RSS

oh, kitties (mimm)

28 Apr

Phew!  That about sums up the last week or so.  It has been exhausting.  It’s been stressful, emotional, tiring, draining, overwhelming…all of that and more.  Two Fridays ago, on Good Friday, I brought both of my kitties in to the vet since I had off of work.  Dexter was just getting his vaccines, but Meeko was getting vaccines and blood work, AND was getting spayed!  I shared the first weekend after here and it has been a roller-coaster from then all through this week and weekend.  I am seeing first-hand what it’s like to be a “parent”.  I thought I’d share an update on everything that’s been going on lately with my world, since it’s been all about the kitties lately for this week’s with Katie.

MiMM

There are many ups and downs…so here’s a little bit of what I’ve been dealing with…

So just an update and recap, the last post I wrote was from Saturday morning, the morning after Meeko’s vet visit and she was not hungry enough to eat.  She didn’t eat the first pill crushed up in wet cat food.  So, me being the anxious worry-wort mother that I am, I started to panic.  :O  I jumped on the computer and did so much research about how to try and give cats medication.  I found a few that seemed like they would work just fine and when Scott woke up I showed him the ones that seemed good.  He chose the one where we wrap the kitty up like a mummy in a towel and one of us holds her mouth open while the other drops the pill in her mouth and squirts water into her mouth to force her to swallow.  It worked like a charm and Meeko was SUCH a sport!  She didn’t squirm or fuss at all.

Friday night we had her in the bedroom but I quickly decided that there were too many things for her to hide in or jump off of in the bedroom, so we moved her into the office.  The desk was about the only thing to jump up on or off of, but I was convinced we could either create some form of steps or a ramp so she wouldn’t have to jump.  Our first attempt resembled a pirate’s plank…far too narrow and she didn’t use it.  So then I got the idea of using the wall we had in the dining room area which they both climbed up on and perched on, and angling that to create a ramp.  It worked perfectly!

CAM01888

Well once we got her situated in here, Dexter had to be kept out of the office.  He would have been a bit too rambunctious for Meeko.  But I knew that I needed to sleep wherever she was because otherwise she would have been super lonely all night and would be looking for me.  Every single night she always waits for me outside of the bathroom (where I go before bed each night) and as soon as I get into bed, she’s jumping in right behind me within a minute or two…without fail.  So I decided that I’d sleep in the office, on the floor with her.  I also spoke to Scott about when we would give her her medication when the work week started.  We were supposed to give it to her twice a day, 12 hours apart.  So we decided that since I usually go into to work and arrive there no later than 7 and Scott normally wakes up at 7, that wouldn’t work since we have to do it together.  So, I decided I’d stay home a little longer in the morning, spend a little more time with Meeko before leaving her for the day, and that we’d give her medication at 7 in the morning, right when Scott wakes up.

CAM01928 CAM01931

My “bed” wasn’t too terrible.  Meeko would snuggle with me almost the entire night, each night.  She would come over to me, purring up a storm, meowing at me, and then nestle in for the night.  Of course she’d wake up periodically, but she did pretty well.  She was probably just still so worn out from everything going on.  Leaving her each morning was hard.  Having had the chance to spend the whole first weekend home with her, it was a transition for me…and for her.  As soon as I left the office to get ready for the day, Meeko tried to dig her way out of the office, all the while clawing up the carpet right near the doorway.  :O  She’s been a troublemaker like this before, but now it would be just to an extreme.  Scott, upon waking, had a wonderful idea of putting a rug down under the door way, so that if she clawed, she would claw at the rug.  We used a welcome mat we had by our doorway, and then I had the idea of adding a bathmat over the top it, doubling it up.  So…this is what I found when I got home…

 CAM02021

Yeah, she had a bit of fun with the carpet.  Dexter actually clawed up the other side pretty well, too.  They both missed playing with each other a lot.  But, I had to do what I had to do.  Eventually by around mid-week I let them have supervised “play time”.  The evenings were spent in the office.  We would watch Parks and Rec or a movie, and snuggle with Meeko.  Eventually Dexter got allowed in too, so that they could interact with each other while we were both around.  It was SO cute when they were reunited!

kitties

Well because I did much research on aftercare of kitties when they get spayed.  I read that the normal litter can cause problems with the wound and an alternative is using rice.  So, that’s what I used for Meeko.  I tried to do anything and everything that I could in order to make sure that she would have a healthy healing with no complications.  Anything I could do to try and make the process better, I did.  Wednesday evening a little after 6 pm, I checked her incision area, which we were instructed to do on a daily basis to see if there was any redness, puffiness, or other noticeable changes to the area.  Well, I discovered that it looked much more red than it had the days before.  This caused me to started panicking.  Yes, I started to freak out.  I was so worried that it was somehow infected or that something had gone wrong.  I asked Scott to check the wound and he didn’t think it was anything serious or wrong at all.  But that did very little to calm me down.  The vet was already closed by that time, but I know that they have an emergency line.  So I tried calling.  After the second attempt, I got through to the vet who asked if Meeko had been licking her wound, to which I said I didn’t think so because she had a cone on her head.  He said to bring her in first thing in the morning so that he could check it and see if it was infected or not.

