RSS

WIAW: All the Baked Goods!

16 Oct

Hey-hey-hey it’s Wednesday which means it’s food day (ahem, What I Ate Wednesday) and time to link up with Jenn over at Peas & Crayons!  For this week I thought I would focus on all of the tasty baked goods I’ve been enjoying lately, because there have been many.  I am a sucker for sweets.

Image

Yep, that’s me! Pretty cute, huh? 😉

I have been munch munch munching on a lot of sweet treats since fall began…not sure if it’s because I’m a sucker for fall-flavored goodies, there’s something just comforting about something hot from the oven, or if I’m just a crazy sugar-lovin’-lady, but whatever the reason, I’ve been enjoying it!

My Mom’s Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

2013-10-08 08.30.15 2013-10-08 08.38.48

This is a favorite of my whole family and I’ve even been nice crazy enough to share this with other people!  (Usually just my co-worker because we always share food with each other…the BEST co-worker ever!)  You can get the tasty recipe here, as my mom was totally willing to share!

I also recently made another fabulous recipe that I shared earlier this week.  This was one of those recipes you make when you have those overly ripe bananas.  I don’t know what happened, but the bunch of naners I got from the store got ripe SUPER quick, so I had four bananas that I needed to use up.  The recipe I found took care of three of them, which wasn’t too bad at all!

pic2 pic1

These suckers went quick!  They are super simple and super tasty.  My mom even mentioned that they tasted like banana bread, only in the form of a cookie and she is absolutely right.

Speaking of sharing food with my co-worker (hehe)…my co-worker presented me with a special treat!  We both share a love of Great Harvest Bread Co. and he knows just how much I love anything pumpkin-y, so he snagged me a pumpkin pecan pull apart bread!  I am a huge fan of their cinnamon pecan pull apart bread, but this is a special seasonal bread and it was delicious!

pecan pull apart

I made another fabulous fall-flavored treat.  Caramel Apple Oatmeal Cookies!  I think these were my favorite cookies that I’ve made before and were seriously the BIGGEST HIT!  I made them especially for my dad because he loves caramel apple flavored anything.  He was so surprised when I brought them over for him and loved them!  So I thought I would share these fabulous recipe today!

Caramel Apple Oatmeal Cookies

  • 1 ½ cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 ½ cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ¾ cup Splenda (for baking)
  • ¾ cup Splenda sugar blend
  • 6 tablespoons margarine
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg
  • ¾ cup finely chopped granny smith apple
  • ¾ cup caramel candies, chopped

Directions:

1)       Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2)       Combine flour and next 4 ingredients (through salt) into bowl; stir well.

3)       Place sugars and margarine in a large bowl; beat with a mixer at medium speed until light and fluffy.  Add vanilla and egg; beat with mixer.  Gradually add flour mixture; beat at low speed until just combined.  Fold in apple and caramel pieces.

4)       Drop dough by 2 teaspoonfuls 2 inches apart onto baking sheets lined with parchment paper.  Flatten balls slightly and bake at 350 degrees for 9 minutes.  Cool on pans for 3 minutes.  Remove cookies from pans, cool completely on wire racks.

collage1

collage2

2013-09-28 06.32.18 (2) 2013-09-28 06.32.25 (2) 2013-09-28 06.51.46 (2)

So pretty and oh-so-tasty!  I seriously can’t emphasize this enough…this is a recipe you MUST try!  If you’re disappointed, you can come and yell at me, seriously.  I don’t think anyone could be disappointed with this one!

Well I hope you all have a wonderful Wednesday, full of good eats and good times.  I’ll end on a rather humorous note 🙂

1

 
13 Comments

Posted by on October 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “WIAW: All the Baked Goods!

  1. Kim @ BusyBod

    October 16, 2013 at 9:34 am

    I am SUCH a sucker for sweets. It’s a problem in my life but I’ve made my peace with it. And seriously, everyone knows the batter is the best part 🙂

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      October 16, 2013 at 12:07 pm

      Right?! I could literally eat all of the batter up and not even get to making the cookies! 😛

       
  2. di @ life of di.

    October 16, 2013 at 11:26 am

    There are only a few things I love more than a yummy chocolate chip banana bread in the fall 🙂 I know it doesn’t have the pumpkin included; however, it just reminds me of my childhood. My mom actually never made this kind for us but I had a few friends whose moms would always bake a load for our afternoon snack! Yum!!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      October 16, 2013 at 12:08 pm

      There is just something so comforting and tasty about a fresh baked good! I bet those were some good treats. Moms just have that baking talent 🙂

       
  3. di @ life of di.

    October 16, 2013 at 11:26 am

    **loaf 🙂

     
  4. Juli

    October 16, 2013 at 11:34 am

    YAY – I have to try them asap!!!! Next week latest. haha the ecard is really funny! Could be me 😉

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      October 16, 2013 at 12:08 pm

      Haha I was thinking of you when I FINALLY got to post this recipe! I told you it would come eventually! 🙂

       
  5. Jamie @ Sometimes Healthy Living Blog

    October 16, 2013 at 12:50 pm

    Yum, these cookies look perfect for my taste buds. I’ve been wanting to bake with caramel forever!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      October 16, 2013 at 12:53 pm

      You will definitely love this recipe if you try it! I promise you that! 🙂

       
  6. jessielovestorun

    October 17, 2013 at 4:05 am

    I don’t eat sweets to often, but I could go for every single recipe you should here. YUM!

     
  7. Julie @ A Warrior and A Nurse

    December 3, 2013 at 8:19 pm

    I think you know you’ve succeeded at creating an excellent food blog post when you get your reader to salivate. As it is, I’ve been looking for a new treat to try making. I’m not exactly an expert when it comes to cooking, so I will be trying out your caramel apple oatmeal cookies in the near future. It’s just a few small alterations to a recipe I’m fairly familiar with, so it should go over well!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      December 4, 2013 at 12:23 am

      Haha thanks! Those cookies are seriously to die for! I think I’ll have to whip up another batch soon again 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
