RSS

What I ate while I was away on my mini-two-day-vacay

09 Oct

Hello lovelies, it’s Wednesday which means it’s time again to hook up with Jenn over at Peas & Crayons!  For this week, I thought I’d share some of the fun treats I had while I was away this past weekend on my mini vacation with my parents in Galena, Illinois!  After much debating and going back-and-forth about whether  or not to go, I finally decided that going away for a little while would be good for me.  trgffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffff (Dexter LITERALLY walked right on my keyboard at the very moment I was typing, and plopped himself down.  Don’t worry, I took pictures! ;))

2013-10-07 02.59.44

Anyway, as I was saying before Dexter so rudely interrupted me, I had decided that it would be good to go away for a couple days with my parents and to try and have a good, fun time with them.  My parents have been fabulous to me the last couple weeks and I knew they would do everything in their power to make this a nice and enjoyable time for me.  They definitely did not let me down.

We left first thing on Sunday morning (after I had a fabulous Saturday)  I started the day off well with some pumpkin pie yogurt I got yesterday paired with some granola.  Mmmm!

2013-10-05 03.21.46

The morning started off nice and sunny.  We looked ahead for the forecast for the weather out in Galena and it was supposed to be right around 60 and sunny.  It sounded like it would be a perfect fall day!  Well the further west we drove, the cloudier it got, until there was nothing but dark, fall clouds in the sky.  😦  My stomach was feeling off all day, too, so I was starting to wonder if we had made the right choice in going.  By the time we go there, it was chilly and probably only in the mid 50s…AND breezy.  But, we were determined to have a nice time anyway, so we bundled ourselves up and made our way into town.

Galena is such a cute, quaint, old town with TONS of shops.  We totally took advantage of all of the nice warm shops and visited as many as we could to warm up and keep cozy from the cool, damp weather outside.  I wish I would have taken more pictures, but I did not dress warm enough and it was downright chill-ay.

galena

I seriously think the highlights were all of the specialty food stores they had!  It was absolutely amazing.  We didn’t really stop for lunch, but it worked out in our favor because all of the stores had samples and we also picked up quite a few goodies too!  We stopped at a place called GG II where we sampled all sorts of dips and spreads!  They had fresh caramel apple cider, caramel apple dip, pumpkin butter, a raspberry jalapeno jelly (I was surprised how tasty it was!  Sweet with an after bite of spicy!)  We tried all sorts of dips which are from Country Home Creations and they were fabulous!  I got a pumpkin dip mix (of course!)

dips

2013-10-07 01.29.24

We also went to the Great American Popcorn Co.  This store is all the rage.  I smelled this place from about a block away, which drew my hungry belly to enter.  We had been to this place before and it is a huge huge deal.  They are super popular..giving out free samples (heck, yes!) and having like a bazillion different popcorn flavors.  Literally.  Check out all of these flavors!

popcorn mum

On top of popcorn they have candy, too.  My dad was on a mission to get some pineapple Jelly Belly jelly beans so he was THRILLED when they had that flavor there.  Plus they had some really awesome old fashioned sodas there too.  It was an all around really neat store and place to check out (and get some tasty nibbles!)  I grabbed a bag of their Memphis BBQ popcorn.  All in all, the stuff is really tasty, but to me, a little on the pricey side.  This small little big was 6 bucks.  I was going to go for the pumpkin spice because, you know, I’m obsessed with pumpkin anything right now…but the same size bag as this in that flavor was $10.00.  No thanks.

gapco

We stopped at Galena’s Kandy Kitchen, too.  🙂  They had so many candies!  I immediately knew what I wanted!  I am a HUGE HUGE HUGE salt water taffy fan!  It is probably one of my absolute favorite candies.  This place is known for their barrels of taffy to choose from (which I think may actually have been one of the first places I ever tried salt water taffy) so I dug right in!  They also had probably any other candy you could think of!  My mom is a huge gummy bear fan so she snatched some of those.  (They were the perfect type of gummy bear too, nice and fresh and super flavorful and gummy)  If you can’t tell, I have quite the sweet-tooth! 😛

kandykitchen4

taffy taftaftaf

We also stopped at the Galena Cellars Winery and got a couple bottles of wine.  The one I was most excited about was their spiced apple wine which you can either serve chilled or warmed up!  I definitely think I will be warming up mine 🙂

