RSS

Thank goodness it’s Thursday!

13 Feb

I don’t know if I’m the only one, but it certainly seems like this week is going a little bit slow.  So I am very thankful that today is Thursday!  Phew!  Since it’s Thursday, that means it’s time to ramble about any random sort of thing you fancy…which is right up my alley.  Sometimes you just have things on your mind that you really want to talk about, but don’t just bring up in random conversation or devote a whole, normal blog post to.  So a big thank you to Amanda for making this happen!  I mean I need to get these thoughts out somewhere…

Thinking-Out-Loud

Okay so this is a huge pet peeve of mine and it seems to be happening on a somewhat regular basis at work.  Things definitely need to change.  I HATE when people stand in the bathroom and talk.  The bathroom is NOT a place to hold your gab-fest at work, people.  You can take a few more steps to the door…and walk out into the hallway to have a conversation.  The reason this probably bothers me so much is that I am a member of the shy-bladder club.  Yes, I’m guilty.  But even if I wasn’t, why would people find the bathroom to be a suitable place to engage in a long conversation?  Just don’t get it…

So I love carrots you guys.  LOVE carrots.  But there is one hang up…I have such a hard time swallowing carrots.  They always get stuck in my throat!  Why, carrots, WHY?!

images

I have been thinking about this since Monday when I stopped off at the store to get something for Scott and ended up purchasing the most gigantic rhino I think I’ve ever seen (aside from the real suckers at the zoo!).  I imagine that all of the over-sized stuffed animals were on the shelves for Valentine’s Day.  So, who would really get a rhino for someone on Valentine’s Day?  Don’t get me wrong, their cute and all, but every other animal was either a puppy or a monkey (I’m bananas for you!) or a big, old-fashioned teddy bear.  But a rhino?  It just seemed a bit out of place.  But, it did serve my needs wonderfully, so maybe it was just meant to be?!

CAM00995

So before bed, I usually have a little wine.  It’s like my special pre-bed treat for drinking water during the day.  This was a huge deal for me for quite a while after I stopped drinking diet soda and sugar-free flavor packets in my water and just went with regular, plain, boring water.  So a little bit of wine before bed started to become a little bit of a tradition.  Well currently I have two open bottles of wine.  One is a sweet red, which we opened when we had Scott’s mom over for dinner since she only drinks sweet wines, and one is a merlot, which Scott opened since he likes drier wines.  The sweet red is a bit too sweet but the merlot is not quite sweet enough.  So, I decided why not mix the two?  I will get the perfect glass of wine! 🙂

wine

I have to say, it was a pretty genius idea.  It turned out perfectly.  By the way, I am definitely not a wine connoisseur by any stretch of the imagination.  I love my cheap bottles of wine (a local grocery store sells some for $3 a bottle!) and I never use an actual wine glass when I’m at home drinking wine.  Seems so silly to have a glass specifically designated for a beverage…(pretty sure I used a whiskey glass for my wine!)

CAM01006

I’ve also had two of the best runs this week that were completely and entirely not planned!  I ran a nice five-miler and a four-miler on back to back days, both were not planned.  I just jumped on the treadmill and started going.  I did slow my pace down a bit and that was apparently the ticket.  I had two great runs.

While we’re talking about working out and exercise, it has been a question of mine for a while.  Why do people feel the need to take pictures of their treadmill/elliptical/etc to show how far they went or how many calories they burned or their pace?  Is is a matter of having to prove it by means of a picture?  Or for personal accomplishment?  Don’t get me wrong…I’m not at all saying it’s wrong or that people shouldn’t do it…I’m legitimately curious why people do it.   Maybe if I had more amazing runs to show off, I’d do it too! 😉

gym-exercise-friend-phone-confession-ecards-someecards

I’m not sure if you saw this article, but all I can say is WOW.  Definitely not your typical ‘family pictures’.

Ah, it felt so good to get those thoughts out there!  Thanks for listening to my random ramblings.  I’d love to hear your thoughts or any random thoughts you’ve had this week.  Hope the rest of your week goes well.  Much love ❤

 
14 Comments

Posted by on February 13, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

14 responses to “Thank goodness it’s Thursday!

  1. run100run

    February 13, 2014 at 11:05 am

    Great blog. I have enjoyed reading it a lot! I’d love for you to follow my running journey run100run@wordpress.com

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      February 13, 2014 at 1:12 pm

      Thanks! I’ll definitely stop on over and check it out! 🙂

       
  2. Layas Na

    February 13, 2014 at 11:23 am

    today’s thursday and i really feel it’s friday.

     
  3. celysestroh

    February 13, 2014 at 1:54 pm

    That rhino? Adorable!
    I can’t stand carrots. Ug. REALLY don’t like them. But, I do LOVE carrot juice.
    Mixing wine? What a great idea!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      February 13, 2014 at 1:56 pm

      Haha thanks! It was SO huge!

      Believe it or not, I don’t think I’ve ever had carrot juice!

      It worked wonders. Best idea ever!

       
      • celysestroh

        February 13, 2014 at 2:03 pm

        It’s really good! But kind of earthy. Sometimes I mix it with a little orange juice if I’m not feeling the earthy – ness 🙂

         
      • Little Miss Fit

        February 13, 2014 at 2:04 pm

        I’ll have to give it a shot, thanks!

         
  4. Amanda @ .running with spoons.

    February 13, 2014 at 2:56 pm

    I adore carrots, but I can only eat a handful a day before my stomach starts protesting. Why, stomach?! Why can’t we see eye-to-eye on these kind of things? And by eye-to-eye I mean why can’t you listen to me and behave the way I want you to?

    And yeah I’m not sure about the workout stat pictures either. My favourite are the heart rate monitor ones /sarcasm. I guess it’s just an accomplishment to be proud of 🙂

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      February 14, 2014 at 2:24 am

      Right?! I have my fair share of foods I’d love to “indulge” in more but just do not sit well with the tummy. :/

       
  5. Megan @ Meg Go Run

    February 13, 2014 at 8:21 pm

    I too enjoy wine every night! Dry reds are my favorite. I drink mine before dinner though. I like having a little buzz from 4oz of wine due to hunger!

     
  6. Courtney

    February 14, 2014 at 12:55 am

    I sometimes post pictures of my running watch with distance and time because I’m proud and to document training runs and look back and see how I’ve improved. I used to post calorie burn and stuff when I was like BAM that was a great workout. Now I just focus on the runs. 🙂 happy Thursday!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      February 14, 2014 at 2:25 am

      Thank you for sharing that thought. I really didn’t want anyone to interpret me as being negative about it, I am legitimately curious about what people’s motives for doing so are. So thanks for sharing your reasoning! That totally makes sense 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
