RSS

Green Bay Weekend (MIMM)

19 May

Hello all!  This weekend was a complete whirlwind!  It went by SO quickly!  It was definitely a good one though, so I’ll share some of the highlights for some Marvelous talk on Monday!

MiMM

Well after my last post, which should have been published on Saturday, but didn’t quite get published until Sunday (oops!) but Scott and I met up with one of my best friends after she was forced to work on Saturday to set up her new office, since the company moved.  We grabbed her and hit the road to get on up to Green Bay!  She was running her first half marathon Sunday morning up in Green Bay.  She originally joined up with the Team in Training, to run the race in honor of her uncle who lost his battle with cancer just recently.  He was a HUGE runner, running multiple marathons, including Boston (also running the marathon that was bombed), so she decided to run the race while raising money for leukemia and lymphoma.  Plus, her dad also was recently diagnosed with cancer, and one of her aunts also had cancer, too.  So it was a very big race for her!  I told her right from the get-go that I’d come and support her.

When we got up to Green Bay, it was around 7 and we were HUNGERS.  Terese had wanted to get the full race experience and “carbo-load” on pasta the night before, so we found Noodles & Co. just down the road from our hotel.  Apparently everyone else also wanted to hit up Noodles, so we had a bit of a wait, but it was totally worth it.  I got the chicken mediterranean sammie with a side salad.  It was SOOOO good.  Just a little side note, starting on Friday, I undertook a 30-day challenge to push myself forward in recovery, which also doubled as an anniversary gift for my parents.  You can read about it here, if you missed it.  But I had been doing absolutely awesome on my new plan, and it’s been really really really nice eating normally.  I have so much more to say on that, too, but I’ll save that for another post 😉

CAM02274

After dinner, we got ourselves checked into the hotel.  Terese’s cousin was running the race with her, and some of her other family was there too and they were right down the hall from us, so we spent a little time with them.  Then Scott and I hit the gym and ran/walked.  I usually don’t run right after eating dinner (or after eating in general) so I got a side ache and ended up walking the majority of the time.  But it was still nice, regardless.  We hung out a bit and then went to bed pretty early, since we had an early morning ahead of us.  I snacked on a few of these almonds, even though I wasn’t even that hungry.  I have had zero desire to binge Friday or Saturday night.  That is absolutely awesome. 😀

CAM02277

Sunday morning I was up by 5:45.  I couldn’t really sleep past that, and Terese was up by 6 am anyway.  So I made a cup of coffee, and just laid in bed a bit while I let Terese use the bathroom, get ready, and do whatever she needed without getting in her way.  She was going to ride with her cousin ahead of time to get down there, since she was racing too and then Scott and I decided to walk to Lambeau Field where the race was starting and finishing.  Scott guessed it to be about a mile walk from our hotel to the race area.  BTW, our hotel room had the craziest hair dryer!

hair dryer

Well we got ourselves out of the hotel and made our way to the race area.  The “mile” that Scott calculated our walk to be was close to 2.5-3 miles…so we definitely did not make it to the start line, but were able to THANKFULLY get ourselves a spot near mile 4. I was so worried that we wouldn’t find a place to see her until the finish line, but we were able to make it in time!  Here’s the awesome sign that I made!  Terese is a newbie Star Wars fan, so I knew she would love it! 🙂  We got SO many cheers, thanks, and positive feedback from all the runners as they went past!  It was a really awesome thing and I’m really glad I decided to make a sign!

IMG_0449

We had a bit of time before the main cluster of runners started filtering through past mile 4, so we hunkered down a bit and had a chance to have some breakfast.  I grabbed a Boost Nutrition bar and an applesauce cup since the nutrition bar covered my grains, fats, and dairy needs and the applesauce gave me the fruit.  It was super tasty.

CAM02282

We started worrying that maybe we missed Terese and her cousin, Aimee, in the crowds of people that came by. But luckily we didn’t!  We were able to see them perfectly.  Terese ditched her long-sleeve shirt and Scott passed off a goo (energy gel) to her…flawless transition!

run

After they passed us by, we had plenty of time before we needed to head to the finish line, so we walked around a bit and went into the stadium, which the race was actually routed through.  Pretty awesome!

run2

run3

IMG_0566

We made our way out pretty quickly after she finished up.  I was a starvin’ marvin and it was just about lunch time so we stopped at Panera on the way out of town and grabbed it to go.  I had a half of a Mediterranean veggie sandwich, salad, and a glass of milk.  Tasted SO good! 😀  It’s amazing just how quickly my hunger cues have come back fully and I am hungry at normal times.  It’s been making this so much easier!!  This was an even bigger moment for me because I was the only one who ordered food. In the past, even if I was hungry, I wouldn’t have ever been the only one to get something to eat.  But I knew it was lunch time, knew what I needed to eat, and was starving!

CAM02288

We made good time and got home around 3 pm. The weather was absolutely gorgeous!  I was totally inspired by all the runners today so I went out to enjoy the weather and get a run in.  I only went about 2.5 miles and got a huge cramp since I was going at a much quicker pace than I usually do.  It just felt so good to be running outside!  I came home, freshened up, snacked on some carrots and hummus (one of my favorites!) and then had to get groceries and do some laundry.  I made some dinner, which was easy and quick since I was starting to get really, really worn out fast.  It was simple but super tasty.  Turkey chopped up with mushrooms, sour cream, and cheese!

CAM02295

I finally finished the laundry and was able to sit down a bit to relax.  My brother and sister-in-law came over for a little bit in the evening to watch Full House. 🙂  It was good being back with my kitties again, too! 🙂  Meeko has a strange fascination with the bathroom tub all of a sudden.  She was in there a few times this evening.  Too cute.

CAM02302

Ah, what a whirlwind of a weekend but it was such a good one!  I hope you all had a really marvelous weekend and have an even more marvelous Monday! ❤

 
7 Comments

Posted by on May 19, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Green Bay Weekend (MIMM)

  1. Kristin

    May 19, 2014 at 10:37 am

    Wow, a whirlwind of a weekend indeed!! Very cool pictures, experience, and I absolutely love the pink sign!!! SO COOL!!!!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      May 19, 2014 at 12:35 pm

      Thanks, lady! It was an absolute blast!!

      Happy Monday xoxo

       
      • Kristin

        May 19, 2014 at 11:41 pm

        Awww, thanks!!

         
  2. di @ life of di.

    May 19, 2014 at 6:38 pm

    Looks like a busy, yet fun weekend 🙂 PS – I love watching Full House! Such a great show. I watch reruns whenever I’m at the gym in the evening!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      May 20, 2014 at 3:33 am

      Yes! Full House is such a good family show. It can be a little cheesy, but I absolutely love it. So family-oriented. They don’t make shows like that anymore.

      Hope you had a good Monday! 🙂

       
  3. Bri Runde

    May 21, 2014 at 2:39 am

    I lived in WI my whole life, up until 2 years ago. 🙂 Fun to find another Wisconsinite through the blog world. (Coming over from Katie’s link-up.) Love the sign you made for your friend. What an awesome weekend!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      May 21, 2014 at 3:05 am

      Nice to meet another fellow Wisconsinite 🙂

      Thanks so much, she absolutely loved it!

       

Leave a Reply

 