Well, that answer did nothing to calm me down.  It should have, in hindsight, but I felt this was an urgent matter that needed tending to right away.  So, I called two other places.  Another clinic near where we live and the emergency 24-7 pet center nearby.  Both said that it probably wasn’t anything to be too worried about but to bring the kitty in in the morning to the vet and check it out.  Guys, I have no shame in saying this, I definitely had a minor meltdown.  I was crying so hard.  I felt like I had done something wrong, or that even with all my attempts to do everything right, that there was some sort of complication with her surgery.  I was a mess pretty much the rest of the night, worrying that she had an infection.  I probably did the worst thing in looking up different things about how to determine if a cat wound is infected, even looking at pictures (note: never do that again!) and I was convinced she had an infection.

I was a little bit worried about the cone we got her as it was starting to bend out of shape a bit.  I wondered if somehow she had been able to lick around the cone, or bend it enough so she could lick.  Plus, I read an account about a girl who thought that her cat got an infection from a rug, so my mind started worrying “oh, no, are the rugs that we put under the door giving her an infection because they weren’t cleaned before putting them down?!”  So, I went out to the store and got two different cones for her and two new bath mats.  I realized shortly after leaving the store just how overboard I was concerning the carpet.  Anything she could lay on, even the carpet in our apartment isn’t entirely clean, obviously.  And these new bath mats wouldn’t be “clean” either.  But, I didn’t care and still put them down when I got home.  I slept relatively ok, considering how worried I was about her.

Meeko was such a trooper.  I got her all ready to go in the morning and she didn’t put up a fuss or squirm at all.  I always bring one of her favorite little toys, a mouse, along with her in the carrying case.  This time, she got it stuck in her cone.  I couldn’t help but laugh at her.  She just looked too cute.

CAM01980

That face, gets me every time.  Well the assistant took her in one of the rooms and immediately upon removing her from the carrier, she said ‘yep, Meeko’s been licking’.  She then asked if I got the cone at the pet store, which I told her I did.  She said it is probably one of the worst cones to use.  It is way too easy for them to bend and flex them.  The vet checked her out and said that she was definitely licking but that there wasn’t an infection.  Phew!  But now it was just a matter of getting a new cone to prevent further licking.  They put one on her at the vet and told me she’d be miserable with that one on since it’s much firmer and doesn’t allow for easy bending or maneuvering.  But she definitely needed it.  I took her home and she ran and hid in the corner, and then I left for work.  It was hard leaving her home, but I knew there was nothing I’d be able to do for her.  But the rest of the afternoon and evening, I snuggled with her and Dexter.

kitties2

They are adorable.  I love these boogers.  My parents came by Thursday evening, which I appreciated.  I have felt so guilty leaving the kitties home alone during the day, since they both miss each other and can sense that things are different.  So I’ve been wanting to spend my evenings with them both.  Scott was by his mom’s place and I was feeling a bit ‘meh’ and over thinking things, so my parents came over and visited.  It was a great distraction for me and for Meeko I think.  I ended up feeling so much better after they came by.

Friday morning I had some time to snuggle with Meeko before I left for work.  I was glad it was the end of the week.  It actually went by super fast.  Work kept me busy and the week just seemed to fly by.  I was glad to have nothing really planned for the weekend either.

