RSS

Day Eleven : Love Cherishes

20 Nov

Monday, November 18, 2013 – Day Eleven: Love Cherishes

marriage-01

It is all too common now-a-days to view marriage is something that can just be thrown away.  When problems arise, it is far too easy to just give up.  It takes constant effort and hard work in order to make a relationship last.  It’s not something that can just be “fixed” once and then it’s smooth-sailing.  It is something that requires continual work.  So when faced with either working hard and making needed changes, or just giving up, we easily choose the easier of the two options.  Yet if that is the mindset that one has, they really don’t appreciate the bond between a husband and wife.  You become part of each other when you choose to get married.

1

When you’re married and one faces success, both rejoice.  When one faces pain or hardship, both feel that pain.  Yet along the way, every couple faces challenges, disappointments, or pain.  The relationship can start to wear down.  Perhaps it’s even the realization that the person you married isn’t as perfect as you thought they were.

Yet it’s so important and vital to view your partner as someone you cherish.  To cherish means to “protect and care for (someone) lovingly.”  Life can consistently hit us with challenges and we can face things that wear on us.  Yet we should go to our partner in order to receive that protection and that care…and we should be that protection and offer that care for our partner as well.  Just as a child seeks protection and comfort in the arms of a parent, we want to view our partner similarly.

We want to treat our partners well, cherish them and speak highly of them, really showing how we value them.

The dare for day 11: 

How can you warm the heart of your spouse today?  Look for opportunities to bring warmth to the coldness in his or her life.  If possible, give them an unexpected, tender touch.  Choose a gesture that says ‘I cherish you’ and do it with sincerity.

Well since Scott and I are still not living together, we don’t get to see each other during the day.  In fact, yesterday we didn’t see each other at all.  So I came up with a silly idea.  I sent him an email…with an attachment.  I sent him a text in the evening, telling him to check his email when he got home.  The subject line was : HUG FROM ME TO YOU.  I typed up a short email telling him that I missed him and wanted to give him a hug, but obviously since we weren’t together, I couldn’t give him a real hug.  So, I drew him a picture instead. 🙂  The picture was of me running to him to give him a hug.

paint

Pretty talented gal, eh? 😛  I also asked him if it reminded him of anything.  See, this piece of artwork was inspired by something that Scott did for me while we were still dating, years ago.  I was feeling pretty sick at work one day and really was in a terrible mood.  Scott was at work, too.  He sent me a picture that he drew using Paint on the computer of him giving me a hug, a stick figure with his arms sticking out.  I always loved that silly little drawing.  It was the one thing that was able to make me laugh and smile when I felt absolutely miserable.  I wanted to return the favor 🙂

Questions for pondering:  How did you choose to show that you cherish your spouse?  What did you learn from this experience?

I chose to send him a quirky, silly email with my awesome artwork.  I learned that sometimes it’s okay to be silly in order to get Scott to smile.  We both have this amazing quirky side to us (one of the strong qualities we have in common) and things like this mean the world to us.  They’re small, little gestures to let the other person know that we’re thinking of them.  It had the exact effect I had hoped it would.  He absolutely loved it, and also remembered his drawing he made for me years ago.  Sometimes we need to let ourselves be “dorks” in a relationship.  It’s fun and innocent and just lets the person know we’re thinking of them!

Day 11 down, 29 to go!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 20, 2013 in The Love Dare, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Day Eleven : Love Cherishes

  1. Juli

    November 20, 2013 at 11:14 am

    Such a cute idea! I think I would have cryed when I got such a nice picture!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      November 20, 2013 at 1:09 pm

      Aw thanks so much hun! I was so happy he liked it! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
