RSS

from 44 to 77 degrees in two hours (mimm)

14 Apr

Hello loves!  I hope you all are doing wonderful, if not marvelous! 🙂  The weekend, as usual, always seems to go by SO quickly!  It always seems to go that way, lately, but I’ve been enjoying them nonetheless.  My favorite link-up party of the week is here, hosted by Katie, to focus on the marvelous-ness!  Let’s get this party started…

MiMM

This past week we have finallyhad a taste of spring!  It was SO welcomed after such a long, cold winter.  The sun was shining almost everyday this past week, and we got into the 60s and close to 70!  It doesn’t get any better than that!  You can just tell when the weather starts to improve because people actually start to be friendly again haha.  It’s sad, but true.  The weather does so much to effect one’s mood!  I’ve been doing my warm-weather-breaks at work again.  I go in my car, get some fresh air and sunshine and usually read.  It felt nice to be able to go in my car again and NOT freeze!

CAM01821

The end of the day Friday could NOT come fast enough. The sun was shining and everyone was commenting about how the weather was so gorgeous.  I wanted to leave early so bad, but we already two people out of the office in our department on Friday, so it wasn’t practical.  😦  But I was finally free at last!  I came home, went for a run, then met up with Scott to take Max for a walk!!

IMG_9873 IMG_9887 IMG_9899 IMG_9907 IMG_9937  IMG_9944  IMG_9951 IMG_9965

Everywhere I go, my camera comes with me lately.  That is not at all an exaggeration.  I often have my camera stowed in the trunk of my car for those moments when you don’t necessarily go out with the intention of taking pictures, but discover something worth photographing.  I love it.  Our walk was so nice, the weather was so great!  After our walk, we dropped off Max and his mom’s place, then headed to our apartment.  Scott ran while I freshened up, he showered, then we headed out.  We wanted to go out and get a drink at one of our favorite places to go, and to talk.  The main purpose was to talk, but having a drink makes the whole thing more enjoyable, too 🙂  With Scott being so busy during the week, we don’t get a chance to have quality conversation time, which we both know is super important and which our couple’s therapist definitely encourages us to do.  So we try to schedule “date nights” where we just get out of the house and have time with one another.

friday night

It was perfect, we had the corner couches to ourselves, so we sunk in and had our little nook to ourselves, away from the noise from the bar and the musician playing.  It was really nice.  I think I needed it, after feeling a little lack of good communication throughout the week.  I felt much better coming home, and we just ended up crashing on the couch watching Parks n Recreation before bed when we got home.  The perfect end to the week!

Saturday was forecasted to be gorgeous weather…we were supposed to hit about 70 degrees with rain in the morning then clearing up to party sunny skies.  My parents made plans to go for a hike with my brother and his wife, and I was going to come along with them since Scott was going to do some work at his mom’s house.  I figured it’d be perfect, quality time with my family.  Well, waking up it was really gloomy and really chilly.  We had planned to go in the afternoon, so I figured it would hopefully clear up and warm up by then.  I ended up hitting the treadmill and went 8 miles.  It felt good, and I was enjoying my reading haha.  Well instead of clearing up the later the day went on…It ended up pouring and storming for a long time, too…we even had hail for a while!  Dexter came to watch out the window with me for a bit…

saturday

That face.  haha.  Gets me every time.  Well it definitely did NOT warm up at all even though the rain eventually stopped.  Instead of 70 degrees, we were at 44 degrees!  I couldn’t believe it!  We ended up cancelling our hike 😦  I was planning on using the afternoon to do some errands then instead, and happened to jump on weather.com and noticed one of the saved locations I had on the site (Galena, Illinois – from a previous time I went there for a weekend with my parents) and it was 78 and sunny!  That was only THREE HOURS away from us.  I was making to leave the house, when my brother was texting me that he was still planning on hiking, even though it was cold and damp outside because he was sick of being inside all of the time…then he mentioned that he saw it was around 80 in Chicago.  You guys, Chicago is literally TWO HOURS away from us!!!!!  I got a crazy notion and ran with it…

I gave Scott a call, asked what he was working on and if he could break away from it.  He told me he was painting and could stop whenever.  I told him about how warm it was to the south and that we needed to head as far south as we had to in order to get to warm weather.  He was all for it!  He mentioned bringing Max with us and I was totally cool with that.  So he got Max ready to go and came and picked me up and then we hit the road!  We had no real destination in mind, just head as far south as it took in order to find some sunshine and warm weather!  (With a pit-stop at Chick-fil-A (the only one in the state!) near the border of Wisconsin and Illinois to get a chicken sandwich which Scott loves and a cookies and cream shake!)  I was SO excited about our adventure.  It was a total, in-the-moment spontaneous decision and I loved it.

