RSS

What a Workin’ Woman Eats on Wednesday

28 Aug

Happy Wednesday!  It’s that time of the week again where we get to hook up over at Peas & Crayons for some ‘What I Ate Wednesday’ action.  This week, I’m paying tribute to those workin’ ladies who pack their lunches and have some boring eats during the day.  Yes, I am hopeful that I can be more adventurous with my eats soon, but today is actually the beginning of a whole new phase for me as far as complying with the meal plan from my dietitian so this is actually my first day of really eating normally.  YAY!

So, without further ado, I will share my workin’ woman, beginning-of-meal-plan-compliance eats! 😀

Breakfast is usually my favorite and best meal of the day.  I have become such a HUGE fan of Greek yogurt with granola!  Specifically these flavors:

Image

I seriously recommend all of them!  With my yogurt and granola today, I had a half of one of these amazing english muffins with my favorite peanut butter!

Image

I also added some dried fruit in the mix, too!  So here is the non-glamorous picture I took at my desk today.

Image

Eating a full breakfast (and not just my usual yogurt with granola) for the first time in a long time left me full for hours.  A fullness that while uncomfortable, I just accepted as what I needed to do.

Hunger did reappear though!  (Crazy, right?!)  So I went for my number one favorite snack right now.  A tasty banana with peanut butter!  (Yep, I love peanut butter!!)  Poor picture quality is the name of the game!

Image

My desk also is my kitchen and cafeteria.  I eat all of my meals at my desk during the day!  Even lunch!  I’m a busy busy girl!  I’m a bit of a strange one in that I usually eat my lunch at my desk while working, and then take my ‘lunch break’ late in the afternoon, at which time I usually end up reading.  I find that I can focus a lot more earlier in the day and get a lot more work done.  Late afternoon my attention starts to wane a bit and I’m not nearly as productive.

Lunch was a fruit cup and a turkey sandwich with honey mustard and a slice of fat free cheese.  (Yep, I still have my ‘diet’ foods that I’m using up…)  The sandwich was actually really delicious though.  I rarely ever put honey mustard on a sandwich so it added a different flavor and I really loved it!

Image

Ugh today was a tough day for me.  I felt very uncomfortably full almost all day long.  Yet, I did NOT let that stop me from following through with my meals that I had written down in my meal plan the night before.  I felt really awesome about that!  No more excuses.  I know it’s going to be rough for a while, but in time it will get easier and easier with each day that passes.  Gotta keep my chin up 🙂

When I got home, I had my favorite go to snack of hummus and carrots.  But not just any ole hummus.  Oh no no no.  It must be roasted red pepper!  Mmm.

Image

After my snacky snack snack, I decided to do some yoga.  What a great decision!  It made me feel so much more relaxed and calm and I definitely lost the anxious feeling I had.  Just another reason why I love yoga!!

I ran to the grocery store to get some more fruit, margarine (because I’m needing to find more ways to incorporate fats into my meal plan, so I’ll use it more for cooking, as well as oil!), and some milk.  Milk has been non-existent in my world.  I never drink it.  But my meal plan calls for it, so it’s time to do my entire meal plan.  Not cutting ‘this’ or ‘that’ out.  When I got home, I whipped up dinner.  YES.  I.made.dinner.  Granted, it took me only a few minutes to make, but I never make dinner for myself.  Dinners have been the hardest meal for me in my recovery.  I always snack instead (and usually end up binging later at night) but now is a time for me to get structured and really create a new routine for myself.  That means breaking bad habits and doing what is uncomfortable.  So following through with my plan for dinner was a HUGE success for me!

My dinner consisted of a grilled chicken breast, chicken-flavored rice, and green beans.  Oh, and a nice glass of milk, too! 🙂

Image

It was delicious!  Plus, Dexter, my cat, was all excited that I had milk, so he kept trying to steal some from me.  That little punk!  I felt really proud of myself.  This dinner was a huge success for me and the whole day was a huge accomplishment for me.  I couldn’t be happier with how the day went.

IF I am hungry for a snack, I have already decided what I will have.  So it will be a true test to see if I can refrain from a binge tonight but I will do everything in my power to try and prevent myself from giving in to any temptation to do so.  For so many reasons it will be of benefit to me, but it will especially help me be right on track and be ready to tackle tomorrow with the same zeal as this day!

Hope you have a happy Wednesday and have been enjoying some delicious eats!!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “What a Workin’ Woman Eats on Wednesday

  1. teenieyogini

    August 28, 2013 at 3:08 pm

    This is sooooo exciting to read!!!! I’m proud of you! Keep up the good work!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      August 29, 2013 at 4:33 am

      Thank you so much hun! I appreciate it so much!!

       
  2. princessbunnycakes

    August 29, 2013 at 2:21 am

    Yum! I’m so inspired by your attitude and love the food ideas. I love Dannon Light n Fit Greek yogurt as well, but I admit that I eat them just as much for how filling they are with relatively few calories as I do for the taste. I also VERY much like Oikos’ Fat Free Greek yogurts with fruit on the bottom.

    Sort of a random question, but: what lunchmeat do you use? It’s been so long since I bought it, and I remember always being turned off by how salty and processed it was. Do you have a favorite? Reading through your posts, it sounds like we DEFINITELY have similar tastes.

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      August 29, 2013 at 4:35 am

      Thank you so much! It means a lot to me to hear that from you.

      I actually use Oscar Mayer Deli Selects…and usually have the turkey or chicken breast. They can be a it on the salty side at times, but I do like that brand because it’s leaner and pretty tasty 🙂

       
  3. Ksenija @ Health Ninja

    August 29, 2013 at 6:28 am

    The working woman gets quite some delicious food 😉 I nominated you for the Liebster award, pretty! You can find all the information in my post. ❤

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      August 29, 2013 at 12:32 pm

      Awww shucks, thanks so much girl! I appreciate it so much! Can’t wait to answer the questions 🙂

       
  4. Arman @ thebigmansworld

    August 29, 2013 at 7:21 am

    Why do Americans have the best food out there- banana bread english muffins? Geebuz!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      August 29, 2013 at 12:30 pm

      Omgosh I know, right?! You are seriously missing out!! 😛

       
  5. Christine@ Apple of My Eye

    August 29, 2013 at 1:56 pm

    Light & Fit yogurt is my favorite! I have to admit, though, that I haven’t branched out from the vanilla flavor yet ;). And I’ve been only eating it everyday for what… the last year hahah?

    WHAT! They have banana bread english muffins? Are you kidding me?!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      August 29, 2013 at 11:49 pm

      I love it too!! Vanilla used to be my absolute favorite flavor too until I tried these new ones! 🙂 If you find something good, why change it, am I right?!

      I know, right?!? They are SO tasty!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