kitties3

Well, after getting home from work Friday evening, I inspected Meeko’s incision area again and was SHOCKED.  It looked like she was licking AGAIN!!!!!  It was starting to appear to heal further up on the incision, but the lower part looked like it was an open, fresh wound yet.  Which made sense.  That was probably the only part she could still reach with her cone on.  Ugh!  By this point I got SO frustrated with her!  I didn’t know what else to do in order to prevent her from licking.  If even the cone from the vet wouldn’t prevent her, I didn’t know what else to do.  Frustration set in yet again.  We tried tying the cone a little tighter to see if that would help any.  When it didn’t we put on one of the other cones that I got at the pet store early in the week.  My guess is that the cones are just too short/too wide and she can still lick easily because of that.  The new cone we put on her allowed us to tighten it more and it seemed much more narrow.  I also took it to Facebook to try and get any suggestions or ideas of what to do.  I got a few really good suggestions, so I felt good about having other options if this THIRD cone didn’t work…Saturday morning I crafted a “onesie” for Meeko based on some instructions I found online…

kitties4

Well I had some help, too.  I was able to get it on her, but when I tried to tighten up one of the clips, she managed to just step out of it.  Arg.  But, that being said, she wasn’t licking or trying to lick at all while I was around…I think that the cone was helping to prevent her from doing so.  So, I just left it off for the time since I was going to be around the majority of the day.  My parents came over for a visit and then my brother and sister-in-law stopped over, too.  We spent A LOT of time snuggling and relaxing…

kitties5

Well, I caught little Meeko trying to lick herself in the evening again…so Scott helped me get her into the onesie I made her.  Boy, she was having such a hard time walking around with it, it was so hard not to laugh at her!  She looked just so cute!  I was only worried about her having to go to the bathroom and if I left enough space in the back.  She woke up Sunday morning around 5:30 and went to the litter box to tinkle and it got her onesie wet.  So I cut off the area that got wet, which ended up making me cut off the whole back where her back legs went, so I had to use a headband I had laying around the office to hold the back in place so it wouldn’t roll up. letting her lick her incision.  Oy.  Poor little kitty!

CAM02076

But she was STILL being a little punky kitty.  She escaped from the office a few times, jumping over the gate we had blocking the door.  She clawed up the rug that was by the door when we left her in the office alone.  She has been extremely exhausting!  But I love the little booger too much.  I was getting a little stir crazy over the weekend, especially being trapped inside so much.  I had bought tickets a while back for Karmin since they were coming to Milwaukee and Scott and I went.  I am SO glad we decided to go.  I was close to not going, but I am SO SO SO glad we did!  Oh.my.goodness. Best concert I have EVER been to!  Scott said the same thing, too!  Their music was awesome, their energy was awesome.  They were quirky and fun and I couldn’t stop moving!  Then you KNOW it’s good! 🙂  We came home to find Meeko just fine and glad that we were home.  Phew, back to the grind tomorrow again.  I can assure you that I’ll miss my little Meeko, even through all the frustrating times.  I can’t help but love her.  I’d do anything for my little stinkers!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 28, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

9 responses to “oh, kitties (mimm)

  1. Kristin

    April 28, 2014 at 2:27 pm

    Awwww, poor kitties. They are soooo cute!!! You’ve definitely had your hands full!! XOXOXOXO!!!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      April 29, 2014 at 2:33 am

      Haha thanks love. I certainly have my hands full!

       
      • Kristin

        April 29, 2014 at 2:33 pm

        It sounds like it!! XOXO! Happy Tuesday!

         
  2. Diane @ Life of Di.

    April 28, 2014 at 7:13 pm

    Poor kitties 😦 I feel bad for them but at the same time they look so cute!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      April 29, 2014 at 2:34 am

      I know, right!? It’s so hard not to laugh when they look so cute!

       
  3. Christine#

    April 28, 2014 at 10:18 pm

    Oh you poor thing! That must have been SO stressful for you. Just imagine when you have kids- LOL! You’re obviously incredible caring and a great mama :). A few of those pictures of Meeko with her cone literally made me laugh out loud. She has the sweetest face and just seems to go with her new neck accessory haha!

    Hope things calm down a bit and her recovery goes well <3.

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      April 29, 2014 at 2:36 am

      It is SO stressful! Haha. Can you imagine how I would be as a mom of a REAL baby?! Oh my goodness. I’d be the type of mom that would take their kid into the ER for a papercut hahaha.

      Thanks, dear. If all goes smoothly this week, we have her appointment Saturday morning to get her sutures out. Cross your fingers she doesn’t find some way to lick her wound again and we should be all set! 😀

       
  4. teenieyogini

    April 29, 2014 at 4:36 am

    We spay kittens, keep them in traps over night and release back outside the next day. I can tell you adore your kitties, but just wanted to offer some reassurance. She is probably more ok than you think.

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      April 29, 2014 at 11:33 am

      Really?! Ahh that is so comforting to know! I think I’m just super cautious and worried since I’ve never had to do this before…and plus, I love the little stinkers. I’d feel awful if something happened to them as a result of me not taking care of them!

       

Leave a Reply

 
