RSS

Running & proper nutrition

22 Feb

Although I try to blog semi-regularly, I don’t often get into anything too deep lately.  I most often recap on things that I experienced over the weekend or random things on my mind, but there is a lot going on that I don’t talk about either.  So I thought I’d take a little time to have one of those long, boring, endless posts where words just keep tumbling from my mouth er, fingertips?  So if you’re curious about my life lately, then by all means, sit yourself down and let me chat with you a bit.  If your weather is anything like ours here in Wisconsin, we’re dealing with rain/sleet/snow and lots and lots of wind today.  A perfect day to be inside, cozy and warm.

CAM01207

On Thursday I had to take the afternoon off from work (at least) since the electric company needed to come out to the building I live in between noon and 4 to do a routine check.  I was originally thinking of going in to work for a few hours in the morning, but decided against it when I thought of going to see my dietitian again.  I hadn’t seen her in months and there were a few things that I wanted to talk to her about.  So I decided to take the whole day off and sleep in (a little, at least!) and have a late morning appointment with my dietitian.  I had a lazy start to the day, but decided I’d try to get a run in this morning, since I didn’t know if I’d have the chance in the afternoon.  So I hopped on, giving myself roughly an hour before I’d need to start getting ready to head to my appointment.

Sadly, I should have given myself more time.  I just really felt ‘in the zone’ while running and did not want to stop.  I got to mile 5 but wanted to keep going and get more mileage in.  So I boosted up the speed…and boosted it some more…and then a little more.  I really added a lot of speed but held steady for a full mile til I hit mile 6.  I was sooo frustrated because I could have easily kept going, but I had absolutely NO time to keep going.  I already went longer than I had intended.  I literally jumped off, jumped in to take a quick shower (without getting my hair wet!) threw on some clothes, and out the door I went.

It felt SO good to see my dietitian again.  It had been so long and so much had changed since I had seen her last.  I wanted to talk to her about my IBS, problems with eating larger meals, trying the low FODMAP diet, and my running and training to work towards a half marathon.  For starters, my weight was stable since the last time I was there, which I was pretty confident about.  My clothes have fit the same (which is the only way I really know if I’ve gained/lost any weight since I no longer weigh myself).  Then I told her about my IBS and all the digestive troubles I’ve been having.  I shared with her that I have a difficulty with larger meals as my stomach can’t seem to process/handle it.  So we set up a plan for me to have six “mini-meals” or “large snacks” throughout the day so that I still get what I need, but do it in a way that won’t be so taxing on my digestive system.  She gave me some sample ideas of mini meals/large snacks that I could have, as well as ways of adding extra exchanges without adding more bulk.

We also talked about trying the low FODMAP diet and my worries/reservations about it, since it is a very restrictive diet in things I need to avoid.  But we talked about all the alternatives that I can still have and enjoy freely and trying to re-introduce foods back into my diet after two months time, one by one.  It helped me to talk to her about these things because I think I felt like I was being disordered with not being able to eat huge, full meals or cut out certain foods that are known to trigger problems with digestion.  I felt so much more at ease afterward and realized that this is just my reality and it is me working toward becoming the healthiest ‘me’ that I can be.

I also shared with her how I want to make sure that I’m getting enough in now more than ever since I’ve been running very regularly and will also be working towards a half-marathon, which also means I’ll be increasing my mileage.  So we established that I need to be taking in more (which is a given) now that I’m being very active.  The plan is to try to add one additional exchange per mile I run on a given day.  (i.e. If I run 5 miles, I should aim to get 5 more exchanges in)

It was definitely a huge plus seeing her again.  I’m schedule to go back in three weeks to check in with her on how the low FODMAP diet is going and how the plan we set up is going.  I’m really ready to give it a go.  I am so motivated to keep progressing with my running so having a set structure while not overdoing it for my stomach, but still getting the nutrients I need will be just what I need.

I will keep updating on this new plan and if I see any improvements with my stomach issues, as well as with my running.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on February 22, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Running & proper nutrition

  1. runnermamablogger

    February 22, 2014 at 4:21 am

    Good luck and feel good.

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      February 22, 2014 at 4:38 am

      Thanks, I hope I feel a noticeable difference!

       
  2. Christine

    February 22, 2014 at 6:03 am

    Glad to hear that going to your dietician helped ease your mind on a few things! I think she gave some good advice and that it’ll help you thrive even more :). Have a fab weekend!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      February 22, 2014 at 1:56 pm

      Thanks so much, doll. It definitely feels great to have had the chance to talk to her about these things and develop a “plan of attack”. Hope you have a great weekend, too! 🙂

       
  3. di @ life of di.

    February 22, 2014 at 3:50 pm

    Glad to hear that your nutritionist was able to help you out 🙂 I really want to go see one. I need to figure out who will take insurance!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      February 22, 2014 at 8:22 pm

      Not everyone needs to see one (or continue to see one), but I know for me it is really important to check in, especially with my dietary changes and my increase in physical activity. I do recommend it for anyone who struggles with eating properly/nourishing enough and are working towards a very physically demanding goal like doing a half-marathon though. Nutrition is such a huge component of preparation and training, if that isn’t in a good place, the whole training can be thrown off…I’ve had that happen several times to me in years past. It’s an awful place to be.

       
  4. Colleen

    February 22, 2014 at 10:55 pm

    Good luck with the diet, feel better and hope to see you on our Facebook page soon!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      February 23, 2014 at 3:10 pm

      Thanks so much, I appreciate it! I’ll definitely check it out.

       
  5. bhcrum

    February 24, 2014 at 2:21 am

    Good luck, girl! I know running new distances is so exciting and keeping up with proper nutrition helps to keep it as something you look forward to doing. Good luck with the low FODMAPs diet!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      February 24, 2014 at 3:14 am

      Thank you so much! I really appreciate your support! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
