RSS

What I Eat Sittin’ at My Desk

20 Nov

Happy Wednesday!  I’m FINALLY linking up with Jenn again over at Peas & Crayons for What I Ate Wednesday!!  It’s been way way wayyy too long!

wiaw fall into good habits button

Well I am a full-time workin’ gal and my desk at work is pretty much my second home.  Literally.  I spend 9 hours of my day there.  That’s a good chunk of my time.  Don’t get me wrong…I’m not glued to my chair or anything.  I get up and move around the office.  But for the majority of my time, I’m working at my desk.  So, since I’m there nine hours of my day, that means a lot of my eating takes place there.

This week has been all about eating new, different things.  Since I have abolished artificial sweeteners, gluten, and dairy from my diet, as I mentioned here, that meant I had to switch up pretty much everything I normally ate.  So this is my Tuesday eats.  This is all new territory for me, so I’m still breaking into it.  Plus, my pictures, since the majority are taken at my desk, are God-awful.  Forgive me!

bfast

Breakfast consisted of my new GF blueberry waffles, applesauce cup and some almonds.  Nom nom nom.

Breakfast did NOT hold this girl long.  I was starving shortly after.  So I went to my numero uno favorite snack!  Banana and peanut butter!

3

My stomach has started to settle a bit today.  I haven’t noticed HUGE changes yet, but I am going to stick with my new eating plans.  I know it will only help me.  I know that it has definitely pushed me out of my old eating disorder habits that I didn’t even realize I still held onto.  I have had to explore new foods and try new things.  Instead of being overwhelmed by it, I’m embracing it.  I’m actually really excited about it!  I’ve been trying so many new things and I’m loving it!  Going gluten-free has not been at all restrictive, but rather, it has opened a whole new door for me!  Which leads me to lunch…

lunch

QUINOA with sliced up turkey sausage and fresh sliced tomatoes on the side!  This week was my first experience with quinoa!  I had heard so many good things about it, but hadn’t ever tried it.  I think it’s so fun to cook!  I think I enjoyed the cooking process more than the actual taste 😛  But I really do like it.  This was a vegetable quinoa box mix, so I’ll be interested to try some other types (or just plain quinoa) and experimenting with it a bit.

Well the afternoon quickly came.  Work has been keeping me busy so far this week, which I absolutely love.  The day is over before I even know it!  On my afternoon break, I snuck outside.  It was only around 40, but the sun was out…so it felt pretty nice!  I took a shameless selfie 🙂

selfie

The day drew to a close, so I made my way home for the day.  In the car on the way home, I snick snacked on some rice chex…and when I got home I munched on some jerky.  I love jerky!

snackies

After my snicky snacking, I did one of my favorite workouts via youtube, hello Billy Blanks with my taebo lovin’ 🙂  I will forever love tae bo.  Dinner sadly went un-photographed tonight.  But I did have some egg whites and some loaded baked potato soup.  So tasty!!

I went over by my parents in the evening for a while, then came home, plopped myself down on the couch and watched some old episodes of Full House, with Dexter snuggling right on my lap.  Snack before bed will either be some carrots with hummus or some homemade applesauce from a co-worker of mine.  Mmm.

Happy Wednesday!  Hope you all have some wonderful tasty eats to share!

 
13 Comments

Posted by on November 20, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

13 responses to “What I Eat Sittin’ at My Desk

  1. Ksenija @ With An Open Mind

    November 20, 2013 at 1:15 pm

    You have peanut butter in your office? You are truly the best. And you are doing really good regarding all the restrictions you need to consider at the moment. I hope that you can pinpoint the issue behind your stomach woes soon!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      November 20, 2013 at 1:30 pm

      Hahaha oh yes! I have regular peanut butter and cinnamon raisin swirl peanut butter in my desk. A girl needs her peanut butter stash in order to get through the day at work! 🙂

      I’m really glad I’m taking it seriously and committing to it. I’m hopeful that I will see noticeable improvements as the time goes on and be able to stay on track with it, especially if I notice that I feel better as a result!

       
  2. Heidie Makes

    November 20, 2013 at 3:03 pm

    Can’t believe you have peanut butter at your desk,I think I should’ve kept some snacks too in my last office job!:D thanks for the tip!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      November 21, 2013 at 4:06 am

      It is seriously a necessity for my desk! I can’t imagine not having it. It’s my go-to goody! 🙂

       
      • Heidie Makes

        November 22, 2013 at 6:46 pm

        cool 😀

         
  3. Leigha @ Minougirl

    November 20, 2013 at 5:16 pm

    Bananas and peanut butter is the best combo ever! I recently tried quinoa for the first time too. Why did I wait so long ?! IT’s so good!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      November 21, 2013 at 4:06 am

      It is one of my favorites! I absolutely LOVE it. Such a great pairing!

      I know, I can’t believe it took me so long to get on the quinoa-bandwagon! 🙂

       
  4. Julie

    November 20, 2013 at 8:06 pm

    I miss waffles – haven’t had one in sooo long!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      November 21, 2013 at 4:07 am

      I love them, too! I used to eat them all the time in the past and it was so nice to reintroduce them again! I definitely suggest that you have them again soon!!!

       
  5. jessielovestorun

    November 21, 2013 at 1:47 am

    If you weren’t a fan of quinoa’s taste, try cooking it in vegetable broth girl 🙂

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      November 21, 2013 at 4:08 am

      That is a really good idea. I’ll definitely try that! Thanks girl!

       
  6. Juli @ 1000lovelythings

    November 21, 2013 at 7:53 am

    I have a (not so) secret drawer with peanut butter in my office too! Whenever I feel like my packed food is not enough to bring me through the day I just get a banana and smear some pb on it! I have plain and crunchy salty pb in my drawer! Sometimes it’s a life saver 🙂

    I hope you feel better sonn and changing your diet pays off! Have a lovely day 🙂

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      November 21, 2013 at 12:57 pm

      Ah I see I am not alone! It’s such a great thing to keep in case you get hungry! Peanut butter is the perfect I’m-hungry-but-it’s-not-lunch-time-yet snack! 😀

      Thanks, girly! I’m really trying to be optimistic about it!

       

Leave a Reply

 
