RSS

What I Wanna Eat (And Make) in the Fall

11 Sep

Hey hey hey!  Fall is almost here, like literally.  Today is supposed to be 95…and three days from now it’s supposed to be 65.  That’s how we do in Wisconsin…whether we like it or not!  But, as much as I love the warm weather, I admittedly love fall.  Every.single.little.thing. about fall.  So in honor of fall’s approach, I thought I’d share some of the treats I’m looking forward to enjoying this season for this week’s link up with Jenn at Peas & Crayons.

 fall leaves

Mmm I don’t know about all ya’ll, but there is nothing better than a nice warm bowl of oatmeal on a cool, fall day.  I really don’t do oatmeal in summer, but love me a nice bowl in fall and winter!  So having oatmeal back is an exciting thing. 🙂

 oatmeal

I’m not a huge soup fan, truth be told, unless I have a cold or upset tummy and need some chicken noodle soup.  However, I am a huge fan of Panera’s soups.  I love them all!  Especially because you can get them in a bread bowl or you get a nice chunk of baguette on the side.  Panera’s soups go hand-in-hand with a cool, cloudy, chilly fall day.  Nothing better than snuggling up some place warm with a nice, big bowl of hot soup!  (And even better, the one near my home has a nice fireplace, so that is my ideal place to park myself!)

 panera

But I think what my favorite part about eating in the fall are baked goods and desserts.  Oh.my.goodness.gracious.  There are so many baked goods that I love love love.

My mom has two recipes that I look forward to her making every year!  They are to.die.for.  One is her famous zucchini bread and the other is her pumpkin chocolate chip loaf 🙂  I am dying just thinking of them!  I usually hate nuts in baked goods (or ice cream) and will never have anything with nuts in it…but, my mom always makes her zucchini bread with walnuts and that is the ONLY thing that I will make an exception for.  I admittedly would prefer it without, but it is too good to pass up!

baked goods

The rest of my treats are all seasonal flavors of pumpkin and apple goodies!  Apple cider donuts, pumpkin pie parfaits, pumpkin dip, and pumpkin pudding dirt cups are all on the must-eat list for this fall.  My best friend actually had the GENIUS idea of making dirt cups with pumpkin pudding!  That’s why I love her 😉

fall treats

And of course, fall would not be fall without a generous amount of apple cider (hot and cold!!!)

apple-cider

I can’t wait!  Fall, here we come!  Ready to get my eatin’ on 😉

I love fall

 
10 Comments

Posted by on September 11, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “What I Wanna Eat (And Make) in the Fall

  1. liftsleepeat

    September 11, 2013 at 6:15 pm

    Ooh yum! I’ve got a pumpkin parfait for breakfast waiting in the fridge for breakfast tomorrow…can’t wait!
    I’ve never made zucchini bread before but love the sound of yours!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      September 11, 2013 at 11:12 pm

      Oh it is amazing!! I highly recommend it! If you want, I’d even be willing to share my mom’s fab recipe 😉

       
  2. princessbunnycakes

    September 12, 2013 at 3:41 am

    Such a pleasure to read your posts. I agree with you on the no-nuts-in-desserts preference, but anything homemade by Mom is ALWAYS an exception to ANY rule. Fall is definitely a warm-and-cozy time. I definitely prefer the warmer weather and long days of summer, but I see Fall’s appeal.

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      September 12, 2013 at 11:56 am

      You are so right! My mom actually surprised me with a loaf of her pumpkin chocolate chip bread last night! 😀 Mmm, mother always knows what a daughter is craving! 😉

       
  3. Juli

    September 13, 2013 at 10:54 am

    Apple Cider with cinnamon is so great! I love fall and I am so happy to have my fall recipes back 🙂

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      September 13, 2013 at 11:41 am

      I know! It’s one of my favorite seasons to really enjoy the food and drink that goes along with it. It seems like the only season that really has a lot of tasty treats that go along with it!!

       
      • Juli

        September 13, 2013 at 12:05 pm

        I absolutely feel the same. I think that has to do with all the cozyness in fall 🙂

         
      • Little Miss Fit

        September 13, 2013 at 12:09 pm

        Ahh you are so right! Fall is so cozy! Sometimes I just love those days where it’s cool, cloudy and gloomy out and all you want to do is stay cuddled up inside with candles lit, maybe a tasty treat baking in the oven, and a good book to read 🙂

         
  4. Kaitlin

    September 14, 2013 at 1:17 pm

    I have heard how good apple cider doughnuts are! Ah I must try them 🙂

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      September 14, 2013 at 2:20 pm

      They are absolutely delicious! I’m not a huge donut fan, but I totally make an exception for those! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
