, who was flying from the Philippines to America.  This was her first time to the US and her first time meeting me.  We had a great, short, whirlwind of a weekend in California.  Monday and Tuesday I took off of work to get Jessa settled at my place and to have some fun times around Milwaukee.

Monday we went to the beach/lakefront.  It was cloudy when we first got there, but then the sun came out and it ended up being an absolutely gorgeous day.

Image

Tuesday we made our way to the Mitchell Park Domes.  Jessa absolutely LOVED it!  My brother got her an i-Phone so that she could skype and talk with her friends and family back home and also so that she could take pictures.  As we both learned, she really loves taking pictures.  She took so many at the Domes…and I took some, too! 🙂

Image

ImageImage

Sadly, after my five-day weekend, it was time for me to go back to work.  But, I had a really great three day week back at work and got so much stuff done.  I felt really great because two people were out in my department PLUS I had all the work to catch up on while I was out, so I was essentially doing the work of three people!  Oy!  I was a busy little beaver, but by the end of the week I felt super proud of the work that I got done!  Yay me!

Friday was a HUGE day for me!  My best fraaaaaand, Rachel, who had gone to New York for the WHOLE SUMMER for an internship, was coming home!!!  After work, I headed straight to the airport to welcome her back home!  It was such a great reuniting, plus, she made a ‘big boom’ entrance, which made it that much more enjoyable.  I can’t tell you how good it feels to have this girl back after three months away.  She is one person that truly just gets me for me.  I missed her like crazy and I can’t wait to pick up where we left off and start making some more fun memories together!!

The rest of Friday evening was spent with the hubster (since Rachel had to go home with her mom :(), but it was a great evening nonetheless!  We took a nice walk together and watched Modern Family, one of our absolute FAVORITE shows!

Saturday morning I woke up early, took a nice walk, then went over by my parents’ for coffee.  We caught up a bit, which was so nice.  Then they mentioned how they had tentative plans to go with Travis and Jessa to Cedarburg, a cute little town close-by to where we live, that afternoon and mentioned that I should come along.  I jumped at the opportunity.  So we spent our afternoon in Cedarburg!  It was absolutely perfect.  The weather was so gorgeous and we had such a great time with one another.  Jessa is just the sweetest little thing and I can already see her starting to get more comfortable with the family!  We went in the shops, got coffee, and went to the Covered Bridge park.

Image

Image

I got this awesome thing in one of the shops, too!

Image

What an absolutely perfect day we had together!  My family means the world to me and I’m so glad we could have that time together.  Life has been so great lately and I have so much to be thankful for right now.  Yippee!!

What about you?  What do you have to be thankful for in your life right now?

Anything you’re looking forward to or have done lately that’s made your life feel pretty awesome?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 18, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Beauty in the Everyday

  1. Christine@ Apple of My Eye

    August 18, 2013 at 1:40 pm

    I’m so glad that she’s having a great time here in the US! Your brother seems like he’s the absolute sweetest and most thoughtful guy :). This whole process of her getting to be able to travel and meet you guys was so extensive and it must have taking a ridiculous amount of handwork to ensure all the details came together!

    Hahaha I love the idea of an exercise block! That’s strenuous cardio for ya 😉

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      August 18, 2013 at 2:08 pm

      You are so right, Christine! He went through SO much to get her here. It was obstacle after obstacle, yet he never gave up or said it was too much or not worth it. He gave so much time and energy to finally getting her here and now that she’s here he is SO happy. I couldn’t be happier for them! They really deserve this. 🙂

       
  2. princessbunnycakes

    August 20, 2013 at 3:19 am

    Oooh, Modern Family is one of the few shows on TV that I actually very much like. I’ve ALWAYS been a sucker for the feel-good, after-school family shows (Boy Meets World, Full House, Tool Time, etc.), so I’m a big fan of Modern Family and The Middle, if you’ve ever seen it.

    It’s wonderful to hear that Jessa gets along with your entire family, and it sounds like you’re doing an excellent job of making her feel welcome. I can’t imagine being in her shoes—seems soooo nerve wracking!

    Thank you for your upbeat posts. Sometimes I can go into complete angsty-sarcastic-teenager mode who wants to roll my eyes at any and all positive talk, but characters like yours help me take a deep breath and practice gratitude and patience. I’m thankful for my loving parents, who hand-picked thoughtful souvenirs for me in Europe, and my boyfriend, who hung pictures to decorate our new place, made coffee, and showed me what fennel is (hey, it’s the little things). Muir Woods (old growth redwoods; ummm, YES!) never fails to make me feel awesome.

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      August 20, 2013 at 4:14 am

      I loved ALL of those shows! They were so great, and Modern Family is pretty similar to all of those. I haven’t seen the other show you mentioned, but maybe I’ll give it a shot?! Sounds like something I’d like 🙂

      And you’re welcome! Thank you for your super sweet, kind comments. I’m glad that you enjoy reading my posts. It’s so easy to get weighed down with all the negative, bad things in our day to day life but sometimes, just like you said, it’s the little things that can really make our lives feel so much more enriched. I’m so glad to hear you thinking about some of the positive things in your life!

       
  3. di @ life of di.

    August 20, 2013 at 11:50 pm

    Your Saturday morning seems like a perfect morning. 1) I love going on morning walks 2) I love coffee just as much 3) Visiting the parents is always a trip well made!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      August 20, 2013 at 11:58 pm

      Seriously it was absolutely perfect! It was like my ideal day. This weekend was one of the best weekends I’ve had in a while. Perfect all the way around! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
