RSS

Focusing on the Marvelous (MIMM)

27 Oct

It feels like I have been a stranger in the blogging world lately!  It’s been quite a while since I’ve taken the time to sit down and write.  Part of me has been pretty much failing to find any words worth typing.  I’ve lost a bit of my inspiration and desire lately…plus I’ve been pretty busy and just let other things take precedent over blogging.  But that being said, I miss it…a lot.  Blogging was one thing I did for myself and really benefit from and when I started crowding it out of my life, I felt the difference.  I didn’t feel as connected or rooted in my life.  I think blogging gives me time to just focus on my life and what’s going on, instead of running around like a crazy person.  It centers me and grounds me.

Image

So I will probably try to get into a deeper post in the near future, but for now, I’ll share some happiness highlights and hook up with Katie over at Healthy Diva Eats for my favorite link-up of the week…Marvelous in My Monday.  So without further ado, let’s get this party started…

Marvelous is taking a half day on Friday to go meet up with my brother and his wife for the afternoon.  Our initial plans kind of fell apart, but we still made the best of it and ended up having a really fun time, after all.  We went to the Urban Ecology Center in Milwaukee and took a wonderful hike.  The weather couldn’t have been more perfect for a hike.  It was sunny, windy, and around 45-50 degrees.  After hiking, the initial cool breeze felt really welcomed and helped keep us comfortable for our hike.

Image

Image

After our hike, we went for a late lunch.  Marvelous is…a big bowl of PHO!  My brother loves loves loves pho.  🙂  Jessa also got a durian smoothie…a very marvelous treat for her.  Durian is a fruit from back home in the Philippines which is a much-loved food that is eaten very often there.  But the catch?!  It is the MOST disgusting thing EVER.  The stench of it is so repulsive and the taste…oh…the taste is awful.  For anyone who does not live there and grows up with it, you would never in a million years have the taste for it.  If you are curious about just how stinky it is…check out this short video on youtube.  It is so worth it.  I laughed SO hard.

Image

Image

I love this picture.  I think it’s because of the naturalness of it.  No forced smiles, no staged appearances.  Just…natural.  They’re diving into the limes right now haha

We had a really fun afternoon together.  It was definitely a much needed break from work and a great distraction from all the other stuff going on in my life right now.  That evening, I went over by my parents for a bit to watch NYPD Blue, then my brother and Jessa came over by my place to watch Full House.  Jessa caught a few episodes and loved it…and obviously my brother and I grew up with it, so it was fun to watch it again.  It’s a cute show.

Saturday was pretty marvelous.  I slept in late (9:15, I’m talking…and that is late for me!)  I had a slow start, just drinking my coffee.  Then headed out to Target.  I ended up hitting the jackpot!  I have been looking for some pants for work for the looooongest time.  Me being short, I can’t find pants that aren’t baggy at my feet.  All the pants I had been finding were either baggy in the legs, baggy by my feet, or baggy in my toosh area.  But I FINALLY found some pants that fit me perfectly!  I snatched as many as I could snag! 🙂  Plus I got some really snuggly sweaters.  I am such a huge fan of sweaters! 🙂  So it was a huge success!

Image

After that I met up with a dear friend of mine that I haven’t seen in so long.  She was actually a bridesmaid in my wedding.  Marvelous is…catching up with an old friend over coffee.  This was the first chance I had to tell her about the divorce and she was so wonderfully supportive.  I am so glad we had a chance to get together and talk.  She’s a dear friend and I hope I’m able to spend more time with her instead of letting life get in the way.

Image

I spent the rest of my day and night with myself.  It was actually much needed.  I did some tae bo.  Guys, I have seriously MISSED tae bo.  This used to be my go-to workout back in the day, and I hadn’t done it in forever.  But man-oh-man did I miss it and it is SUCH a good workout!  I’ve been doing it as much as I can the last week and I am loving it.  Not only is it a great workout but it is super therapeutic, too!  Billy Blanks is the man! 🙂

Image

After my workout, I decided to whip up a batch of these fabulous cookies!  I made some changes to the original recipe, but only small tweaks.  Nom nom nom.  I seriously could have eaten the whole batch of cookie dough and not made the cookies.  Marvelous is…baking and having the WHOLE house smell like pumpkin!

