RSS

A little family addition! (MIMM)

12 Jan

Happy Monday, loves!  I hope you all had a great weekend and are ready to tackle another week!  Weekends always seem to go so fast don’t they?  But, what can ya do?  Since it’s Monday, that means it’s time to hook up with Katie for some Marvelous in my Monday!

MiMM

Well this week, I have an exciting thing to talk about with you guys.  I have a new baby!  😉  Meet Meeko!

CAM00328

Ah she is SO cute!  I had been looking at kittens every now and then on the humane society websites in my local area.  I was debating about getting another cat, partially for me and partially so that Dexter could have a friend to play with during the day when Scott and I are both at work all day long.  But I never really followed through with ever going to the humane societies to look at any in person.  It wasn’t on the top of my to-do list.  I happened to be on Craigslist Thursday morning (looking for ice skates and skis and exercise equipment, actually) and remembered that in the past I’d sometimes check out the pet/animal postings while on there.  I just happened to click in and look at a few postings.  Then….I saw this one.  I saw this face:

pic pic2 pic3

Oh.my.gersh.  Something about that little face just made my heart melt!  I knew I had to try and get her!  I’m not sure if I shared this in the past, but I was the one who picked out (or maybe he picked me out?!) Dexter at the humane society.  Something about him just drew me in and I knew he was the one I needed to take home.  Plus, he kept reaching through the cage toward me and I took that as him picking me, too. 🙂  Well, as it turns out, I picked out a really good cat when I picked Dexter.  He’s the best.  So I trusted my gut on this one, too.  I must have this weird pet sixth-sense-type thing going on. 🙂

So, I emailed the owner in the morning to try and see if I could try and see the little kitten.  However, I was already at a disadvantage…I worked all day long, then after work Scott and I had our couples therapy session, so we wouldn’t be free until after 7 pm!  I found out that the owner was flying out of town the next day and really need to find a home for this kitty ASAP.  He had two kittens but could only take one with him where he was moving to (I think he was moving back home to California)…so that left one kitty that needed a home.  I kept corresponding with the owner as much as I could throughout the day (even sending a picture of Dexter to show him that his kitten would have a good playmate).  He told me that a few other families were coming out that day to see the kitten.  In my heart I just had a feeling that he was going to send the kitten home with another family because he had such a small window of time to find a home.

Since I really got my hopes up about this little guy, I started looking on the humane society websites in the area to try and find another little one that captured my attention as much as this one did.  I went on at least three or four different humane society websites and none of them had any that jumped out at me.  Sure there were some cute kittens, but none had that extra little “something” that told me they were the one.  I resigned myself to the fact that I’d just have to keep looking every now and then on the websites to try and find one in the future.

I still kept emailing the owner since I hadn’t heard an official response from him saying that he gave the kitten away.  His responses were very, VERY sparse and limited which got me a bit frustrated since I just wanted to know one way or the other.  Before going into our 6 o’clock appointment, I got an email from him saying that I could come by 7:30 to see the kitten.  AH YAY!  But I still had not got an address from him for where to go to meet up with him.  (I asked at least three times with no response!)  So I was getting a little frustrated yet again.  Our appointment ended and still no response from him as to where we needed to go.

We found a number for the owner on the original Craigslist posting and tried calling.  Straight to voicemail.  ARGH.  So Scott and I just headed home and decided that if we heard back, we’d just leave from home.  Both on the way to our appointment and on the way back home, I started thinking of names for the little kitten.  For some reason, Nemo was the first name that came to mind for me.  Nemo just seemed to fit.  But, then I figured everyone would think of Finding Nemo and how my cat is a cat and not a fish haha.  So, then I thought of the name Memo…which formed into Neko or Meko.  Any of those three names were winners to me.  They just seemed to fit that little face.  But I hadn’t settled on anything, obviously…especially since I didn’t even know if we’d get the kitten or not.

We got a call back and he told us we could come and meet him on the southside of Milwaukee…he was staying at a friends house that night before he left town since he just moved out of his apartment.  So we finally made it happen!  We got there shortly after 8 and awrrh.  I fell in love right on the spot.  She was so tiny and so cute!  We took her home!!!!

