RSS

Day Fifteen : Love is Honorable

23 Nov

Friday, November 22, 2013 – Day 15: Love is Honorable

 new2

Think of the one person you respect above everyone else.  If you had the chance to meet this person or spend the day with them, how would you feel?  You would obviously feel very privileged to have that opportunity.  You would listen intently to what they said; if they asked you to do something, you would do everything in your power to make sure you could do so.  This is how honor can be best described.

When you show some honor, you give them respect and hold them in high esteem and you treat them as if they’re special and of high value to you.  You are cautious about what you say and how you say it.  You are very courteous.  When they speak to you, their words have weight and value to you.  You will take whatever steps, no matter how they may inconvenience you, to accommodate them.  In order to have a healthy and strong marriage, it is essential that we show honor.

If we show honor, we want to give them our full, undivided attention.  If there are decisions that are being made, we need to put weight and value on their opinions and allow them to voice them to us freely and non-judgmentally.  Honor also goes hand-in-hand with holiness, in that you view it as sacred or cherished, placing a high value on it.  If someone is ‘holy’ to us, they are sacred, someone we show more honor to, praise more, and defend quickly.  This also means that no one else will receive as much commitment from us.  There is nothing that can compare to the relationship you have.

Love acts positively; it doesn’t react negatively.  Even if you may feel that honor is not due to your significant other, you still give it freely.  Love chooses to show honor, even if it is not returned.  The Love Dare stated this, “that’s what love dares to do – to say, “Of all the relationships I have, I will value ours the most.  Of all the people for whom I’m willing to sacrifice, I will sacrifice the most for you.  With all your failures, sins, mistakes, and faults – past and present – I still choose the God-honoring way to a better marriage and a better life.  I choose to love and honor you.”  It is under this mentality that you choose to have your love be rekindled and lead your heart back to truly loving your spouse again.

 love-is-a-choice

The dare for day 15:

Choose to begin showing greater honor to your spouse above your normal tendency.  Begin by listening more attentively and respectfully to your husband or wife.  Let your mate see how you give greater weight to their words and requests.  Show that he or she is receiving higher esteem in your eyes than before.

Questions for pondering: How did you choose to show honor?  What was the result?  What are some other ways you could demonstrate honor in the coming days?

Well I chose to show honor by really listening to Scott.  He wanted to talk to me about something that he’s been working at for quite a long time at work.  It’s been an ongoing project for quite some time and he finally made a break and hopefully nearing a resolution.  He’s a design engineer for a hydraulics company (which is something I know absolutely nothing about.)  I’ve often times in the past had no real desire to draw him out in conversation about his job and the things he works on simply because I don’t get it…and having him talk about things that are completely foreign to me is taxing.  But I know that it’s something that is an interest of his and that he really loves and enjoys, so I do want to start really listening to him and asking questions.  So that’s what I did.

I let him explain things to me and asked questions often…trying to really understand what he was talking about.   And you know what?  I actually really kind of got it.  Granted, I may not remember much about each conversation or each valve he works with, but I want to try and at least show an interest in what he has a love for.  It turned out to be great.  He was so appreciative of me listening to him and asking questions about it…he could tell that I was really trying to be supportive and listen to him.  I told him that I want him to continue talking to me about work and share things with me, and that I would try as hard as possible to take it all in.  He was so happy to hear that and thanked me for making that effort.  So I definitely think it paid off and I am really optimistic about opening up that line of communication with him going forward. 🙂

Day 15 down, 25 to go!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 23, 2013 in The Love Dare, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
