RSS

Eating real food (WIAW)

21 May

It has been SO nice eating like a normal person.  Since I took on this 30-day promise/challenge that I made to my parents on Friday, May 16, I have really been pushing myself.  I think this has been exactly what I needed in order to get myself on track and out of the “rut” that I have been stuck in for such a long time.  That rut is that place between recovery and living in my eating disorder…that point where you aren’t as bad as you were, but you are still engaging in behaviors and not actively pushing yourself forward.  Well this challenge I’m undertaking has been just what I needed to get me back on track and pushing forward with recovery.  I am honestly surprised just how easy it’s been!  But, I’ll get into that a bit more.  Let’s get into some of the eats I’ve been having lately to honor WIAW.  I haven’t actively participated in this link-up for SO long, since I haven’t had any normal eats that were worth sharing or that I was proud of sharing.  But, that’s been changing and I am so, so happy about that.

wiawphotobutton

So let’s let the fun begin!

I got this loaf of cinnamon bread and let me tell you a few things….1) this bread is absolutely delicious.  and delicious as is.  I don’t toast it, I don’t put anything on it.  It’s so incredibly soft and tastes so incredible plain, I eat it right out of the bag.  But I did try something a little different Saturday morning since I was home and toasted a slice up with almond butter and pumpkin butter.  It was SO GOOD.  2) it’s REALLY hard to eat a whole loaf of bread by yourself.  Scott doesn’t like sweet breads like this, so its all mine…which is great, but that means I eat a lot of it in a short period of time, otherwise it will spoil.  So breakfast has included a lot of this bread.

I have also reintroduced yogurt…REAL YOGURT…back into what I eat.  I had cut it out for a while since I found that it aggravated my stomach quite a bit.  I recently tried almond yogurt and almost gagged on it.  No lies.  So, since I’m trying to reteach my stomach how to eat normally, I thought I’d try to reintroduce these previously cut-out foods back in and see how they fair this go around.  I have missed these yogurts SO much!

CAM02320

CAM02266

CAM02344

Since I’ve been eating more, it’s forced me to expand and bust out of my “normal” foods to try new things.  It’s actually not been nearly as scary as I thought it would be.  I’m actually finding myself enjoying it and wanting to try more things!  I’m loving everything I’ve been eating.  It’s so great to view food normally and get excited about it!  I’ve been hungry after my breakfast on a daily basis, so I always allow for a morning snack.

CAM02221

CAM02326

CAM02345

I am not at all ashamed to say that most often, on days when I have just fruit for a snack, I always follow it up with a spoonful of peanut butter.  Just a smidge of fat keeps me satisfied until lunch.  I LOVE peanut butter.  I look for any excuse I can in order to have some 🙂

CAM02347

By now, you’re starting to probably see a pattern.  Most of my meals are consumed at my desk.  Breakfast, snacks, lunch are always at my desk.  So, you’ll be bored pretty quickly with my “scenery” but it’s what I do.  Lunches are pretty standard for me.  I know it might look totally boring, but I love sandwiches.  I could eat a sandwich everyday for the rest of my life probably.  Lately I’ve been loving turkey, cheese, and a BBQ mayo spread.

CAM02225

CAM02271

CAM02348

Pretty uneventful, right?  But it’s just so simple and SO tasty.  I think I will try and be a bit more creative with my sandwiches, since I think I should expand my horizons a bit.  But, why ruin a good thing, right? 🙂  I’ve really been enjoying eating.  I know that sounds silly, but it’s so true.  I missed eating normally.  I’ve also been enjoying some really tasty dinners, too 🙂

CAM02260

Let’s talk about eggs for a second.  This girl used to always love eggs.  But my eating disorder told me regular eggs were bad news, so it was egg whites or nothing.  I used to always love egg sandwiches, so this meal was a huge one for me.   Real egg, cheese, Canadian bacon.  I cooked the egg perfectly, with the yolk a little runny.  Fabulous.

CAM02334

CAM02351

My eats during the day have been tasty and satisfying.  I’ve been able to successfully resist binging at night.  I feel absolutely wonderful about this.  I wake up HUNGRY…instead of feeling sick, bloated, and awful about myself.  I can’t tell you how much I’ve already changed in my mindset and confidence in being able to push forward in recovery in just the past five days.  But this challenge I undertook has really been just the push I needed to get myself moving forward again.  I’m gaining momentum with each passing day and it feels absolutely amazing.  I even feel better about myself.  Being stuck in the binging and under-eating cycle was miserable for me and made me feel just awful about myself.  I feel so much more alive.  I can’t wait to keep pushing forward with each day that passes.  It’s an excitement I haven’t felt in so long.  😀

 
14 Comments

Posted by on May 21, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

14 responses to “Eating real food (WIAW)

  1. princessbunnycakes

    May 21, 2014 at 3:59 am

    You are wonderful. I am SO proud of you!!

