RSS

The Importance of Goals & Setting Goals for Week 1

01 May

When I was part of an intensive outpatient program for my eating disorder, we set weekly goals. There were three categories: nutrition, behavior, and values. I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately about different ways to set a spark in my recovery and thought that I would actively start setting small, weekly goals for myself…something to actively be working on or working towards. I like the idea of keeping the same categories, as they seem to be realistic for me. Yesterday I set my goals for the first week, from Wednesday April 30, 2014 through Tuesday May 6, 2014. Because I like sharing my journey and because I like the idea of sharing any victories (and conversely, struggles) that I have, I will be incorporating them into my blog.

4/30/14-5/6/14 Goals

  • Nutrition: Get more protein. At least two (2) nights this week, incorporate protein into my snacking.
  • Behavior: Go at least one night without binging on sugary/sweet foods.
  • Values: Seriously consider asking my parents if I can eat dinner with them (and do it!) or ask to go out to dinner or have them over for dinner 1 night this week

These may seem very small, unimportant goals, but to me they are very significant and they are manageable. My mentality, at least starting off, is to set small goals that are realistic and attainable for me. I don’t want to have the mentality of setting big goals that will be virtually impossible for me to meet early on, because then inevitably I’ll become easily discouraged. I’ve done that in the past and learned my lesson from it. So instead, I will use the mantra “don’t bite off more than you can chew” (sort of a pun, isn’t it?!)

So, we’ll see how this goes. I think I am in need of something to actively work toward in order to get me moving forward in recovery. As I mentioned, I have been resting somewhere in the field of “recovery”, not actively in my eating disorder, but not in or pushing towards recovery. I think this will get me to push myself a little more and reach out for bigger goals and challenges in the future. I’m looking forward to seeing how this all goes!

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 1, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “The Importance of Goals & Setting Goals for Week 1

  1. Kristin

    May 1, 2014 at 10:37 pm

    I love this idea!! Great goals!! Go you!!

     
  2. Mom of crum on a plate

    May 2, 2014 at 3:01 am

    You are on fire.! Your parents will love the invite. :). Goals are so inspirational and I think that approaching them in the three pronged approach is wonderful. You rock. Sharpie markers write well on the bathroom mirror……then wipe off. Try writing your goals for the week where you will see them…….congrats. You have moved from contemplation to ACTIION. This is huge.

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      May 2, 2014 at 3:16 am

      Thank you so much for your encouraging words! They mean more to me than you even know. I am working on this and trying so, so hard. I know I need to start to make changes and push forward, otherwise I’ll just keep stuck where I am. I think now more than ever I realize that I’m not okay being stuck anymore. I’m ready to push myself!

       

Leave a Reply

 