This is where it gets really REALLY weird.  The owner told us he named the kitten MEEKO.  Scroll up if you forgot what my name options were.  Meko was one of my top three names!  I told the owner just how bizarre that was and how I had originally come up with Nemo, but ruled it out because of Finding Nemo.  He told me his ex originally wanted to name her Nemo, too, but ruled it for the same reason!  WHAT?!?  So crazy!  It was meant to be, guys!  Destiny, fate, whatever!  haha.  Too crazy!  He said he decided on Meeko because he’s part Native American and because the kitten’s eyes look like a raccoon a bit and the raccoon from Pocahontas was called Meeko!

CAM00318

She was crying all the way home because she didn’t want to be in the cage.  Poor thing.  No cat likes being in those things.  As I later found out, we skipped like 4 or 5 steps in the cat-introducing protocol, but Dexter met Meeko!!

CAM00317 CAM00320

Although we let them see each other face-to-face, we are now going backwards a bit and following the procedure for how they should meet and slowly get used to one another.  I want to make sure they get along well so I’m definitely going to adhere to the suggestions that I read online.  Meeko is a little shy and timid at first, but once she gets used to having you around, she is so affectionate and wants to snuggle so much!  She purrs like crazy!!

CAM00340 CAM00353 CAM00362

2013-01-11 11.40.39 2013-01-11 11.50.45 2013-01-11 12.01.27 2013-01-11 12.01.34

Some of her cute quirks: her complete underside is white, including her paws/feet, her chin and also the TIP of her tail!  So cute!  Plus, as you can see in the picture above, she has this little dark spot on her nose!  So cute!  To say I’m a proud kitty mama would be an understatement! ❤

2013-01-11 18.55.55 2013-01-11 19.16.12 2013-01-11 19.19.35

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 12, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “A little family addition! (MIMM)

  1. llanderson

    January 13, 2014 at 12:59 am

    Aww! LOVE her!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      January 13, 2014 at 1:04 pm

      Thanks! She’s such a sweet kitty! So affectionate and loves to snuggle! 🙂

       
  2. di @ life of di.

    January 13, 2014 at 1:17 am

    Oh my gosh!! Meeko is SO adorable 🙂 Yay for a new addition. Also, do you have an Instagram? I was trying to find you but haven’t been able to!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      January 13, 2014 at 1:05 pm

      🙂 Thanks, girl! She just melts my heart. It’s so hard not to spend all my time with her, she’s definitely an attention hog right now 😉 I actually just signed up but haven’t really started on it yet. I’ll let you know when I’m up and running 🙂

       
  3. hungryhungryhippo404

    January 13, 2014 at 7:13 am

    Meeko is so beautiful! And I totally love how you came about giving her her name 🙂 so meant to be!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      January 13, 2014 at 1:06 pm

      It was the strangest thing! I couldn’t believe it. Definitely meant to be!

       
  4. Leigha @ Minougirl

    January 13, 2014 at 12:57 pm

    I’m so happy for you!! It was totally meant to be. How crazy is it that you both picked out the same name?! When I got my cat from the shelter I just knew too. She was reaching out to me and I knew I had to get her! Isn’t it amazing how they just know?

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      January 13, 2014 at 1:07 pm

      Thank you so much! And yes, you’re absolutely right. It’s so funny how you can just tell and they can just tell, too. I can tell already that this little kitty was the perfect choice. I’m so glad I fought to get her!

       
  5. Christine@ Apple of My Eye

    January 15, 2014 at 1:16 am

    I AM DYING!! Loved the whole story and how well you told it :). You two were definitely meant to be and I think it’s absolutely crazy that you both had the same name picked out. Fate for sure!

    Can’t wait for more updated on the cutie pie! As a fellow cat lover, I approve! 😀

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      January 15, 2014 at 1:21 pm

      Thanks, girl! I couldn’t agree with you more. She is the absolute PERFECT fit to my little family. She is the sweetest, most affectionate little thing ever. I seriously love her to pieces already! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