adventure1

Well we had crossed over the Illinois border and we only went up a few degrees, to 52 in that entire amount of time.  I was getting a bit worried that maybe a cold-front had moved in and the warm weather was gone.  I was getting really disappointed…but, not for long!  Scott was just as excited as I was.  The temperature rose from 52 degrees, to 77 DEGREES in a two-mile stretch of road.  We kept looking at his dash while the temperature just kept going up and up and up.  It was so crazy!  We literally could not even believe it!

IMG_0014

Once we hit some warm air, we plugged in the GPS to take us to a park in the area so we could get out and walk around and enjoy the gorgeous weather!  The first one we came upon didn’t allow dogs, but the lady working there gave us a map of about a billion different parks and trails in the area.  So we picked another one and made our way there…we got lucky, it had a parcourse, which made for a fun time haha

adventure2

adventure3

IMG_0079

IMG_0048

IMG_0198-2 IMG_0205-2 IMG_0210-2

We both had a blast!  It was so perfect!  The weather was gorgeous, the walk was gorgeous.  It was just what we both needed.  It put us in such a good mood!  We made our way back home, dropped off Max, and headed up to cuddle up on the couch.  We made an otherwise crummy day, into a really awesome one! 🙂

Sunday was a pretty relaxing, easy going day.  Scott and I studied for church in the morning, went grocery shopping, and then I went for a run.  I made some banana bars before church, then quickly changed and headed out.  The rest of the evening was spent inside…it is raining like CRAZY out there!  It’s supposed to rain all night, too.  Then, I heard maybe even a little bit of snow in the early morning…?!  Ugh, spring needs to just come and stay now!  Pleaseeeee! All things considered though, I’m in pretty good spirits and will try and keep my optimism up until the weather finally stays warm!  We are so close!!

This week is going to be another super crazy one.  Lots of things going on, lots of events.  But I do have off work on Friday, so that will definitely help!  Hope you all had a marvelous weekend and have a great week, too!  ❤

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 14, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

7 responses to “from 44 to 77 degrees in two hours (mimm)

  1. jessielovestorun

    April 14, 2014 at 11:17 am

    Spontaneous trips are the best! I’m just amazed how much warmer it was just 2 hours ago. Don’t blame y’all one bit for venturing south for a nce afternoon hike. So fun!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      April 14, 2014 at 12:46 pm

      Gosh it was such a fun time! We had a blast and it was the perfect little mood-booster for the weekend!

      Happy Monday! 🙂

       
  2. Kristin

    April 14, 2014 at 2:03 pm

    Hello amazing and beautiful pictures!! Wow, it looks like you had a fabulous weekend!! They do go by fast, though but yes, you made the most of your weekend and had fun!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      April 15, 2014 at 2:39 am

      Aw thanks so much hun! It was such an awesome weekend! The fun ones always go the fastest! Hope you had a great one, too! 🙂

       
      • Kristin

        April 15, 2014 at 11:05 am

        Thanks, I DID and you’re right, the fun weekends go FAST!! 🙂

         
  3. Christine@ Apple of My Eye

    April 15, 2014 at 4:03 pm

    Glad you finally are getting a little bit of spring! The weather definitely takes a big toll on my mood and I’ve noticed that I’m just a generally nicer person when the sun is out and shining on my skin haha. Your walk looks like it was beautiful and I love that soft glow that time of day has :).

    It makes me so happy to hear about your spontaneous adventure! I think those turn out to be the most fun and the ones that you always look fondly back on. Crazy how quickly the weather changes!

    You’re looking gorgeous as always! Love that pretty smile of yours girly :)!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      April 16, 2014 at 2:06 am

      Well, we had a few days of spring, quickly followed by some days of winter! We had SNOW again yesterday, last night and today. Our temperatures are right around 35 during the day now. Boo. Spring takes so long to come and stay here. But this weekend was just perfect…a little bit of warm weather and sunshine to hold me over.

      They sure are, aren’t they? It’s such a fun and freeing feeling to do something completely unplanned and spontaneous.

      Girlll, you are too sweet, as always. Thank you! 😀

       

Leave a Reply

 
