RSS

Life’s about living (MIMM)

17 Mar

Ahh I am so sad to see this weekend come to a close!  I knew it was going to be a fast, whirlwind of a weekend and it definitely was!  But I had such a great weekend.  I guess the fun ones always go fastest, right?  I’ll share some of my weekend highlights with you to celebrate the start of a new week and spread some marvelous Monday spirit!

MiMM

First off, after having had a really crummy week at work the prior week, this past week had been an absolutely wonderful week for me.  I was feeling a little down about my job and was doubting myself and whether it was a good fit for me, but I definitely had a huge rebound this week.  Every day I got so much done and felt so much more confident about my files and the decisions I was making.  It felt great!

We also had our first “warm” day or two of the season.  We got into the mid 50s and upper 40s for a few days.  It was such a welcome!  I went outside on my lunch break one day and just chilled in my car, soaking up the sunshine (with the windows down!) and wrote.  I used to do that all of the time last year.  Can’t wait to do it again!

CAM01574

After having gone to the Mitchell Park Domes for their Music Under the Glass concert series last Thursday night with my brother and my sister in law, and finding out that they had Irish music for St. Patrick’s Day weekend, I asked the hubby if he would come along with me this time.  It was a fun night!  They were SO packed!  I guess everyone had the same idea…

1

Friday night we also had plans!  I found a really fun, quirky event for us to go to.  I’ve heard of the Brew City Bruisers before, but never had a chance to ever go see them!  They are Milwaukee’s Roller Derby Girls.  I’ve heard stories of these girls being extremely aggressive while skating and wanted to see what all the hype was about.  I mentioned it to Scott and he was totally on board with it, too.  I love that he is totally open to trying different, quirky things with me!  I invited one of my best friends along with us, too!  At first we had absolutely NO idea what was going on…but we whipped out our phones, did a little research on the rules of roller derby-ing, and eventually we were actually able to really get into it!

3 CAM01609

All the different ‘players’ have these crazy, quirky names, too.  Some examples: Becky the Butcher, Anita Bier, Lacy/DC, D’Amanda Beating, Sorah Bones, and Carrie A. Hacksaw.  There were so many more!  We decided that I am going to become a roller derby girl.  I came up with my name, too!  I literally thought of it within a minute…Donna Matrix. 😉

CAM01610

CAM01612

It ended up being a really fun night.  Definitely an experience I’ve never had before!

I have been having the absolute HARDEST time sleeping lately.  My little Meeko, cute as can be, is a terror in the night/early morning hours.  She is so rambunctious that she makes so much noise if we let her in our room while we’re sleeping.  I eventually have to kick her out.  But then, after we close her out of the room, she will meow SO loudly and try to claw her way under the door that I eventually open the door to let her in.  Then the cycle continues again.  I don’t know what to do with her.  She is just sooo loud!  I got only about 5.5 or 6 hours of sleep Friday night.  AND I had my long run to knock out Saturday morning, too.  10 Miles!  My first double-digit run ever.

I wasn’t feeling too confident about it, especially since my stomach was feeling a little icky, but I wanted to at least give it a go.  And surprisingly, it went a lot smoother than I thought it would.  I kept it slow and steady, and by the time I got to mile 8 (which last time when I was running 9 miles was my ‘dead zone’, I found that I felt stronger than ever.  I actually could have gone even longer, but didn’t want to overdo it, and because I was running low on time, too.  But I knocked out my ten miles!  YAYAY!

CAM01623

Sweaty, happy Elise!  I quickly stretched a bit, then jumped in the shower and got myself ready.  I had plans to go down to Milwaukee’s lakefront with my brother and my sister-in-law and didn’t have much time to get ready.  But I made it happen!  I was really looking forward to spending time with them.  They invited me Friday night, and although I had my long run in the morning and snow tubing with friends scheduled at night, I really wanted to go.  So I said yes!

