RSS

All about portions

04 Mar

One thing that I’ve always struggled to get a clear concept of while in my binge eating mode was portions.  When I got stuck in the binge-mode, I often lost control over what I was all eating.  I simply inhaled the food, more than I did actually chew it thoroughly and let the food actually settle in my stomach.  I would grab a bag of ‘this’ or a box of ‘that’ and continue to eat copious amounts of food, with no regard to how much or how many servings I really ate.

The fact that I zoned out was a curse and a blessing.  It was a curse when I was in the moment because I lost total control over what I was really eating; it was a blessing so that I couldn’t distinctly remember after the fact, especially the next morning, how much I really took in.  The nutrition facts label or serving suggestion meant absolutely nothing to me.  It was as if those numbers didn’t exist.

FD005285

Day four of my 50 day challenge: A picture of one snack you had today that you felt was a good portion size.

CAM00998

This was a portion/serving size of hot brown rice cereal, with blueberries and sprinkled with crushed up almonds and peanuts.  I felt this was a proper serving/portion size for me.  It was satisfying and I felt like I didn’t overdo it.

Admittedly, last night I ate a bit more than I needed to.  I will be extremely honest on here.  If I struggle, I will admit it.  If I binge, I will admit it.  If I do great, I will share that too.  This is all about being open and honest.  Last night, I wouldn’t say that I binged, but I definitely ate more than my hunger called for.  I did lose sit a bit of the portions and amounts that I was eating, but I feel like in the grand scheme of things, I stopped myself before I lost too much control.  So, I will definitely want to watch this more closely and keep it in check so as not to let it escalate.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 4, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “All about portions

  1. Kristin

    March 4, 2014 at 10:09 pm

    Portioning my meals and snacks is definitely important for me!! It’s never easy though, I do agree with that!! 🙂 Great post!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      March 5, 2014 at 2:57 am

      Thanks! I think it’s something that can easily happen if one isn’t mindful

       
  2. Mom of crum on a plate

    March 5, 2014 at 1:09 am

    I think that you are doing amazing things…You are showing great strength ad courage. I wish you the best and I will follow you on your journey. Remember to love yourself….and have a little fun Along the way. I wish you peace…….

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      March 5, 2014 at 2:58 am

      Aw thank you so so much! This means so much to me to hear. I can’t tell you how much. 😀

       

Leave a Reply

 