Well it seemed to be getting darker and chillier the more the day went on….with the wind picking up.  But, needless to say, we were still having a good time.  We finished up at the shops and decided we’d unload all of the goodies we picked up in the car…then make our way to our dinner destination for an early dinner.  On our way back to the car, it started to drizzle and get really windy.  It was downright cold and so damp.  Plus, I was NOT prepared for any rain, so I was wearing the absolute worst shoes for walking in the rain…and my feet ended up getting soaking wet.  😦

But at that point, at least we were going to be walking back towards town and going for dinner, somewhere nice and warm and dry.  Plus, I already knew I was going to get a nice hot cup of decaf coffee to warm up with!  Before even coming to Galena, we already decided upon where we’d go for dinner…or rather, my dad did.  My dad loves chicken marsala, and they make it wonderfully there…so we always stop there now.

vinnys

After dinner, we decided we had enough of the cold, dreary, damp and now rainy weather and headed to our hotel to just relax for the night.  We made our way back early Monday morning (since the three of us are early risers).  We were going to stop somewhere to take a hike on the way home, but it was really chilly in the morning and figured with the rain it would have been all muddy on the trails…so we just headed straight home.  I actually didn’t mind that too much because the day ended up being absolutely gorgeous back home.  I ran a few errands, went for a nice hike and then was able to sit out on the balcony with my main-man, Dexter, and just enjoy the sunshine!  (I even threw on a pair of shorts!!!)

outside

The weather was gorgeous and the sun felt so good!  Dexter was so entranced by a little lady bug, and at one point even started licking the thing!  Of course, the minute I got up from my spot, Dexter took it!  Always, always.  We had a good afternoon together though as he loves the balcony.  Our weather has been just amazing here lately!  Sunny and 70s!  🙂

Well hope you all have a wonderful Wednesday, full of great eats, and have a great rest of your week!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 9, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “What I ate while I was away on my mini-two-day-vacay

  1. princessbunnycakes

    October 10, 2013 at 2:34 am

    I’m glad to read you made the most of your Sunday. You’re definitely a girl after my own heart—I looooove sunshine and warmth. I SORT OF see the cozy, gloomy allure of rainy fall days, but mostly I want to wear comfy cotton shorts year-round and frolic in the sunshine till 9 p.m.

    Pumpkin pie yogurt sounds faaaaaabulous. You know what would be great with it if you ever want to change it up from granola? Crumbled graham crackers. It’s like a super fancy deconstructed pie, basically.

    I love specialty food shops. I was born a picky eater, then from there developed a short list of “safe foods” and a restrictive diet due to the ED, so it really helps to discover new and delicious food out in the world. It keeps me from getting exasperated with eating altogether, because I think we all reach a point where we’re sick of our safe foods and all the foods available. Plus, I love samples because the limited quantity makes me feel fine with trying all sorts of new things that expand my food comfort levels. Tell me it’s “just a bite,” and suddenly I’m a-ok with everything from scallions to cinnamon peanut brittle. Peanut butter bite popcorn sounds like it’d be amazing.

    I hope the sunshine lasts for you, and it’s heartwarming to hear that you parents and lil precocious kitten (because he’ll allllllways be YOUR kitten) are coming through for you. Alllllll my love!!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      October 10, 2013 at 12:27 pm

      I totally know what you mean. There are times when I do, admittedly, crave a cold, rainy, fall day…just so I can have it be an excuse to stay in, cuddle up on the couch with a hot cup of coffee, and read (and not feel like I’m wasting a perfectly good day inside) But I love the sunshine and warmth. Sadly, living in Wisconsin, we have a really short window of time where the weather is really great. But that does make me enjoy it all the more when we actually have gorgeous weather.

      Oh.my.gosh! You are a genius! I love the idea of graham crackers crumbled up in the yogurt! Thanks for the suggestion! I will DEFINITELY try that! 😀

      I totally agree with you, too. The little bites here and there is something that I was known for. I NEVER wanted to have a full this or full that…but I’d always take a bite or two of someone else’s just to try it. That slowly helped me expand my horizons and jump out of the ‘safe foods only’ mindset. However, I still don’t feel comfortable having things in their entirety yet…but in time hopefully so.

       

Leave a Reply

 
