RSS

a little bit of sunshine (mimm)

05 May

Hey hey hey!  Well I first have to admit that I am a bit disappointed that I didn’t link up last week for my absolute favorite link-up, but I am back this week to share in the fun!  I definitely love this focus-on-the-positive opportunity to blog and to share some highlights of life lately, so I’m glad to be back this week.

MiMM

As any of you ITLMF readers know, I have been pretty consumed with my kitties lately.  My little Meeko got spayed a few weeks back and she has been a good chunk of my focus for a while now.  She has been a pure kitty, trying to be playful and naughty at times.  She has definitely been a handful!  But I’ve loved spending time with her and interacting with her (and Dexter!) more, too.  They are my little boogers and I love em to pieces.

1

I’m not really sure how that toilet paper roll got there…don’t judge, guys.

IMG_0224-2 IMG_0276

Phew, we FINALLY got to take Meeko in to the vet first thing Saturday morning to get her sutures removed.  She has been such a champ lately and has really been a pretty awesome kitty.  Makes me love her that much more!  The vet was a wee bit “aggressive” removing the sutures and removing some scabs that formed on her wound 😦  I was a bit sad when I saw that and saw that because of it part of her wound opened up a bit.  But, maybe I’m just a sensitive over-protective mom.  Well, I know I am, but oh well.  It was good to take her home.  We were instructed to still keep the cone on her for 7 days, and I (being the over-protective mom that I am) put her “onesie” back on for just a little longer.  Also, we can use antibiotic cream on the incision area if we notice it becoming red or if she’s licking her wound.  But she has free access to jump and roam about wherever she pleases now 😀

This past week or so has been nothing but cloudy, gloomy, chilly, and rainy.  So when we saw the sun shining on Saturday morning, I think we both had such a HUGE boost in our moods.  We both had been struggling a bit with our moods lately so when the sun was shining and our moods took a huge boost, we were so happy!  Saturday was designated as the day we were going to spend together (although we had no real plans made ahead of time) since he had to leave for Texas first thing Sunday morning for work.  We were both in ‘meh’ moods earlier in the week but we were both happy that our day together started off on a good note.  We decided to get outside, get as much sunshine as possible, and took a nice hike down by the lakefront.  Before heading down that way, though, we made a little pit stop to fuel up at one of Scott’s favorite places!

moes

I have never eaten here before, but Scott always raved about it and I can totally see why.  Moe’s Southwest Grill is a pretty neat place.  The whole staff yell to greet you when you come in (and I mean every single employee) and the food – well, the food is really tasty!  Plus, they have one of those soda machines that have a billion different types of soda and soda flavors.  I had to try the Peach Sprite Zero, but the main reason we got soda was for our favorite, which we often get angry about them not selling in stores.  DIET GRAPE SODA!  (Fanta Zero was the brand they had)  We both love grape soda but they do not sell diet in stores.  Why, oh, why?!

fanta-624x400

I seriously contemplated just spending our afternoon at Moes’ and trying as many soda flavors as we possibly could.  Buttttt, we decided to venture out (with a full container of grape soda to go!)  Gosh the sunshine just felt so good.  It was a bit windy down by the lake, but I didn’t even care.  The breeze actually helped balance out the warmth from the sun quite nicely so we were pretty comfortable for our whole walk.  We grabbed Max and brought him along with us.  He absolutely loves when we take him on walks with us!

IMG_0281 IMG_0288 IMG_0298 IMG_0300

We had SUCH a great day!  It went far too fast though.  When we got home we had a little time together, but then Scott had to pack himself up and ended up going over by his mom’s to stay there overnight.  His mom was going to drop him off at work (where he was meeting up with his co-workers who were also going on the trip) bright and early in the morning around 6:30 am since she needed his vehicle during the week to take in to get some work done.  So that meant that I had to say goodbye to him Saturday night.  😦  But we were both super happy that he got to leave on such a good note.

Sunday was a nice slow start to the day.  I ended up starting some laundry, ran 4 miles, went grocery shopping (and also got some goodies for my brother!), went to church with the family, cleaned the apartment and then I had my brother, his wife, and my parents over to watch a movie in the evening.  We ended up watching Tommy Boy.  I’ve seen it so many times but I absolutely LOVE Chris Farley.  Always good for some laughs.  😀  I also gave my brother a gift I got him.  He has been working full-time (and part-time at another job) while going taking classes online to get his bachelor’s degree in Accounting (which his employer paid him for!) and finally graduated!  Saturday was his last day, so I got him a few things.  I got the most awesome card for him.  Plus, I saw a display in the liquor department of the store I was at and decided to get him something a little different…

card

You guys, this card is awesome.  There’s music that plays when you open the card and the kitty moves and “plays” the piano.  The.best.card.ever.

CAM02106

Peach moonshine!  Heck ya!

I had such a great time with the family.  My kitties were very social, too.  Meeko was shy at first, but ended up coming out and once I plopped her on my brother’s lap, she stayed there for the whole movie.  Towards the end of the movie, Dexter plopped himself on my dad’s lap.  It was too cute.  I was sitting in our big chair (while my brother, Jessa, and I watched Full House, after my parents left) and Meeko snuggled with me for a while.  When my brother and sister-in-law left, I got up to shower and when I came out of the bathroom, I saw that Dexter had joined his sissy. 🙂

CAM02116

I had such a great day and great weekend overall.  I couldn’t be happier right now.  😀  I hope you all had a wonderful weekend and have a great start of your week. xoxo ❤

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 5, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “a little bit of sunshine (mimm)

  1. teenieyogini

    May 5, 2014 at 5:03 am

    Dexter looks so big next to Meeko there! I’m glad she’s getting better.
    I’m a tiny (ok massively) jealous you got to play with the Moe’s soda machine! We have them everywhere here, but I can’t drink from them. All of the soda comes out of the same tube, and I am deathly allergic to everything diet. They look like so much fun though.

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      May 5, 2014 at 12:33 pm

      Dexter is SO much bigger than Meeko! It’s so cute. Makes him look like the “big brother” that much more. 🙂

      Allergic to diet soda?!? Really? What is it about diet items that you’re allergic to? I don’t know if I’ve ever heard that before actually…

       
      • teenieyogini

        May 5, 2014 at 1:50 pm

        Aspartame.

         
      • Little Miss Fit

        May 5, 2014 at 1:52 pm

        Wow that is so crazy. That’s literally in almost anything sugar-free!

         
      • teenieyogini

        May 5, 2014 at 6:58 pm

        Yep, and in vitamins, children’s medicine, gum… All kinds of stuff.

         

Leave a Reply

 
