RSS

Trying to keep those spirits up (MIMM)

04 Aug

As much as I love posting each week and checking in with Katie for her Marvelous in My Monday link-up, I haven’t felt too inspired to blog lately and didn’t really feel like doing it this week.  But, I know I’d miss doing it, so I’m going to give a little bit of an update on what’s going on lately.  It will probably be short and sweet, unless I get myself chit-chatting about everything and getting a little too detailed.  But, we’ll see how it plays out 😉

MiMM

These kitties have been often the only thing that has been able to make me smile lately.  Even on the most frustrating of days, they just make me smile and laugh.  Pets truly are a blessing.  I am forever thankful for these little things ❤

CAM03797

Life has been revolving around our future living arrangements.  It’s been extremely exhausting.  Craigslist has been my best friend these days, I check for new postings multiple times a day.  Not only do we need to try and find a place for Scott and I (with so many specifics as far as what will work for us) but we need to try and find a place for his mom, too, who’s health is getting worse.  It’s exhausting.  We had a place we checked out Thursday, which was something I was feeling optimistic about, only to find that it wouldn’t work.  Another let down.

Saturday we had two places to see.  The first one would have been a pretty decent (not perfect, by any means) place and would have come pretty close to what we were looking for, however it was so far out and really far from where Scott and I both work.  In summer, not such a big deal, but come winter and snowy roads, not at all good.  So, another place that won’t work.  We stopped at Panera to get some grub before hitting our next place.  We sat outside in the sun, and it was one of the most relaxing moments of my week as silly as it sounds.  The temperature was absolutely perfect and the sun felt so great.  I could have stayed there the rest of the day, as the sun melted away all my anxieties and frustrations.  Sadly, that momentary relaxation could only last so long.  But I think Scott really enjoyed those minutes we had, too.  It just seemed to be the perfect moment to unwind a bit together and put a hold on our frustrations.

1

Then it was on to our next appointment.  This is one place that I was feeling extremely optimistic about, seemed like it would be a really good fit.  A place with two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and 2.5 car garage (one of the hardest things to find, but one of the necessities since Scott has so many vehicles…) and a cute little private courtyard (where we were hopeful that we may be able to have Max (his mom’s dog) stay occasionally if she needed a break from the pup for a while if she was feeling particularly bad on any given day).  It was part of a condo community though, and a lot of apartments and condos have breed restrictions…and most have German Shepherds on the list since they’re big dogs and are often assumed to be aggressive.  But, we kept our hopes up.  The lady that showed it to us said that they were on the breed restriction list but since it wasn’t our dog and we wouldn’t be having it often, it may be ok.  She did encourage us to contact the manager of the property though to get confirmation. So I sent an email right after, trying to get all the phrasing down as best as possible to present the idea in the most appealing light.

This is a scene we’re getting used to these days…

CAM03820

After our appointment, we had to head straight to a local playhouse where Scott’s niece was going to be performing in a play.  When we got there, I got the email response from the manager of the last place we checked out.  It was a pretty disappointing response, but one I was pretty much expecting…”You would not be able to have the German Shepherd here at all.  I’m sorry but that is a breed we don’t allow even to babysit.”  I can’t even begin to tell you how dang frustrated I was.  NOTHING has been working out for us.  I have been searching religiously and contacting any options that seemed to be a potential fit, and we have had none work out so far.  I had to suck it up pretty quickly, though, since we were going to be around family and the show was starting soon.  It probably was a really good thing because it was the perfect (albeit momentary) distraction.

2

I legitimately was super impressed!  I often go to the kids’ events and they are what you’d expect kids events to be….not that great, but fun and cute because they’re family. 🙂  But I was actually super impressed with their performance.  The kids were part of a “camp” that met Monday through Friday 9 am to 4 pm each day.  They had 5 days to get the show ready before the weekend performances (one in the morning and one in the afternoon) and it was an hour and a half show!  It was so dang good.  I really enjoyed it a lot.  They even did some singing and dancing.  It was so much better than I expected.  It was a really good distraction.

Afterward, I came back home and worked out for a bit, then continued my search for more places.  Scott took the pup for a run and then afterward we went grocery shopping and relaxed for the rest of the evening, watching none other than our favorite, Breaking Bad.

Sunday morning was a super, super lazy start for me!  But I think it was just what I needed.  A completely relaxing morning, no stress or frustration or anxieties.  When Scott woke up, we spent a while just talking and then went outside on the balcony to talk some more.  It was just a really nice morning.  The kitties joined us too 🙂  (Dexter LOVES to lick Scott’s hair!!)

1

After lounging around, I squeezed in a run before meeting up with a good friend of mine for coffee.  After our coffee date, I headed to church, ran a few errands and then had my parents over for a movie for the evening, since Scott was spending his evening over by his mom’s place.  It was such a wonderful end to a really great day.  My parents are the best and I always love my time with them.  And to end on a cute note…

CAM03859

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 4, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Trying to keep those spirits up (MIMM)

  1. IHeartVegetables

    August 4, 2014 at 11:17 am

    Finding a place to live is always a stressful hunt! I like house hunting and apartment shopping… until I really have to make a decision, then it’s hard! I hope you guys end up in a place you love!

     
    • Little Miss Fit

      August 4, 2014 at 12:57 pm

      I normally love it, too, when I have more time to devote to it and don’t feel so rushed or pressed for time. :/ Thanks, I’m trying to be very optimistic…I’m sure we’ll find something that will work!!

       
  2. princessbunnycakes

    August 5, 2014 at 2:41 am

    It’s so good to read your posts again! Good luck in your housing search. I definitely know the struggle of wanting to find a place that feels like a true home. Just remember that there are much tougher housing markets out there! Sometimes I watch House Hunters International in places like Hong Kong and Paris just to make myself feel a LITTLE better about San Francisco’s housing insanity.

     

Leave a Reply

 