IMG_9182-2

IMG_9190-2

IMG_9198-2

IMG_9200-2

IMG_9203-2

IMG_9209-2

IMG_9211-2

IMG_9213-2

IMG_9217-2

IMG_9237-2

IMG_9238-2

IMG_9247-2

IMG_9256-2

IMG_9266-2

5

IMG_9267-2

IMG_9269-2

IMG_9270-2

IMG_9274-2

IMG_9281-2

IMG_9283-2

IMG_9294-2

IMG_9300-2

We roamed around down by the lake.  All of the ice on the lake had pretty much melted after our few warm days.  There was so much ice on the beach yet though.  It was a chilly day, but not too bad with the sun and walking around quite a bit.  We stopped to warm ourselves up at Colectivo.  The building is an old water pump building, which is really cool.  We got some tea and a delicious fig-date bar.  On our way back to the car, we saw this…

IMG_9302-2

This guy was practicing his…tightrope walking skills?!  I swear, sometimes you just see the quirkiest things in Milwaukee!  He was actually pretty good, though! 🙂

After we walked all over the place, we made our way home.  I got back around 5:15 or so…folded up some laundry and sat down for just a little while…then I had to start getting my things together for our plans for the evening.  We were meeting up at around 7 to head to the place we were going snow tubing.  I definitely crammed a lot of physical activity into one day…but they were all things I really wanted to do!  The worst part was getting me to drag my toosh out into the cold.  I just got in and the idea of staying in the warmth of my apartment was really tempting.  I almost didn’t go…but knew I’d regret it if I didn’t.  So I made myself go!  It was two hours of snow tubing and all you can drink draft beer.  I’m definitely not a huge drinker, but the others definitely love their beer, so it worked out well for them!

CAM01640

That fire was our best friend.  The colder it got, the more we gravitated to the heat.  The wind was just soooo chilly!  Brrrr!

CAM01642

CAM01643 CAM01648

I was so completely exhausted by the end of the night (in a good way!)  I had such a fun day, and got so much all crammed into one day, yet surprised myself with just how much energy I had.  I didn’t tire out until about 9:45, and that was only because it was so dang cold outside!  I couldn’t wait to get home, take a nice hot shower, and snuggle up on the couch under the blankets!  It felt sooo good!!!

Sunday ended up being a pretty chill day.  I went for a six-mile run, did laundry, went grocery shopping, and went to church.  In the evening, I stopped by my parents for a while, then spent the rest of the evening with Scott and my little kitties.  It was such a good weekend!  I wouldn’t mind having another day or two off yet…

Hope you all had a wonderful weekend and have a marvelous Monday! ❤

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 17, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Life’s about living (MIMM)

  1. jessielovestorun

    March 17, 2014 at 10:59 am

    What a fabulous way to spend your weekend enjoying the warmer weather. I’ve never been too a roller derby match(is that what you call it? LOL), but it sounds like such an awesome experience. Congratulations on knocking out 10 miles & feeling strong.

    p.s. you hear the good news about Packers picking up Peppers? 🙂 🙂

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      March 17, 2014 at 12:14 pm

      It was the neatest thing to experience! I was totally impressed with these women. Plus, they wore these super flashy outfits (and very revealing!) and these women were all sizes and shapes. Power to them for rockin’ their bodies and being comfortable in their own skin, too!

      YES!!! I am SO excited!! I think they said he’s got a 3-year deal with the Packers?! Yippie!! 😀

       
  2. princessbunnycakes

    March 18, 2014 at 5:09 am

    Oh geez, you look like the young women in commercials who always look FLAWLESS—lips flushed, cheeks rosy, hair shiny—no matter what they’re doing. You look WONDERFUL after a run that sounds unbelievably long to me. I could probably WALK 10 miles in oh . . . 3 or 4 hours. Definitely not run them!!

    I’m so happy to read that you had a fun weekend. I’ve never even heard of snow tubing. As far as I’m concerned it is summertime. Also, those tightrope walkers are super common in parks around the Bay Area, and while I think they’re a little obnoxious, I must say I always see them be super nice to any kids who run up and want to try.

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      March 18, 2014 at 12:16 pm

      Haha, that’s funny! You are too kind!

      Thanks, hun! Snow tubing is crazy fun, you jump into a donut shaped blow-up and slide down a huge hill! Sometime when you visit a cold place like Wisconsin, you can give it a shot! They don’t have much of that over in California 😛

       
  3. bhcrum

    March 18, 2014 at 11:18 am

    That weekend sounded SPECTACULAR. And let me just say, you looked stunning after your 10 mile run. The joy on your face was so radiant! Way to go! I’m so happy you had an amazing weekend. Keep it up, girl! ❤

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      March 18, 2014 at 12:17 pm

      Aw thank you hun! You are so sweet! I felt so great after my run, it definitely was a huge mood booster!

       

Leave a Reply

 