ImageImage

After making my cookies, I was going to run to the store to grab some sushi for din din…but before I left, I saw how gorgeous the sky was looking, so I grabbed my camera before I hit the road.  That was the best decision I could have made.  I ended up driving and driving and driving just taking in the gorgeous sunset.  It started off beautifully, then just got more gorgeous as time went on.  I drove around some hilly areas near where I live just to try and get the best views I could.  It was not an expected outing, but I really enjoyed it…and got some gorgeous shots, too!  Marvelous is…unexpected journeys and gorgeous sunsets.

Image

After returning home from my escapade and the grocery store, I hunkered down on the couch with a book I recently got from Amazon, Lessons from the End of a Marriage, by Lisa Arends.  I am so so so happy that this wonderful lady found one of my blog posts and made contact with me.  That allowed me to find her blog and receive such hope and inspiration.  Her story is absolutely heartbreaking.  I was in such shock when I started reading about what happened to her and knew I needed to get her book.  I can’t wait to keep reading and follow her on her journey of processing the loss of her husband in the worst way possible, picking up the pieces, moving forward, and becoming a better and stronger person in the end.  It also shows me that others can truly identify with what I’m going through and that if they are able to come out on the other side, I most certainly can, too!

Image

I spent the remainder of the evening watching Knocked Up, which was actually a pretty good movie!  I was pleasantly surprised.  Sunday morning was another lazy start to the day, filled with blogging and drinking coffee. The rest of the day consisted of errands, laundry, a visit to church {(more on that at another time)} a nice walk outside, and the Packers game!

Hope you all had a lovely weekend and a Marvelous Monday!!! ❤

 
14 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “Focusing on the Marvelous (MIMM)

  1. jessielovestorun

    October 28, 2013 at 3:31 am

    You are beautiful, Darling! I know things may be hard at the moment – but you’ll come out stronger than ever ❤ ❤ Continue smiling!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      October 28, 2013 at 12:17 pm

      Thanks, girl! I know you’re absolutely right. I just need to keep pushing forward ❤

       
  2. Ksenija @ With An Open Mind

    October 28, 2013 at 10:09 am

    Happy to hear that you work on having a positive outlook! Looks like you had a truly marvelous weekend. Keep your head high, girl. Lots of love from Germany

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      October 28, 2013 at 12:17 pm

      Thanks Kesenija! I’m feelin’ the lovin’ from Germany 🙂

       
  3. Davida @The Healthy Maven

    October 28, 2013 at 11:06 am

    So many marvelous thing!!! Marvelous for me is also baking. I made pumpkin cornbread yesterday and it was amazing!

    Ditto to Jessie’s comment. Love can be overwhelming and throw some serious curveballs, but there is always a lesson to be learned. And you can only come out stronger from it!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      October 28, 2013 at 12:18 pm

      Anything baking and pumpkin related is always a win, am I right?! Mmm pumpkin cornbread?? Yum!!

      You’re absolutely right. I’m learning so many things about myself, my wants, and relationships…while it isn’t easy now, I know in the long run I will be a better and stronger person!

       
  4. Katie @ Live Half Full

    October 28, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    I love you positive attitude. Hang in there lady, you’ll get through this and come out in a better place.

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      October 28, 2013 at 11:06 pm

      Thanks, Katie! I’m doing my best to keep my chin up 🙂

       
  5. Amanda @ .running with spoons.

    October 29, 2013 at 2:27 am

    Hugs, girlie ❤ A lot of people seem to be feeling a bit of a funk lately — I took a lot of time off from blogging last week, too, because the motivation and creativity was seriously lacking. But there's nothing like a little bit of baking (and eating 😉 ) to boost a bad mood.

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      October 29, 2013 at 2:40 am

      Thanks, dear. You are so right..a sweet treat makes everything just a little bit better 🙂

       
  6. Racing Bananas

    October 29, 2013 at 3:26 pm

    Sounds like a fun weekend 🙂 Nothing like some good retail therapy too! Yay for having such a positive attitude!

     
  7. di @ life of di.

    October 30, 2013 at 1:52 am

    Half days of work are always so great! I love the feeling of leaving work when everyone else is still working 🙂 Really is marvelous!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      October 30, 2013 at 2:44 am

      You are absolutely right. It’s definitely a good feeling to be the only one leaving while everyone else is busy at work. muahaha 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
