RSS

We hit 2 years + planning a road trip! (MIMM)

25 Nov

Happy Monday lovelies!  I, as always, love hooking up with Katie for Marvelous in my Monday!  It’s all about focusing on the good and positive, which I am all for!  So let’s get this party started!

funny-monday-pictures-bacon-wrapped-media-15

Haha, I thought this was too funny!  I doubt many people are going to be dreading Monday this week since for a lot of people it’s a short week due to Thanksgiving!  So here’s to a three-day work week!

Last Wednesday, November 20, was my two-year anniversary.  Scott and I didn’t really expect that we would make it to 2 years…or that we would have any need or reason to celebrate.  But, it turned out to be that we’re still together and still fighting to hold on to our marriage.  So, we chose to “celebrate” our anniversary.  We went out to dinner at Ninja, a new Japanese Steakhouse, with sushi and hibachi that recently opened up near where we live.  I got some sushi and Scott got hibachi.  It was tasty!  Their sushi bar was REALLY awesome!  You can watch them prepare the sushi right in front of you.

nw_mf_sushi4_1107.jpg

After dinner, we came back to the apartment.  Scott gave me a gift he got me and I gave him the card I got him, which contained “clues” about the trip I was planning for him.  He got me a Garmin GPS which I was desperately wanting and needing!  I was super excited!  It made me laugh, because one of the “clues” I included with his card was a picture of a GPS.  The other clue was a picture of an i-Pass.  Indicating that we would be hitting the road and needing a GPS to find our way.  I let him ask one more question about the trip and he asked what state we were going to.  I told him South Carolina was the end result 🙂  I got him a funny card, too.  I was looking at all the cards at Walgreens and they were just way too lovey-dovey.  That is not at all how Scott and I are, especially now.  But we never really were that way ever, anyway.  So I found one that made me laugh, and I knew it would make him laugh, too!  (The front says ‘Sniff, Sniff…Burrito for lunch?’ and the man responds ‘Broccoli’)

love

Unfortunately, I had to reveal the “big surprise” to Scott about the trip.  The Clemson-South Carolina football game is a night game and that would mean we wouldn’t be able to leave for home most likely until Sunday.  And a full 13+ hour day of driving meant we’d get home pretty late.  So I wanted him to be able to decide if he wanted to take that following Monday off of work.  He was SO overjoyed when I told him that I got tickets for us to go to the game. (This is a HUGE game.  The last game of the season and our hugest rival!)  Plus, I contacted one of his closest friends from down south and made plans to meet up with him while we were down there.  Again, Scott was so surprised and so appreciative!  But there was a positive in me telling him…we could start planning together for our trip!  We picked up this National Park Passport book on one of our trips…and we’re hoping to get some stamps on this trip!

passport

I also found this awesome website called roadtrippers.com!  Seriously.the.best.site.ever if you’re planning a road trip!  You plug in your starting point and ending point and then it gives you a bunch of categories for different places along your route including: attractions, entertainment, accommodation, food and drink, history, nature, shopping, sports and scenic drives.  And then each of those categories breakdown into even more categories!  It’s absolutely awesome!  I will definitely use it again in the future for other trips.

When you find a place you want to visit or stop at, you simply add it to your itinerary and then it plots the point on your route and keeps track of your total time and distance and even tells you the amount of gas you may end up spending!  Pretty sweet! 🙂  This is how our route looks so far…

Untitled

So needless to say, I’m really looking forward to this trip and getting away with Scott for a while.  🙂

My weekend was super chill and relaxed.  I’ve been loving my weekends lately, guys!  I’ve been having a lot of ‘me’ time during the day, which is perfect…and not any major appointments or things I’ve been scheduling on my weekends.  That makes for a happy Elise!  I have grown to love my lazy weekend mornings.  I get up early, because it’s just in my nature now…grab my coffee, and hunker down…in bed.  I stay under the covers with my coffee and read or work on blogs.  My bedroom has two windows which let the sun come in in the morning and I just take it all in.  Dexter always comes and snuggles with me without fail!  Both Saturday and Sunday morning he was a sneaky little ninja…

ninja

Can you see him in both pictures?  The first picture was taken Saturday morning.  It was seriously the funniest thing ever.  I was reading and looked up and saw only his eyes and ears and he was staring RIGHT AT ME.  My cat’s a bit of a creeper 😉  The one on the right was Sunday…just his ears peeking up over the blankets.  He loves the edge of the bed because it’s where the sun shines in.  He’s workin’ on his tan 😉  Then there are times when he just does things like this…

dextaa

Plops himself down right on my legs, like it’s no big deal.  At least this time he didn’t sit right on the laptop keys like in the past…But all kidding aside, lazy weekend mornings are my favorites.  It’s my favorite time with Dexter and time to just sip my coffee with no rushing to get out the door, like I usually do during the work-week.  Love it!

Sunday afternoon, after I got my toosh up out of bed :P, I went with my parents, my brother and his wife to see the Milwaukee Symphony Orchestra.  It was such a good show!  For this show they also had the Milwaukee Symphony Chorus performing.  It was absolutely incredible.  (Although I must admit that it did make me a teensy bit sleepy!  But it was just so relaxing!)

tickets

And that’s my weekend and things I’m loving and excited about lately!  Hope you all had a fabulous weekend, are having a fabulous Monday, and enjoy your short-holiday week!  Happy Marvelous Monday!

MiMM

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 25, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “We hit 2 years + planning a road trip! (MIMM)

  1. Elise Caira

    November 25, 2013 at 3:12 am

    Just found your blog, I’m loving it. Oh and obviously I like your name ! 😉

    -Elise @ 9toFit.com

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      November 25, 2013 at 3:18 am

      Aw thanks girl! I’ll have to check your blog out! Us Elise’s have to stick together 😉

       
  2. di @ life of di.

    November 25, 2013 at 7:32 pm

    I am SO happy to hear that you and your husband were able to enjoy and celebrate your two year anniversary. It just goes to show how much bigger God is than our problems and how, through Him, anything is possible. It may sound cliche but I think your experience alone goes to show this is true (for people that don’t believe!) 🙂 So good to hear!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      November 26, 2013 at 3:47 am

      Thank you so much!!! You are absolutely right! It’s amazing the difference it makes when you let God into your relationship. Things have already improved so much and I am so optimistic about the future. I am forever thankful that we have switched our focus and realized just how important it is to have God be a part of our relationship. 🙂

       
  3. Juli

    November 26, 2013 at 7:28 am

    Congratulations to your anniversary! We just hit 6 month 2 days ago. Sounds like a lovely celebration and I am so happy for you that your surprise hit home 🙂 I hope you two have a fantastic trip!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      November 26, 2013 at 12:57 pm

      Thank you so much, Juli! Happy 6 months to you, too! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
