RSS

a little taste of spring (mimm)

07 Apr

It finally arrived!  SPRING!  Not only was the weekend awesome just because it was..well, the weekend.  But it also finally started to WARM UP!  That is reason alone to be marvelous on this Monday!  A big shout out to Katie who always hosts such a fun, positive party!!

MiMM

Let’s back track just a teensie bit here…to Friday.  Last week was a really depressing week as far as the weather is concerned.  We had doom and gloom, darkness, clouds for a few days in a row.  Plus miserable wind.  Friday was the worst.  As I was leaving work, it had just started to sleet like crazy and huge gusts of wind at the same time meant a very unhappy Elise.  I seriously couldn’t believe it!  April!  Ugh, only in Wisconsin.  So you can imagine my excitement upon waking up Saturday morning (after a full 8 hours of sleep, mind you!) and seeing the sun shining!  What a perfect wake up in the morning.  A full night of sleep and the sun shining brightly?!  Awesome start to the weekend!  (And yes, I totally slept on the couch haha, I guess late night TV watching makes for a lazy Elise, very unmotivated to get up and walk to the bedroom!)  But at least I had Meeko’s company…

CAM01784

Since Scott was working at his mom’s house all day again, I had the day to myself Saturday.  I had made plans in the afternoon to spend some quality time with my parents (much needed!) and one of my best friends invited us over to her and her roomie’s new condo to watch the Badgers game at night.  I was really looking forward to both!  I had the morning to myself to do whatever I wanted.  So I started in on some laundry and read a bit.  A good, slow wake up.  I had been wanting to make a banana recipe for the last few days, since we had three EXTREMELY ripe bananas that needed to be used.  Oh, the horror of overripe bananas! 😉  Baking is obviously essential then!  So I decided to use the morning to bake some banana bread bars.  I didn’t have chocolate chips like the recipe called for and was feeling far too lazy to get my toosh out the door and go to the store just for chocolate chips.  So I made the recipe without and I actually was happy with the fact that I didn’t add chocolate chips!  The taste of these suckers was fabulous!

bake1

bake2

bake3

bake4

These bars turned out so moist and so flavorful, I started snacking on them right away! 🙂  It was fun to bake again!  It had been so long since I took the time out to bake.  Glad I had the chance to do so.  After cleaning up and doing the dishes, I had a bit of time yet before I had to meet up with my parents, since I squeezed in a five mile run.  Then got myself ready for the day.  By this time, my mood had just continued to improve.  Sunshine+baked goods+endorphins=happy girl!  I got a teeeensie bit goofy while getting ready for the day…

fun1

Maybe it’s a good thing our winter lasts so long…otherwise I’d be a crazy girl much more often! 😛  Well, my parents came and picked me up around 1 in the afternoon and we made our way to a cute little town, Cedarburg, which is not far from where we live.  It was so cute, when I made the suggestion on Friday that we get together and go to Cedarburg for the afternoon, my parents were so so excited!  My mom especially!  She told me that it totally turned her day around and she was in such great spirits because she couldn’t wait to spend time with me!  That made me so happy to hear, and also made me realize I really need to take more time to spend with my parents.  They mean the world to me (and I clearly mean a lot to them, too!) and I love every bit of time I get with them.  Making time for them needs to become more of a priority in my life.  When we got to Cedarburg (I was already chatting non-stop!  I guess when you mostly talk via email or Facebook the majority of the time, real face-to-face conversation is such a gift!) we stopped at our favorite coffee place that we always go to when we visit.  Cedarburg Coffee Roastery.  It’s very properly titled because they roast their own beans there in a HUGE cauldron.  (Okay, maybe that isn’t the exact word, but it makes it sound very magical…or like they are witches…hmm..)

IMG_9771 IMG_9775

We talked for so long, about so much.  I was so chatty, but it was so great having that time with them.  I see them during the week, but it’s usually very brief and we don’t really have much time to really talk.  This was so nice and so needed!  After sitting in there for a while, we decided to go walk around the town and enjoy the beautiful sunshine and fresh, spring air!

IMG_9780

My parents are such good sports!  It’s not every day you get a chance to take you picture in front of a popcorn wagon with a gorilla!  I think my mom was making a move on the gorilla…;) in fact, I’m pretty sure she made some sort of comment about how the gorilla was a better mate for her than my dad! baha.  They are hilarious! 😀

IMG_9783 IMG_9787 IMG_9790 IMG_9794 IMG_9798 IMG_9802 IMG_9803

We walked around the town and I snatched as many pictures as I could!  My parents hate having their pictures taken, so it was a miracle they let me take their pictures TWICE in one afternoon! 😀  We went in a few shops, I found something cute for my mom, a little crafty thing about how mothers are a gift from above and she ended up getting something for me, too.  (Typical of my mom!)

