RSS

Living for the good times (MIMM)

06 Jan

Monday, Monday here we go!  I’d love to say that I’m feeling super marvelous about Monday this week, but I’m finding it a little bit hard.  This is what we’re facing here in Wisconsin…

  • Sunday

    Jan 5

    Snow Showers/Wind

    Snow Showers/Wind
    12º/-19º
    Precip 40%
    Humidity 67%
    Wind 25 mph
    NNW
    Sunrise: 7:23 AM
    Sunset: 4:32 PM
  • Monday

    Jan 6

    Mostly Cloudy/Wind

    Mostly Cloudy/Wind
    -13º/-17º
    Precip 10%
    Humidity 62%
    Wind 26 mph
    WNW
    Sunrise: 7:23 AM
    Sunset: 4:33 PM
  • Tuesday

    Jan 7

    Partly Cloudy

    Partly Cloudy
    1º/-7º
    Precip 10%
    Humidity 72%
    Wind 18 mph
    WSW
    Sunrise: 7:23 AM
    Sunset: 4:34 PM

Wind+Chill+Maps+for+WEB+FSSS+6PM+SUNDAY

Sadly, the windchills are actually going to get WORSE than this in the next couple days.  I’ve heard close to -50 degrees windchill temperature!  Whaaa?!?

So I am trying to keep my spirits up, but man it is hard!  So I suppose this is a good time to try and focus on the marvelous things…thank you Katie for always helping us to remember to see the positives!

MiMM

So as I talked about in my last post, I haven’t been feeling that well lately.  Some days have been absolutely miserable for me, some moments in the day have been worse than others.  But I’ve also had moments where I’ve felt pretty good, too.  I’ve been loving those moments.  It truly makes me appreciate the importance of feeling good and healthy.  Any time I feel good, I am so thankful.  I’ve been able to enjoy some fun times lately, too.

This was the gorgeous sunset after work on Friday.  (I actually pulled over a few different times on the drive home to take some pictures!)

sunset

CAM00282

sunset1

Friday night, Scott’s mom hosted an Orange Bowl party at her place.  Scott invited a bunch of his co-workers over to watch the game.  It was a big game that Scott (and I) both cared about since Clemson was playing!  It was such a good game.  They were neck-in-neck with Ohio State for the duration of the whole game.  The last few minutes of the game were amazing and an interception with about a minute and a half left on the clock by Clemson sealed the deal.  We won!!!!  40 to 35!!!!

Discover Orange Bowl - Clemson v Ohio State

That got the weekend off to a great start!  We were both super excited about our win.  Saturday morning was a nice lazy start to the day.  I did some yoga in the morning, too.  Since I’ve been feeling so crummy lately, I haven’t been working out at all.  It’s the last thing that I feel like doing.  But I did yoga on Thursday, and then again on Saturday.  It was the first time in a LONG time that I’d done yoga.  I quickly remembered just how much I love it.  It’s sad that I let it get trumped by more “intensive” workouts, since it was something I truly enjoyed and felt to be therapeutic for me.  But, I’m actually glad that I’ve gravitated back to it (although it wasn’t necessarily by choice).  Yet I’m happy about it.  I feel absolutely amazing afterward.  So I definitely want to keep working on yoga, especially while I am unable to do anything more physical/active right now.

After a slow, relaxing morning, it was time to meet up with my brother, his wife, and some of his friends.  We made plans to head to the zoo for their family free day.  The weather was actually “warm” around 30, so we wanted to make use of the decent weather before it got bitter cold in the coming days.  It was a really nice time!

CAM00294 CAM00305 zoo zoo1

I’ve only been around Travis and Jessa’s friends, Peter and Faith, one other time, which was at my brother’s wedding.  But seriously, that guy is the most hilarious person ever.  I was laughing like crazy the whole time.  Too funny!

zoo3 zoo2

I had a really fun time with them.  It was definitely a good time to go and get my mind off things, especially because I was actually feeling pretty good, too!  So I could actually really enjoy myself fully.  That was really rewarding.  I came home and relaxed a bit, catching up on some emails, etc.  This has been happening A LOT lately…

dexter collage

Dexter LOVES to plop himself down right on me when I’m working on the laptop.  And I’m not saying just my lap, he will literally sit right on my arms if I’m typing.  Since he’s a bit of a chubby cat, my arms would literally fall asleep if he sits there too long, so I always have to pull my arms out from under him and do my best to type OVER him.  It’s absolutely impossible for me to get frustrated with him, even if it is a bit inconvenient when I’m trying to work on something.  It definitely makes me feel loved knowing he wants to snuggle with me. 🙂  Plus, look at that face…how could I ever get upset with him?!  I love that cat more than anything.

