RSS

What I’ve been enjoying lately (WIAW)

02 Oct

Hey loves.  Wednesday is here, which means we are plugging right through the week.  (yay!)  I don’t know about all of ya’ll, but the weather here has been absolutely fabulous.  It seems like summer is trying to hold on yet.  The last 5 days have been sunny and in the 70s and 80s.  Absolutely love it!  Don’t get me wrong, I do love fall and am ready to accept that fall is here, but I will take all of these gorgeous days while I can, before they’re gone for like the next 6 months (no lies, it’s Wisconsin – our winters last through April or May)

Image

Life has been pretty rocky lately.  As I mentioned in my last post, things have been rough with the realization that my marriage is ending.  But, I’ve been doing the best I can to try and keep thinking as positively as possible.  I need to try and be as strong as possible now and focused on my own health and happiness, not letting anything prevent me from being who I am as a person.  I need to keep my focus on whatever good I can and try to see the positives that can come in the long-term from this situation.

So let’s keep things light today and not get too heavyOn to the food! 😀

I’ve enjoyed some super tasty eats lately and want to share some of my favorites and some of the highlights!

I have been loving sushi for SO long now.  I seriously eat some sushi every week.  Not gunna lie!  A local grocery store carries Hissho Sushi.  They make the sushi fresh daily and Wednesdays, a lot of their sushi is only $5.00.  Heck.yes.  Plus they have a huge assortment of spring rolls, gyoza, and for those daring enough to try it…baby octopus or squid salad.  I haven’t been that adventurous… 😛

Image

I have been digging anything and everything pumpkin!  Mmm, yes please!  I seriously can’t get enough and these three have become my favorite things to munch on lately.  Can’t get enough.  The M & M’s have been one of my favorites; especially when I’m in the mood for something chocolate-y and pumpkin-y.  Quick fix.  🙂

Image

In keeping up with the theme of pumpkin and talking about fabulous tasty treats, this past weekend my parents and I split a pumpkin pie crepe.  It was so heavenly.  The ice cream inside (pumpkin, of course) was so rich and creamy and it was paired so nicely with the crepe.  Mmm.  We already talked about going back there this fall just to have another!

Image

I also got to make an amazing cookie recipe this past weekend to really bring home the whole ‘fall’ food flavored goodies.  Caramel apple oatmeal cookies.  I am planning on making another batch this week if I can because they went SO fast.  They are the softest, chewiest cookies I’ve ever made and they literally just melt in your mouth!  Mmm.  So sweet, but not overwhelmingly so.  Definitely found a winner of a recipe.

ImageImage

Image

I figured it’s always a good thing to end on a sweet note 😉  Happy Wednesday to you all and I hope you have a great rest of your week ❤

Image

 
15 Comments

Posted by on October 2, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

15 responses to “What I’ve been enjoying lately (WIAW)

  1. eatrunlivehappy

    October 2, 2013 at 1:10 pm

    Pumpkin is great but I am all about fall apples! I saw the M and M’s but I just wasn’t sure about them. I’m looking forward to some candy corn and peanuts! Maybe some homemade caramel apples this year. Those cookies look great! Happy WIAW!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      October 2, 2013 at 11:34 pm

      Apples are definitely a close second! I don’t think you can ever go wrong with a great homemade caramel apple…they are just too good! 🙂

       
  2. Jessie

    October 2, 2013 at 1:15 pm

    I had no idea things with your marriage weren’t doing well. I’m so sorry to hear hunnie. Please know you are in my prayers, always! ❤ Stay strong and continue smiling.

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      October 2, 2013 at 11:34 pm

      Thank you so much, Jessie! I appreciate that more than you know!

       
  3. Lauren S (@BreatheBlog)

    October 2, 2013 at 1:27 pm

    Those M&Ms are dangerous. My bf and I went through a bag way to quickly. I need to find those almonds though-yum!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      October 2, 2013 at 11:35 pm

      I know, right?! They are just so tasty and easy to munch on. I found the almonds at Walmart surprisingly enough. That’s actually the only place I’ve seen them!

       
  4. di @ life of di.

    October 2, 2013 at 1:28 pm

    Those Carmel Apple Oatmeal Cookies look SO good! What a wonderful combination. Also, it is great to hear and see that you are maintaining a positive attitude. The end of your marriage does not mean the end of you. It is only the end of one chapter as you move on to the next. Keep trying to stay strong and pushing forward. ❤

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      October 2, 2013 at 11:36 pm

      Girl, they are the BEST cookies. I was so surprised how well they turned out!

      Thank you! I know it’s easy to get down and focus on all the negatives; especially when they negatives are so prevalent, but I need to do my best to keep focused on the future and moving forward now.

       
  5. Kaitlin

    October 2, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    Wow I can’t believe how the entire food industry has created goodies to meet our pumpkin pleasure! I should look for those M&Ms!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      October 2, 2013 at 11:37 pm

      I got them at Target. I’ll warn you…they are addictive! 🙂

       
  6. Julie

    October 2, 2013 at 6:00 pm

    I’m surprised by the pumpkin M&Ms. They weren’t bad. I’m still waiting and searching for the pumpkin almonds.

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      October 2, 2013 at 11:38 pm

      Mmm I love the M & Ms 😀 I got the almonds at Walmart, of all places. I haven’t seen them anywhere else, either. Maybe they’ll be out in more stores soon?!

       
  7. Juli

    October 4, 2013 at 7:54 am

    Caramel apple oatmeal cookies – this is the cookie of my dreams!!!!!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      October 4, 2013 at 10:39 am

      Girl you would LOVE it! I can hook you up with the recipe if you’d like?! 🙂

       
      • Juli

        October 4, 2013 at 10:46 am

        yes please! I need that recipe 😀

         

Leave a comment