CAM01819

Little did she know when she bought it that it lights up!  I haven’t figured out how, or what part lights up, but there is definitely an area for batteries in the back!  So cool.  The afternoon went SO fast guys.  We made our way back home to my place so they could see their grandkitties!  It had been so long since they’ve seen them.  Meeko was so shy and went and hid 😦  But Dexter is always chill and loves them (and everyone!).  We spent the entire afternoon together and I couldn’t believe the afternoon was over!  I had such a wonderful time with them.  It was the best time!

Later that night, Scott and I went over to my best friend’s place where she and her roomie were hosting a Badgers party.  Fact: I hate basketball.  Fact: I am not a college sports fan.  Fact: I didn’t really care if the Badgers won or lost.  They lost, which was a bummer for everyone there, but at least they put up a good fight.  We had a really fun time though anyway!

Sunday morning upon waking up, we were greeted with sunshine AGAIN!  Seriously, both weekend days were sunny!?  That is so SO awesome!  And it was going to get up to 60, even warmer than Saturday!  I had a really slow wake up, which was really fabulous.  It was so relaxing!  Scott woke up a few hours later than me…which is pretty typical haha.  But it’s fine because I love lazy Sunday mornings to myself.

IMG_9809 IMG_9816

Dexter was busy watching TV and working on the computer when Scott and I eventually made our way over to his mom’s house to grab the dog and head out to take a walk!  The weather was too nice to pass up!

IMG_9822 IMG_9824

I was trying to entertain Max.  (at least, that’s the story I’m stickin’ to!)  P.S. I’ve had that Lions’ sweatshirt since I was a tike.  My neighbor gave it to me when I was a kid and I always held onto it.  Even all those years when they were pretty much the worst football team in the NFL.  I’m glad I held onto it because they are finally starting to turn into a team!  We came home and sat in the sun, studying for church.

snuggle1

I could have stayed in that spot the rest of the afternoon.  The sun felt AMAZING.  But, I eventually got my toosh up and we went to church.  I came home, did a short three mile run and some last minute grocery-store grabs, then came home to snuggle the rest of my Sunday night with my little fam ❤  What an absolutely wonderful weekend! 😀

 
10 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , ,

10 responses to “a little taste of spring (mimm)

  1. IHeartVegetables

    April 7, 2014 at 11:13 am

    Mmmm I love banana bread!!! 🙂 Yum. Also, my fiance went to Wisconsin, so we were cheering on the badgers, too! It was a sad loss, but we had fun watching it with friends 🙂

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      April 7, 2014 at 12:15 pm

      Gosh it is just so tasty, isn’t it? I forgot how much I love it!

      Have a great Monday! 🙂

       
  2. teenieyogini

    April 7, 2014 at 11:31 am

    Oh my gosh! You are still wearing jackets! I am typing this from the sun deck in a bikini! I don’t think I would survive that much winter!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      April 7, 2014 at 12:16 pm

      Girl, you are making me terribly jealous right now. It’s so sad to think that 50 is like a heat wave for us haha. But oh well, eventually (maybe) I’ll move somewhere warmer some day…

       
  3. samantha

    April 7, 2014 at 2:49 pm

    Dexter is a smart boy, isn’t he! =P Cute picture. That recipe looks good, Love anything banana. It’s funny, I’m looking forward to the cooler weather of winter here in Australia.

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      April 8, 2014 at 3:02 am

      Haha, he sure is!

      Well we can swap weather then, deal? 😛

       
  4. princessbunnycakes

    April 8, 2014 at 4:43 am

    Weather can make or break my mood, so I’m glad it’s finally sunny for you! I find that I’m much happier, more energetic, and feel more comfortable when the weather’s warm.

    I usually peel, slice, and freeze overripe bananas with the intention of making smoothies but usually just snack on the frozen slices instead, BUT those banana bars look SO quick and easy I may just try them. I think I need to slowly but surely get myself more comfortable with cooking and baking. Right now most toddlers are more adept in the kitchen than I am, and that’s not an overstatement.

    I love coffee shops that roast their own beans! Well, obviously I only love it when they source good beans and know what they’re doing, but usually they prepare their coffee fantastically and the workers care about what they’re doing.

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      April 8, 2014 at 12:23 pm

      Oh I am the exact same way. It’s awful. Especially because our weather is so terrible here for so long. But when spring comes around, it’s like the whole world (in WI) comes to life again and everyone is so much more noticeably happy! It’s crazy to see just how different people are when the weather is nice!

      Mmm frozen banana slices are delicious! I DEFINITELY recommend this recipe. I finished them up Monday and I long for the next time I can make some more! 🙂

       
  5. jessiebearwhat

    April 9, 2014 at 11:58 pm

    Looks like an awesome weekend- TOTALLY drooling all over those breakfast bars!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      April 10, 2014 at 2:49 am

      Thanks hun! It was an absolute blast.

      And I may or may not be trying my hardest NOT to eat some bananas I have around the house just to let them get overripe to make those breakfast bars again! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