    Desk eating can sometimes depress me, as can tupperware and plastic utensil eating, which is why I feel fortunate to be able to turn away and look out at a wonderful view if I want to snack. Have you considered stepping out to snack? I understand that you’re at work and most offices have a “just focus and work” mentality, but maybe you could sneak in some step-away breaks? For me, it helps me taste and appreciate the food better and help my body understand that it has Eaten and stay full and satisfied longer.

    The challenge I’m working on right now is transitioning from processed/light/slim/fat-free food and toward more filling, wholesome, full fat and natural products. It’s nerve-wracking because I’m always worried that I’m going to eat 3 containers of full-fat yogurt and obviously this will cause the world to end. 😉

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      May 21, 2014 at 12:44 pm

      Thank you so much! 🙂

      I think that’s actually a wonderful idea and suggestion! Now that the weather is FINALLY getting warm here, it’s so nice to be able to get some fresh air. It would make eating much more enjoyable and more relaxed. Even if I can get a few minutes to “escape” a bit, that’d be awesome!

       
  2. Hannah@ Sprints & Scones

    May 21, 2014 at 11:49 am

    I love egg sandwiches! Such a favorite of mine- I like to top them with avocado also 🙂

    Your meals look so yummy! Reintroducing food and expanding your “safe” foods is so hard, while liberating. I’ve been there, and girl, you are doing great!!

    Have a great week!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      May 21, 2014 at 12:45 pm

      Ooooh avocado sounds like such a tasty addition! I will definitely have to give it a try! 🙂

      Thank you so much! It’s been much more enjoyable and less stressful than I really thought it would be!

      Hope you have a wonderful week, too!!

       
  3. Kate

    May 21, 2014 at 12:03 pm

    Mmmm that egg sandwich looks great! So yummy! Looks like you had a delicious week in eating…you must have bit of Dutch in you they love their sandwiches & milk for lunch 😉

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      May 21, 2014 at 12:45 pm

      It was just perfect. It definitely hit the spot!

      I actually do have some Dutch in me, on my mother’s side! Maybe that explains it all…. 🙂

       
  4. Tom

    May 21, 2014 at 1:26 pm

    Thank you for sharing your story. As a teacher there are so many girls that could benefit from your site. Keep it up. 🙂

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      May 22, 2014 at 3:36 am

      Thanks for the comment and feedback. That means so much to me!

       
  5. Miss Polkadot

    May 21, 2014 at 11:30 pm

    Reading about and seeing all of your progress is amazing and makes me happy for you. It doesn’t sound ridiculous at all when you say how much you’ve been enjoying ‘normal’ eating. Even though it’s been quite some time since I started actually having proper lunches again I can still get super excited about them. Celebrate every step you make because it’s proof you’re well on your way conquering your ED. If you felt like throwing a party: go for it – I won’t judge! (:

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      May 22, 2014 at 3:37 am

      Thank you so so much! That means the world to me. It really does feel so great! Each step forward just feels that much more rewarding. I absolutely love the progress I’ve made and I can’t wait to keep pushing forward. Parties are too fun to pass up on, right!? 🙂

       
  6. Christine

    May 22, 2014 at 3:28 am

    GIRL! I can’t even begin to tell you how proud I am of your progress! You are coming so far along in such a short amount of time and it makes my heart feel so full and happy that you’re enjoying new foods and finding joy in it!

    All of your eats look delicious and I’m a huugeee sucker for sweet breads as well! Coffee cakes, banana bread, cinnamon bread, you name it, I want it in my mouth right now haha ;).

    I’m honestly SO excited for you and can’t wait to read up on more of your foodie ventures 🙂

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      May 22, 2014 at 3:39 am

      Christine, thank you SO much. Your support through everything has been so appreciated. I can’t even tell you how much it means to me! It feels so nice to be able to move forward and share these new experiences and joys! 🙂

       
  7. Kailey (Caffeinated Runner)

    May 27, 2014 at 5:25 pm

    That toasted coconut vanilla greek yogurt is one of my absolute favorites. The Raspberry Chocolate is also very, very good (slightly addicting)

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      May 28, 2014 at 3:48 am

      Ohhh I bet that one will be really tasty, too! I will probably be hooked! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
