RSS

WIAWednesday’s Past (#1)

21 Aug

Good Morning and Happy Wednesday!

Since it’s Wednesday, that means we’ve made it half way through the week!  Yippy!  Hope you all are having a marvelous week so far!

Well since this is my first What I Ate Wednesday, I’d do a fun version…a flashback to some of my normal eats throughout the day when I was young and back in school!  So let’s get down to business…

Breakfast’s throughout the week were pretty simple and basic.  I didn’t have a lot of time in the morning before hurrying off to school so these were some normal breakfasts for me:

Bagel-Yum

SONY DSC

Yep, bagels with cream cheese and cereal were pretty typical breakfasts for me during the week while I was at school.  That never really held me over for long, so I’d always, always have snacks.  My favorite go-to snack was poptarts!  I think I ate them probably every.single.day.  (Not healthy picks, but they were what I’d have!)  Brown sugar cinnamon were my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE! 😀

poptartsrewards_2

brownsugar

Lunch would roll around.  I’d always have the school lunches versus packing my own lunch.  So I’d either have one of the two menu choices provided, or hit up the pizza bar or build-your-own salad bar.  (Sadly, I chose the pizza more often than the salad)

School-Lunches-2

schoollunch1

salad bar

When I would get home from school, I’d usually have a snack.  I loved having a slice of bread with peanut butter, some cheese (cut straight from the block!) or one of my other junk-food picks like doritos, gardettos, combos or chips of any kind.

gardettos

combos

For dinner, I’d usually always eat at home and whatever my mom prepared.  She used to make casseroles a lot and really delicious dinners for us all to enjoy!  I used to always love her lasagna!  Mmmm.

ham-casserole-ck-226485-x

meal lasagna

After a DELICIOUS meal prepared by mom, we’d usually have dessert.  Most often it would be ice cream of some sort.  My favorite would be cookies and cream, hands down!

cookies-n-cream

That was a day-in-the-life of former Elise!  Happy Wednesday!!!

WIAWbutton

 
16 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 responses to “WIAWednesday’s Past (#1)

  1. Amy

    August 21, 2013 at 1:44 pm

    What a delicious day. That bagel looks incredible!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      August 22, 2013 at 5:45 am

      It was delicious! And I know, right?! I love bagels!!

       
  2. MassachusEATS

    August 21, 2013 at 5:23 pm

    Happy first WIAW! Cookies n cream is one of my favorite ice cream flavors too 🙂

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      August 22, 2013 at 5:46 am

      Thanks so much! Glad I finally joined the party! 😉

      You seriously can’t go wrong with cookies n cream!!

       
  3. Tiff @ Love Sweat & Beers

    August 21, 2013 at 6:53 pm

    But who can really turn down pizza? 😉 Fun post.

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      August 22, 2013 at 5:46 am

      You are so right! It’s pizza, after all!! 🙂

       
  4. Nikki @ The Road to Less Cake

    August 21, 2013 at 7:27 pm

    Your lasagna looks yummy.

     
  5. di @ life of di.

    August 21, 2013 at 10:45 pm

    I’m with ya on the Poptart breakfast. I LIVED on these in high school (and I wonder why I ballooned up my junior and senior year?? 🙂 ) The brown sugar cinnamon were my favorite too. I also loved the s’mores and oddly enough – hot fudge sundae. I know we shouldn’t be ashamed of our eating habits but that just disgusts me when I think about it now! I’d still eat the cinnamon ones but I feel like the hot fudge sundae takes it a little bit too far in the ‘artificial’ direction.

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      August 22, 2013 at 5:48 am

      Haha, oh I hear ya. I was my heaviest in high school, when poptarts were consumed on a daily basis haha. The s’mores were my second favorite!

      And yeah, I know what you mean. A co-worker of mine bought me a pack of the new peanut butter ones because he knows just how much I love peanut butter and they are SO good! They taste like raw peanut butter cookie dough!!

       
  6. princessbunnycakes

    August 22, 2013 at 5:10 am

    Hi Elise! Yep, I’m also a bit flabbergasted and envious of what I ate pre-college. Like you, it was full meals, but very processed and not particularly health-ful. Unfortunately, I think this is what fuels my current paranoia concerning over-eating and pre-occupation with healthier options (which I admit is sometimes an excuse to eat nothing but fruit and Odwalla bars all day . . .) However, most of these seem quite nice and delicious. Bagels w cream cheese or a bowl of cereal is my absolute IDEAL breakfast—yum!!

    Omg, I remember Gardettos!! What’s funny is OTHER kids would bring and share these, and until now I had NO IDEA what they were. I just thought they were a fancy, extra delicious brand of Chex Mix or somesuch. My family was weird like this—for instance, my parents had never heard of Fruit Roll-Ups, and I didn’t know where on earth other kids found them in the grocery store. Oh, and I’ve totally simply cut off a piece of cheese and had it plain or eaten shredded cheese right out of the bag. In fact, I think it was also a while till I knew what a grilled cheese was (can you tell my family isn’t from America??), so I’d do the ghetto version of cheese + bread + 20 seconds in the microwave. And LOVED it, btw. You’re lucky in that your mom seems like an excellent cook—those dinners look yummy and quite wholesome!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      August 22, 2013 at 11:49 pm

      Haha isn’t it funny to look back on the way we used to eat when we were younger and the way things have changed throughout the years? It’s funny to think how different families eat, too. Good times and good memories!

       
  7. Alex @ Cookie Dough Katzen

    August 22, 2013 at 3:57 pm

    I used to love brown sugar Poptarts as a kid! Definitely not the healthiest, but so good!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      August 22, 2013 at 11:48 pm

      Oh I know…not a healthy snack choice, but definitely delicious!

       
  8. Juli

    September 12, 2013 at 3:34 am

    Thats a great post! So funny how things change!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      September 12, 2013 at 10:31 am

      You are so right! It’s such a world of difference!

       

Leave a Reply

 
