RSS

What I Ate : Weird Food Habits

06 Nov

I thought I’d have a little fun with this weeks’ What I Ate Wednesday link-up hosted by Jenn over at Peas & Crayons.  We all have our weird, quirky, some-what bizarre eating habits and preferences (I know I’m not the only one!)  So today I thought I’d share some of my weird food quirks with you guys. 🙂

1. I MUST have granola in my yogurt.  I never eat yogurt plain.

granola-n-yogurt

Granted, I do love the taste of just plain yogurt, but it is just 1000 times better with granola.  So, why settle for something that is good when you can have something better!  Am I right?!

2. I will never eat soggy cereal.

BowlA-510x652

I just discovered that something this genius is actually for sale!  What a smart idea.  The thought of soggy cereal is just gross to me.  I need to have it crunchy.  My usual way of eating cereal is to pour milk in a mug and add just a smidge bit of cereal at a time, continuing to add more.  That way, I get the crunchy cereal with no sogginess!  While we’re on the topic of cereal…

3.  I love when my cereal sticks together.

2013-10-27 00.02.31

Guys, for some reason this just is something I love.  And yes, I did pour a box of cheerios into a bowl to look for some pairs.  🙂  These suckers are all stuck together and I love when I find these.  Every now and then, something like this happens…

2013-10-27 00.05.42

All I can say is ‘WHOA’!  😉

4.  I won’t eat regular potato chips.

chips

These are probably the worst chips in the world.  I will never eat these flimsy, paper-thin chips.  I am a HUGE fan of baked kettle chips.  Specifically the ones that I are folded over or stuck together (extra crunch!)  My favorite flavor is barbeque.  Mmm.  I even go so far as to pick out the folded chips from a bag and leave the rest for someone else…It’s a sickness, I know!

folded chips

5.  I love broken pretzels.

pretzels

Why, you may ask?  Well I only like them broken in half when I’m dipping them in hummus.  That way, I don’t have to double-dip but get enough hummus for my whole pretzel.

6.  I don’t cut my sandwiches evenly in half.

lunch

This picture (old one, sorry!) kind of shows what I’m talking about…but it can often be even more drastic than this.  The reason?  I like when I’m “half way done” with my sandwich, I still have more than half to go.  It makes me feel like my sandwich is bigger than it is because my second “half” is bigger than my first. 😛 (Plus I never cut it diagonally.)

7. String cheese must always be pulled by the “strings”.

string cheese

I know it shouldn’t bother me, but I really hate when people just take a big bite of string cheese.  That takes ALL of the fun out of STRINGcheese!  Otherwise,  just eat regular cheese, people!  It’s so much fun to pull the strings and eat it that way…just enjoy it! 😀

8.  When I eat multi-colored candy, I have to eat one of each color.

mm-537x350

My most recent example, I have to eat one green, one orange, and one brown pumpkin spice m&m…it must be even and equal. It’s like this with pretty much any multi-colored candy...

9.  When I eat ice cream, I dig out all of the “chunks” 😉

ice cream

Confession:  This is probably the way I am most selfish.  I am usually a very giving person, but when it comes to my ice cream and chunks (especially the brownie chunks in double fudge brown ice cream and the oreo pieces in cookies and cream ice cream) I am a totally selfish person.  I dig out all of the big chunks, just for ME!  What can I say?  One time, I even decided to add chocolate animal crackers to a carton of ice cream because there were simply not enough oreo chunks in the ice cream I got.  It was a perfect idea since the chocolate animal crackers tasted just like the oreo pieces! Muahaha.

Well those are my top “quirky”/selfish/weird eating preferences and habits.  I’m sure I have like a bazillion more (literally) but these are the ones that came to mind.

What about you?  Any weird, quirky eating preferences or habits?  I know I’m not the only one… 😛

wiaw fall into good habits button

 
12 Comments

Posted by on November 6, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 responses to “What I Ate : Weird Food Habits

  1. teenieyogini

    November 6, 2013 at 1:09 pm

    Hahaha! This made me laugh so much! I think we are polar opposites! I won’t eat ANYTHING crunchy. I never put anything in yogurt, pour my cereal then wait for it to get soft before eating it, only like chips that melt like baked lays, and only eat I’ve cream that is chunkless. Actually, I’m not a big fan of ice cream any way. And I never use forks.

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      November 6, 2013 at 1:15 pm

      Oh my goodness, you are absolutely right. We are complete opposites in every way mentioned! That is too funny. Gotta love preferences and variety, right?! 🙂

       
  2. Brittany @ The Fit Phoenician

    November 6, 2013 at 1:19 pm

    This is too funny- I love the sandwhich cutting!
    I don’t have many quirks, but I do prefer to make my own food. I also cannot eat yogurt plain. I put sriracha on a lot of things… And I love all things dipped in spicy ketchup 🙂

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      November 6, 2013 at 1:22 pm

      I don’t know how I even started with doing it that way…that is what is even weirder! haha.

      Mmm I am a huge ketchup fan, too. It goes well with SO many things!

       
  3. Kim @ Racing Bananas

    November 6, 2013 at 4:51 pm

    I totally bite my string cheese – I feel like a rebel when I do it! But with ice cream, I have to dig out the big chunks too! It’s like having a treat!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      November 7, 2013 at 4:11 am

      Haha Kim…you are such a rebel!

      Right?! It is the best part of ice cream!

       
  4. jessielovestorun

    November 6, 2013 at 10:16 pm

    Ha Ha Ha, I had to laugh because I’m the same way in everything you mention! Long lost separated twins maybe?

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      November 7, 2013 at 4:11 am

      Jessie, we clearly are twins that have been separated! There is no other explanation! 😛

       
  5. Kammie @ Sensual Appeal

    November 7, 2013 at 4:55 pm

    This post is just awesome! I have some of the same habits like digging the chunks out in ice cream and LOVING granola in yogurt (but I’m learning to stop doing that, I don’t need the extra sugar).

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      November 8, 2013 at 12:10 am

      The chunks are seriously the best part! I am actually trying to wean myself off of granola, too. I find that it can be irritating to my stomach. But I love it SO much!

       
  6. princessbunnycakes

    November 8, 2013 at 4:18 am

    You make some good arguments. I’m a freak of nature who LOVES soggy cereal. However, how bout this: put the extra sticky cereal in your yogurt instead of granola. Yum!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      November 8, 2013 at 1:12 pm

      That is an absolutely wonderful idea!

      P.S. Hope you’re doing well 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