At church Sunday, Scott did something absolutely adorable.  It’s things like this that I absolutely love.  It’s something so small and simple, but it shows me that he’s thinking about me.  He asked for my hand and slipped a little folded up piece of paper under my wedding ring.  He wrote me a little note 🙂

church

It’s kind of an inside joke of ours.  When we weren’t saying ‘i love you’ to each other, we’d say ‘i’m pretty fond of you’.   It was kind of our cute little way of saying we really liked each other, but weren’t at the point where we wanted to say i love you yet.  So this note was adorable, because now we are both saying I love you to each other.  After all that we’ve been through in the past few months, hearing him tell me (or reading it) that he loves me, means so much to me.  🙂

The end of my weekend consists of watching the Packers game and Breaking Bad.  Scott and I are finally on the last season 😦  It’s a bittersweet feeling.  I’m excited to see how it ends, but then I’m also sad to see that it’s coming to an end, too.  What an awesome show!!!

Hope you all had a marvelous weekend and have a great Monday! ❤

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Living for the good times (MIMM)

  1. jessielovestorun

    January 6, 2014 at 10:15 am

    The ending to the Clemson/Ohio St. game was indeed crazy!! Actually, who am I kidding – the whole game was! I swear if you turned your head for a second the other team would be winning. Too bad the Packers game couldn’t of ended on a happy note 😦 If only tthey woudl’ve actually showed up and played like they know how . Next year!

    p.s. Scott’s gesture was so sweet!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      January 6, 2014 at 1:15 pm

      I know, right?! Plus, I think everyone from WI was a Clemson fan that night, too! 🙂

      Yeah, I hear ya. But I’m just glad that we played a good game and kept it close. It was looking pretty rough that first quarter. Next year let’s hope we can all stay healthy! Then we’ll be a force to be reckoned with 🙂

       
  2. Katie Elizabeth Gagliano

    January 6, 2014 at 12:35 pm

    How sweet your husband is! The little things like that are the best!

    STAY WARM! We have some frigid temps coming here later, sooooo cold! ❤

    Thanks for linking up!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      January 6, 2014 at 1:16 pm

      I know, right?! It’s the simple things that really mean the most to me. He always had a way of coming up with the little gestures like that which always made me feel so special.

      This morning was -15 with windchills around -50. Crazy!

       
  3. Ksenija @ With An Open Mind

    January 6, 2014 at 3:32 pm

    What a sweet idea to slip this note under your wedding ring! I am so happy that the two of you made it through this rough time and are so happy again.

    Hope the cold won’t last too long! -50 is crazy. I would totally stay at home all the time.

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      January 6, 2014 at 11:20 pm

      Thank you so much, Ksenija! You are too sweet!

      We got to leave work early today actually so we could warm up our cars and make sure we got home safely in daylight. After tomorrow things should start warming up around here. Phew!

       
  4. princessbunnycakes

    January 7, 2014 at 3:18 am

    -50 degrees windchill temperature! – My mind does not compute. To me that is: everything shuts down and everyone just sits inside a heated quilt fort drinking hot tea until March. And by hot tea I mean bourbon. And by March I mean July. However, those sunsets are AMAZING. I can’t believe you’re driving and going to work in that weather. I’m pretty sure most of California would shut down and/or start building underground tunnels for everyone.

    Yoga is in fact amazing. I’ve stopped viewing or “counting” it as a work out at all, as I think 90% of its benefit is mental calm and peace of mind. It’s like a big, relaxing stretch after a long drive that also taps into an inner sense of calm.

    Thought felt gestures are the best, and I’m glad that someone kind and loving like you is receiving them!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      January 7, 2014 at 4:02 am

      I know! I wish I could just stay inside, hunkered down. It’s sooo cold! We got to leave work early today because of it being so cold. I’m crossing my fingers for work to be closed tomorrow, or at least just in the morning until it “warms up” a bit. It’s funny because you’re absolutely right. I work with an attorney out in California and he always tells me how it gets “cold” there (i.e. 60 degrees) and people are bundled up in layers. It’s wild to think that that is cold! People here would be running around in shorts and no coat!

      It’s just so therapeutic. I absolutely love it. I don’t care what it’s technically classified as (work out or not) it’s so good for me on a really personal and deep level that it’s probably better for me than regular exercise.

      Thanks girl! You’re too sweet!

       
  5. Jordan Dunne

    January 7, 2014 at 3:35 am

    My dogs do the same thing that your cat does. It’s cute and funny, but also a huge inconvenience when I’m trying to get things done haha.

    And here I was thinking temperatures in Rhode Island were bad. Sending you warm thoughts!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      January 7, 2014 at 3:56 am

      I know, you’re absolutely right. He seems to always do it when I’m working on the computer instead of just sitting on the couch and watching a movie or something.

      Thanks, lady! After tomorrow and Wednesday we should finally be warming up. We’re supposed to be in the 30s by the end of the week. It will feel like a heat wave after the weather we’ve been having!

       

Leave a Reply

 
