RSS

Hurry

23 Jan

Guys I used to just love to sit and write years ago. I don’t ever write anymore. It’s something I truly do miss. This idea came to me on my way home from work yesterday…in traffic where everyone seemed so impatient. So I ran with my thoughts a bit….

we wake in a hurry, having hit the snooze button one too many times; hurry to get ourselves showered, dressed, and grab something that resembles what we call breakfast; a cup of coffee, a bruised banana, half of a donut leftover from the day before

we are in a hurry to drive to the jobs we hate in a hurry to get ourselves to a place where all we do is complain

we’re in a hurry to get to work for someone we can’t stand, doing something we don’t enjoy, earning a “living” or so its called, but it barely is enough

because we’re in a hurry to spend our money on the latest “this” or the latest “that”, just to keep ourselves up with those “jones'” that everyone is so quick to talk about

we are in a hurry to get through the day; watching the clock as closely as possible, hoping the time just flies away but finding that it is at a stand-still

we are in a hurry to get through the day, in a hurry to beat traffic, swerving in and out of the lanes to get past those who are going too slow, which is at a speed that is already in excess of the limit

we are eager to get home, to a husband we don’t love, to a wife that we are cheating on

we are in a hurry to make dinner, popping something frozen into a microwave, because “home-cooked” is no longer practical

we are aware that our children are not home, to which we simply shrug our shoulders and hope that they are getting fed somewhere else

we “sit down” to dinner, not a word spoken of true communication, other than a list of complaints, demands, or things on the “to-do” list that have yet to be checked off

we quickly make an excuse about an errand we have to do, dismiss ourselves from the others’ company, and leave to meet up with the person we’d rather be with than our spouse

we return home, realizing the late hour, and hurry to get ready for bed, peeling ourselves out of the clothes we’ve been in all day, wiping our makeup off, removing our watches, our rings

we quickly slip ourselves into bed, giving an obligatory kiss on the head of our spouse and roll over into a restless sleep knowing that in just a few hours we will be in a hurry again to pull ourselves from the bed in which we overslept in

to hurry to repeat the same process again, day after day

to hurry

to hurry

to hurry

That’s where my mind is currently. Random, I know. What better way to link up with Ms. Amanda for her fun Thinking Out Loud party!

Thinking-Out-Loud

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Hurry

  1. Amanda @ .running with spoons.

    January 24, 2014 at 3:05 am

    I’ve noticed that I’m -constantly- in a hurry — even if I don’t have a tight schedule or anything… I just wanna do things as fast as possible. Why? Well, part of it definitely has to do with wanting to be efficient, but I think I also have this subconscious fear that I’ll run out of time and won’t get everything I want done, so I stress out like crazy in the early part of the day, and end up bored by the end. Definitely need to stop and smell the flowers more often…

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      January 24, 2014 at 1:12 pm

      I am so guilty of the same thing. I feel like I need to be as productive as possible, but then I feel like I am ALWAYS rushing to get through things. It made me realize that I don’t really live or experience things fully if I’m always hurrying through it all. I think we, as a society, are so prone to be this way. But you’re absolutely right, it’s really important to stop and smell the flowers and to simply just “live”.

       
  2. Christine@ Apple of My Eye

    January 25, 2014 at 6:04 pm

    I am completely guilty of always being in a hurry. Honestly, from the minute I wake up in the morning I’m constantly busy doing work (while multi tasking and eating breakfast), off at classes, working on my blog, sending emails, or at the library till 12 at night studying.

    I definitely need to realize that there’s more to life than just constantly being busy and in a hurry. Thanks for making me think with this post! Beautifully written.

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      January 26, 2014 at 3:00 pm

      I think it something that everyone struggles with at some point in their lives. I think we equate being busy to being successful or having a productive life. So often I think people feel that they SHOULD be consistently on the go, or if they aren’t they’re lazy or not doing enough. I am so guilty of this. Even when I was thinking of the idea of writing it, I found myself like all the others in traffic, speeding to get home. And for what? I get home a few extra minutes early? It’s a nice thought to just stop and slow down. Easier said than done, unfortunately.

       

Leave a Reply

 
